We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to unwind at end of the trail”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hartley Homestead Boutique Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 9 Clyde B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Moranbah, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
“great place to unwind at end of the trail”
Reviewed May 22, 2012

fantastic staying with mel and rex and molly.
homemade breakfast in the morning
roaring fire at night
and all the little personal touches.
highly recommend

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    12
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
87
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin
1 review
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Lovely homely place to pause for a brief time- fantastic use of the local produce for wine and cheese in the evening, and breakfast the following morning. Great hosts- thank you Melanie and Rex.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim Caffell C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, Southland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed March 8, 2012

You can't beat a place like this to stay in Clyde, a hotspot for the sunshine. We had the most relaxing time and the place was immaculate. You will be treated like royalty with a beautiful breakfast out under the pagola with homemade jams, fruits from the trees around you and bread made by the wonderful host Melanie. We sat in the hot tub the night before and enjoy the peace and quiet with views to die for, sipping our complementary wine and cheeses after staying in the guest apartment. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place to everyone I know and we will be back - possibly even for our wedding. Thanks Rex and Melanie

Room Tip: Go for broke and choose the apartment it's worth the extra just for the wine and cheese!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed February 28, 2012

Very much enjoyed our relaxing and special stay with Melanie and Rex. Both very hospitable and attentive. Enjoyed all aspects of our stay. Thanks.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Didge1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Melanie and Rex, thanks for your hospitality. As NZ'ers with itchy feet, we have stayed all over the world however what you offer from Central Otago is truly special. The accommodation was fantastic - perfect for us and the two kids, the breakfasts superb, wine, muffins and local cheeses a real treat after our cycle with the kids. Molly the dog was gorgeous and the kids speak of her fondly. Thanks for all the advice and we have now started making homemade bread.....not sure we can match your preserves through. We will highly recommend and may see you again in the future. Best regards, the Bridgman family.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bridgman_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
1 review
Reviewed February 27, 2012

We found this gem in "Charming Places to Stay in New Zealand"and were not disappointed.
Its location in Clyde is a great start with its history, and great places to eat within walking distance. Our host, Melanie, - and her son Tom - made us feel completely at home. We were given tea and biscuits on arrival, followed by a preprandial excellent local Pinot Noir and cheese platter. And we could have enjoyed a hot tub. Melanie booked us dinner in a really great restaurant a stroll away.
A luxuriously comfortable bed and a totally home made breakfast of fruits and jams from the garden and a great espresso. We hope we will get an opportunity to visit again. Thank you!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatrionaHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed February 27, 2012

We choose to stay at Hartley's Homestead at the completion of the Central Rail Trail for a bit of luxury, and we were not disappointed. Lovely, welcoming and obliging hosts. The house is beautiful. The spa was a welcome treat. Thank you making our last night of the trail so enjoyable. Best wishes.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clyde
15.2 mi away
Heritage Collection Lake Resort
Heritage Collection Lake Resort
#1 of 1 in Pisa Moorings
261 reviews
0.4 mi away
Olivers Central Otago
20.5 mi away
Kinross Cottages
Kinross Cottages
#3 of 43 in Queenstown
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Antique Lodge Motel
Antique Lodge Motel
#3 of 9 in Clyde
70 reviews
19.4 mi away
Muddy Creek Cutting Bed and Breakfast
0.7 mi away
Argyll on Clyde
Argyll on Clyde
#1 of 3 in Clyde
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hartley Homestead Boutique Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hartley Homestead Boutique Bed and Breakfast

Property: Hartley Homestead Boutique Bed and Breakfast
Address: 23 Pyke Street | Central Otago, Clyde 9330, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Central Otago > Clyde
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Clyde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hartley Homestead Boutique Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hartley Homestead Boutique Bed and Breakfast is a grand 1900s mud brick homestead surrounded by almost an acre of lawns and mature gardens on the banks of the picturesque Clutha River. A few minutes stroll from restaurants, cafés and bars of the historic gold mining township of Clyde and within walking distance of the Otago Central Rail Trail, Hartley Homestead is the ideal base for spending time exploring all that Central Otago has on offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Hartley Homestead Boutique Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing