We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2012 season”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Whakapapa Ski Area

Whakapapa Ski Area
Ranked #2 of 7 things to do in Whakapapa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“2012 season”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

When it's a bluebird day it's the best mountain. Pick your weather. So join a club with lodge up the mountain at Iwikau village...try Boomerang Ski Club

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank RodLR22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    69
    42
    11
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Havelock North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This could get expensive!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

We had a fantastic afternoon in the snow. Our eldest children, 8 and 6, were skiing for the first time and had lessons. Our youngest, 3, was more than happy with tobogganing and playing in the snow. My husband got back on skies for the first time in over 14 years. And pregnant me sat in the sunshine and watched them all! The 8 & 6 year olds can't wait to go back next year and the 3 year old wants to ski next time. This could end up costing us a few $$$$!
The staff were all really helpful, with the children getting booked into lessons that started 1/2 an hour after we arrived, so no hanging around for them. The staff on the lifts were always willing to help us with all our kids/bags/toboggan/ski gear.

Roll on next year. We'll be back!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Herds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gympie, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“sooo much fun!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

my daughter and i went there.she to learn to snowboard..me well i was a bit scared.i had had a bad experience my fist time at mount cheeseman skifeilds in arthurs pass ,so was onlt tentatively looking forward to it.but when i got to the hire area for the skiing gear.i was given the right ski gear and happy valley was the most awesome place to learn to ski.the lifts were fantastic and the beginners area easy and fun.lots of kids there having lots of fun...im going back next year i loved it so much

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Maree B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“I Got the snow bug here :) Love it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

As a never skied before it was fun and every one was friendly. I didn't feel intimidated being a total beginer.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Leisl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Standards have slipped a bit.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

We love the mt, she doesn't change, the snow quality was amazing and the weather was constantly snowing for days on end, but the powder at the end was so worth it!
Re the facilities, standards have slipped. There was only 1 lift attendant called Tommy who was doing anything about the queue jumping that was occuring when the mt finally opened. We liked him alot. They need to put up signs about queue etiquete as no one seems to care about pushing in or teaching their kids about it either.
The food was mainly overpriced and small portions, when compared to Turoa's cafe's. 6 prawn twisters for $14.50 when Turoa give you 10 of them for $8.50. Same company, different rules. Admittedly Whakapapa doesn't have a small town below them with a supermarket, but still, overpriced. Coffee was generally really good, but the cake selection very poor at Lorenz.
Alot of the lifts weren't running. The first day open in nearly 10 days and they only had one chair running at happy valley (as that was the only part of the mt open). No pummers or magic carpet. Massive queues as a result.
Also they only review the lifts in the am, when quite often the afternoons had cleared up with low winds and better visability, but no the mt lifts remain closed. They should review the lifts again at lunchtime.
Upper mt finally open, only running the rock garden chair as the centential broken, should have had the national going too, but nope just the rockgarden and a massive queue.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whakapapa Ski Area also viewed

Tongariro National Park, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Tongariro National Park, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 
Tongariro National Park, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 

Been to Whakapapa Ski Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing