We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worth the price and worth the stay in Murchison”
Review of RiverSong Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
RiverSong Cottages
Carpinteria, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“worth the price and worth the stay in Murchison”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed here as a resting point between Greymouth and Abel Tasman. We were delighted with the super clean and spacious cottege. We had 2 bedrooms with a full kitchen. it was comfortable and perfect for our needs. Hosts were lovely.

Room Tip: I think we had the Falcon cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    21
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
13
35
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Monument, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I thought these cottages were wonderful! They were very new, clean, cute and spacious! The grounds were beautiful! The gardens lovely. Not only did we have our own nice deck, but a hammock as well. Jenny and Melissa were outstanding hosts! This accommodation is very close to the quaint town of Murchison; an easy walk to stores and restaurants. I would definitely recommend this property. No complaints whatsoever.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice. It just depends on what you are looking for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cody, Wyoming
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

First of all, the property was very clean and curbside appeal was wonderful. My complaint lies in the fact that we were charged $170 for the night, but the cottage was missing so many amenities that you would expect for that price. We had been traveling in NZ for over a month and staying in hotels/motels/cottages nightly. My suggestions would be as follows:
more towels in the bathroom: barely one each doesn't do it and they were very thin and threadbare. The tv didn't work, nor the heat in the living room. I felt that the coffee could have been fresh .....older stale coffee, etc.
Treat the guest like they expect for that price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank letrbuck2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverSongCottages, Owner at RiverSong Cottages, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Im sorry you were not happy with your stay with us. I must say your rating surprised me. I would have really appreciated it if you could have come and spoken to me while you were here.
In response:
I have new towels each season so I have no old thread bare towels. Extra towels are available on request but 1 per day per person seems quite realistic.
The TV does go but some guests play around with the cables or dont know what button to push on the remote to engage satilite.
The heat pump does go but again if guests have changed the settings it would need to be reset. Im surprised you needed heating when temperatures have been in the mid 30 degs each day.
Again all I can say is I would have appreciated being spoken to while you were here. I hope the rest of your holiday goes well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

At face value you may not venture in to see Riversong. It is hidden away behind hedges and trees. I booked this based on reviews and was very glad I did so.

We stayed in the Tui and were very pleased by the size of the room and outlook over beautiful trees and gardens. Jenni was a wonderful host who even showed my young children her ponies and allowed them to collect and keep some eggs from the chooks. She was helpful in providing us with some travel advice and my children loved her cats.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
67 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Decent accommodation is not easy to come by in peak season in Murch, but we stumbled onto a gem when we booked to stay at RiverSong Cottages. In my opinion this is the best place to stay in the area and we will be staying here again.

Located right in town, the 2 larger self-contained units (Tui & Falcon, good for families) and studio (Kea, great for a couple) are situated in a peaceful, shady garden with barbecue and hammock.

We stayed in Kea, a good sized, clean, well equipped and modern studio with a comfy queen bed, the usual amenities, plunger coffee, heater, electric blankets, en suite bathroom and a good shower. Complimentary Wi-Fi is available and the coverage was excellent.

Kids can meet the pony or play with the very friendly cats, while the cafés and shops of Murchison are within a 2 minute walk. Murchison is a relatively quiet place, but the Buller River and all local activities (jet boating, longest swing bridge in NZ and the natural flames experience) are also located nearby.

Barbecuing in the garden was a great way to finish off the last evening of our trip.

We will stay at RiverSong Cottages again, thank you Jenny for your help, advice and hospitality.

Stayed January 2013
Helpful?
Thank flyingdutchdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Riversong Cottages are two cottages, sleeping four each and a studio, sleeping two. They are in a gorgeous cottage garden, made to sit in and relax while social sing with friends. The hosts are very accommodating and friendly, selling green eggs from their own chickens. The studio has a microwave, but no kitchen facilities. The accommodation is clean and the bathroooms are modern and clean. Really the only niggle I have is the small hand washbasin, a small price to pay for spending time in this blissful place.

Room Tip: Studio is perfect for a couple, the two cottages suit two couples or a family. All thre are worth ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pn4412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed in the self-contained Tui unit in a private cottage garden bush-like setting. It had a lovely sunny deck with table and chairs and great hammock stretched between trees to relax in, and chill to the bird-song :-)

We enjoyed doing the six-mile bush-walk to admire a waterfall, located a 10 minute drive up the valley from Murchison, and enjoyed local cafes.

Great hosts, great service, great spa-bath. Lovely peaceful weekend get-away.

Room Tip: Tui has great cottage garden outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Murchison hotels
13.3 mi away
Lake Rotoroa Lodge
Lake Rotoroa Lodge
#5 of 5 in Murchison
23 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mataki Motel
Mataki Motel
#3 of 5 in Murchison
88 reviews
0.1 mi away
Murchison Motels
Murchison Motels
#1 of 5 in Murchison
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Murchison Lodge
Murchison Lodge
#1 of 6 in Murchison
54 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kiwi Park Motels and Holiday Park
1.1 mi away
Owen River Tavern & Motels
Owen River Tavern & Motels
#4 of 5 in Murchison
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RiverSong Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RiverSong Cottages

Property: RiverSong Cottages
Address: 30 Fairfax Street, Murchison 7007, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Murchison
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Murchison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — RiverSong Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RiverSong Cottage offers 2 x fully self-contained Cottages and 1 x Studio, affordable accommodation within two minutes walk of Murchison’s local cafes, shops, and Buller River. Listen to river and songs of native birds from your own private deck nestled amongst beautiful gardens. Lie in a hammock or relax with an evening BBQ. NOTE: Only Cottages have full kitchens, the Studio has a microwave, fridge, and tea & coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your RiverSong Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing