We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Busy during school holidays”
Review of Whakapapa Ski Area

Whakapapa Ski Area
Ranked #2 of 7 things to do in Whakapapa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
146 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Busy during school holidays”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Went down for the day to Happy Valley with a group of children. Unfortunately the weather wasn't the greatest; however after we found a good spot up on the hill, the children still had fun- snowball fights, sliding down hills etc. It was extremely busy with queues for everything. Impossible to find a seat or buy any food. Soooo many people attempting to ski, riding toboggans etc. Got hit from behind twice just trying to get from one side of the ski field to the other!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    69
    42
    11
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Snow Fun”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Love this place - great for family fun. Had just snowed enough for the resort to open, but we still spent an hour queuing trying to buy a ski lesson for our 6 year old and other passes. New systems apparently - although with the delayed opening you would have thought they'd be ready to go!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank OceaniaTravelService
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very unorganised”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

I had been planning this trip for a good two weeks trying to get the details down to the T, The ski-fields finally opened on Saturday and we were saying in Turangi so we went to the info centre there to check if we needed to get chains for our car and we were told that they did not need chain on the road today just drove to the conditions. Once we got to the mountain we were told that it was only 4wd and cars with chains that were allowed up the mountain and there were people there half way up the mountain putting the chains on the car for $35, when we got there there was about 45 minute wait for that so by the time we got to the top it was about 2.30. We were unsure of were to go, parked the car, went down the chairlifts got into the rental and payment part and were told that we both needed ID? so my partner had to go back to the car, came back down and had to wait in line again, and we did not get asked for ID? there is no room to move around there were so many people, no where to sit. Only one person that worked there was helpful, most of the staff were really rude. We missed the ski lesson so we had no idea what we were doing so that sucked. The snow it self was wonderful though and next time we will buy our own gear and buy a 4wd so we can avoid all things that made this trip not very good :(

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Offie1706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“End of summer visit”
Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

We were drawn by the website which promised great views from the top of the chair lifts, and the highest cafe. We visited queens birthday weekend and were disappointed to find the chair lifts were not operational. Think the website should explain this better that there is a period between summer and winter seasons where they don't work. Great views, but not much else to do, unless you are into tramping.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank sekta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic even for a summer trip!”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

While I did not have the opportunity to visit in the winter, I did greatly enjoy my time here for a few summer days. I enjoy hiking and there are a lot of hiking opportunities available with fantastic views. We decided to take the chair lifts to the very top, where the Knoll Ridge Cafe is located. We then embarked on a 2-3 hour round trip hike with fantastic views of the other mountains in the park. It was a pretty steep climb, but you literally felt on top of the world. Also, the Meads Wall short walk area was fun to experience since it was used for filming parts of Mordor in the LOTR - you really do feel like you are in another world....or on another planet! All of this for the economical cost of the chair lift since the walks are free! There are guided walks available as well if you want to go a bit further to see some of the blue lakes.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank brittanyaih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whakapapa Ski Area also viewed

Tongariro National Park, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Tongariro National Park, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 
Tongariro National Park, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 

Been to Whakapapa Ski Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing