We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“memorable night . . .”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hartley Homestead Boutique Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 9 Clyde B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“memorable night . . .”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2011

We had a most memorable night at the Hartley Homestead Boutique Bed and Breakfast recently . . . . Rex and Melanie sat with us at arrival while we had a cup of tea, visited with us in the evening over wine and cheese, and had a leisurely breakfast as well! We felt like we were among friends whom we had known years. I am quite picky about the "bed" and have NEVER had a more luxurious sleep . . .and found it very hard to leave it in the morning. This place is a real gem, and we were happy to have found it!

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kiaora3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    12
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
87
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2011

Rex and Melanie were welcoming to us even though we were later night drop-in guests. We had searched all over Alexandra for a place to stay, and had to move on to Clyde because accommodations seemed to be full. Melanie had one room left, and was happy to take us in even though it was nearly 9pm. We had delicious Pinot Nior, wonderful conversation with the hosts and the other guests, and an absolutely fantastic night's sleep.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KFellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2011

Located in the quiet street of historical Clyde, on the banks of the picturesque Clutha River, - the website invites you to relax with the comfort in the beautifully appointed bedrooms. I rung to the Hartley Homestead to make a booking for a large family with 3 children including new born baby (he was only 2 weeks old).
To be honest I did not expect positive answer as I know how it is difficult to accommodate 3 children in the same time. Our hosts, Melanie and Rex, were more than happy to have our complicated lot and looked after us extremely well. Everything was possible: BBQ, bicycles, Jacuzzi, children games in the garden. We had very nice time!
The rooms were clean, the cheese platter and wine was just in the right moment and breakfast time (both mornings) was very relaxing.
We certainly would recommend this place. It is lovely homestead to spend 2-3 days and to be looked after! Thank you, Melanie! Thank you, Rex!
Francken and French families

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irina216944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2011

We stayed only one night but could have stayed forever. I always measure luxury by the bed! Crisp white sheets with sumptuous pillows, not only for the unsurpassably comfortable bed which we had, but also for my teenage daughter's. breakfast of freshly baked pastries and bread under the pagoda, wine served in the hot tub and the location itself were only some of the memories of Rex and Melanie's treats. There is no doubt that we highly recommend Hartley Homestead as we long to return ourselves.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaKitchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bombay, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2010

The warm hospitality that Rex and Melanie provided was lovely. Molly (the dog) helped with the entertainment!! The food was home cooked and took us back to a happier time.
Well done Hartley Homestead we will be back next year.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanos67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2010

Attractive, older home, nicely restored in well-maintained garden setting.
Comfortable, nicely furnished room - just a little far from personal bathroom, which was along a passage.
Obliging hosts with good local knowledge and advice.
Very entertaining, if somewhat 'eccentric' dog 'Mollie'.
Enjoyable, 'healthy', continental-style (our choice) breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ForHartley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clyde
15.2 mi away
Heritage Collection Lake Resort
Heritage Collection Lake Resort
#1 of 1 in Pisa Moorings
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.4 mi away
Olivers Central Otago
0.3 mi away
Clyde Motel
Clyde Motel
#9 of 9 in Clyde
3.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Argyll on Clyde
Argyll on Clyde
#1 of 3 in Clyde
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
20.5 mi away
Kinross Cottages
Kinross Cottages
#2 of 45 in Queenstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.3 mi away
Antique Lodge Motel
Antique Lodge Motel
#3 of 9 in Clyde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hartley Homestead Boutique Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hartley Homestead Boutique Bed and Breakfast

Property: Hartley Homestead Boutique Bed and Breakfast
Address: 23 Pyke Street | Central Otago, Clyde 9330, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Central Otago > Clyde
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Clyde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hartley Homestead Boutique Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hartley Homestead Boutique Bed and Breakfast is a grand 1900s mud brick homestead surrounded by almost an acre of lawns and mature gardens on the banks of the picturesque Clutha River. A few minutes stroll from restaurants, cafés and bars of the historic gold mining township of Clyde and within walking distance of the Otago Central Rail Trail, Hartley Homestead is the ideal base for spending time exploring all that Central Otago has on offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hartley Homestead Boutique Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing