We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hmmmm”

Post Office Cafe & Bar
Ranked #4 of 8 Restaurants in Clyde
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Kids, Bar scene, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Pukerau, Southland
Level Contributor
155 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Hmmmm”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

I have been here several times and it never quite makes the grade for me - sadly always something disappoints, and I keep coming back to give them another chance ... I continue to live in hope.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank PukHawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    103
    32
    21
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cheerful, tasty and cosy”
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We chose our lunches from the blackboard menu and all dishes were good value and of a size to keep the blokes quiet for a while. Staff were very obliging, making a phone call to answer a request for local info. We've been here in summer too, when the garden is a very pleasant shady place to eat on a hot day. Good coffee.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Didn't live up to the hype”
Reviewed May 7, 2012

The Post Office Cafe has been tipped as a "good place to go" in Clyde for a good few years now. So we went - first time diners. But I'm not sure we'd return there on our next visit to Clyde. There's nothing particularly bad about the place - it's in a lovely little building with a decent garden area for outside dining. There's a cosy fire during the winter months and the usual trinkety nic-nacs etc around the walls. The staff were ok but not as efficient as other places we dined at in Central Otago; upon arrival it wasn't immediately obvious which of the waitresses would be looking after us and whether one would conveniently appear at all the appropriate times. The food was average - again nothing too horrendous but on each plate there was some aspect that each of us found unexpected/disappointing (while still being quite edible). Next time we go to Clyde we'll be chancing our arm at one of the other restaurants in this town.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank swignz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dunedin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Yummy lunches”
Reviewed May 1, 2012

We visited Clyde for lunch and were both happy with our meals. They were a decent size and the staff were great.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kelz7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, NZ
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Pretty good food - cozy atmosphere”
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Had a really nicely piece of salmon, bit of a shame the chutney or whatever sauce on it didn't match flavours with the rest of the dish. Everything else on the table was nicely cooked and fresh salads and friendly service.
Partner had a local beef steak said it was good - bit shy on the reduction but otherwise a nice dish as well.
Would recommend making a reservation.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MapleKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Post Office Cafe & Bar also viewed

Clyde, Central Otago
 

Been to Post Office Cafe & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing