We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty and Great Service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clyde Bistro & Bar

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Clyde Bistro & Bar
Ranked #7 of 8 Restaurants in Clyde
Cuisines: Bar, Pizza, European, Contemporary, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tasty and Great Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

The service was very good, even though the front of desk staff looked a little harassed (probably due to having to deal with all the people drinking all day from the Clyde wine & food festival!).

We ordered the polenta (delicious) and gourmet pizza to share. The only comment I would make is the polenta dish was small for the price. Otherwise all was very good.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Le_nz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    16
    12
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stotfold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
394 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“Nice food, very poor service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Went here based on the high score on TP. Unfortunately, either we hit a bad time or the previous reviewers were far more tolerant. When we first arrived (about 4.45pm), we were told that the chefs wouldn't be in until 5pm. We continued with our walk around historic Clyde until about 5.30pm.

When we returned to the restaurant, there were a few people sitting down but nobody was still eating. When someone eventually decided to notice us, we were escorted to a table. A waiter took our order fairly quickly. The food that eventually came was very good and we enjoyed it.

Unfortunately, we were then faced with two long waiting periods before the plates were cleared and we eventually managed to get the attention of one of the staff and asked for a dessert menu. This eventually cam but we then waited and waited for someone to take our order. At one point, we could see a single member of staff in the restaurant. We eventually gave up trying to get anymore food and just paid and left.

By the time that we left (about 7pm), the restaurant was full and many people were sat looking around or just looking at a menu. I would hate to speculate how long it took to get any food.

Overall a potentially great meal spoiled by very food service. I couldn't face a return visit.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“The Three of Us Enjoyed a Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

Had a great evening out at the Clyde Bistro and Bar. I had been looking for a wee snack of venison and they had a very good starter on the menu. My steak was just superb and prepared exactly to my liking. My wife's chicken was a large portion and was very tasty. My mother-in-law enjoyed the prawn avocado salad. We also enjoyed a very nice pinot from Grasshopper on the Rock. The cheesecake which we all enjoyed a wee sample of was fantastic. Service was attentive and friendly. I thought the prices reflected good value for money. There were not many people there on a weeknight so we found it most relaxing. It was a pleasant upmarket change from a few of the cafes/restaurants we have tried in Alexandra. Best wishes for your continued success in Clyde.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tevorolevu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxed environment, great food, beautiful evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Really lovely evening, the people, the food and the clyde area is really beautiful! We had a pizza from the local wood fired pizza oven, yummy! And sampled some of the local Pinot Rose. My friends tried the local Pinot Noir which is famous in these parts! Would definitely go back, staff were friendly and their cinema is opening soon!!! Just what the area needs!!!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Becs99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

This friendly bistro has its own winery Barrington and the 2012 Pinot Gris is exceptional. The cooking is simple but very well done and way above average for NZ country town. Relaxed atmosphere and friendly service made for a most enjoyable evening.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank dtjmclarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clyde Bistro & Bar also viewed

 
Clyde, Central Otago
 

Been to Clyde Bistro & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing