We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (67)
Filter reviews
67 results
Traveler rating
65
2
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
65
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews brown trout world class fishing fly fishing south island new zealand high end bedding catch fish exceeded my expectations spotting fish second to none days fishing every meal scott murray log skills hospitality
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 67 reviews
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Despite adverse weather conditions, Scott Murray was able to guide our father-daughter fishing duo to successful and rewarding results. He patiently and with good humor taught the basics to a first-time angler and refined the techniques of a more experienced one. Meanwhile, back at the lodge, Leya played gracious hostess to our non-angler while magically producing gourmet feasts at the same time. The cabins, and especially the beds, were very comfortable. We will definitely return.

Date of stay: April 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

I was fortunate enough to spend two days at the River Haven Lodge. The fishing absolutely blew me away under the guidance of Scott Murray.He puts you into the right spots, can see fish that I can't and matches your fly to what trout WILL eat.I caught an abundance of fish ranging from 3.5lbs to 6.5lbs.The hospitality provided at the lodge was great with fantastic meals prepared and the log cabins had everything you need to rest and relax. I will be back!

Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2010

What an amazing place to stay. The log cabins are pure luxury and we were made to feel so welcome.
The place had a real magical feel about it.

Date of stay: September 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petekirsty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2010

Charming and beautiful cabins with great attention to detail and comfort.
Wonderful hosts...lovely countryside and scenery...peace and quiet.

Date of stay: May 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jettama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2019
Google Translation

Room tip: Il s'agit d'une maison d'hôtes. Les chambres sont des chalets individuels avec cuisine, salon, chambre et salle de bains
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverHavenLodge, Owner at River Haven Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2019

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews