We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A glorified backpackers.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Skotel Alpine Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Whakapapa
Reviewed July 15, 2007

The surrounding natural beauty is out of this world, but that's really about all this property has going for it. It is in major need of a refit; our "chalet" was filthy, the staff are on the whole immature and unprofessional and the list of things which were badly done in relation to our stay are too numerous to detail here.

Given that this is a major tourist destination, as a New Zealander I was embarassed. But after a refit, and perhaps employing staff that actually have a genuine interest in the service industry, it could be fantastic.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank gasman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (445)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

365 - 371 of 445 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2007

Stayed at the Skotel Alpine Resort, again most amenities but no microwave or toaster and no wireless. Internet in lobby for $2 per 20 minutes, good laundry on site but charged $1.50 per load for soap as well as the usual $2 for washer and $2 for dryer. Soap was 50 cents everywhere else. Free spa and sauna. Restaurant meals unimpressive and reservations required well in advance for dinner, no walk-ins. Not much else in village for food either. Spa could be reserved in 30 minute blocks. Good location for walks in national park.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank MisterWombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2007

We stayed at skotel in mid february, it was a pleasent stay.
We booked a room but we've got a chalet for 7 persons and we were with 2!
The chalet was spacious en big, a great kitchen, beds were good and firm, a nice veranda with chairs with a view at mt. "doom".
It was old fahioned but everything was working properly and it was clean.
Its a good beginning for the Tongariro track the bus stop is near by.( $25).And you must do it when you are there is awesome!!! A heavily walk buth worth doing it!!!
We didn't use the restaurant we cooked ourselves, when you go for shopping at the beginning of the road to whakepapa village is a gas station with a grocery store atached. that the only shop near by.Sorry i've go fotos but they are to big to put on this site.

  • Stayed: February 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank esther31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2006

I am a 22-year-old female who was studying abroad in Australia and took a two week tour of NZ staying in hostels with a friend, which may skew my view. However, I have also stayed at high-end resorts and enjoyed excellent food on travels with my parents. I booked the Skotel because we wanted to do the Tongariro Crossing and thought it would be the best location. The staff was very friendly and arranged our transport for both the crossing and to/from the train station to the hotel. When we arrived, we were pleasantly surprised to find that they had upgraded us from the hostel room to a hotel room, so we were able to stay for NZ$35/night, quite a deal for a decent hotel room and actually cheaper than many of our hostels.
The room itself was a bit small for a hotel, but had nice amenities like a towel warmer, a deck with a table and chairs, and books/brochures on the history of the park and the hikes available in the area. Unlike other reviewers, I had no trouble sleeping at all and found it to be very quiet with a comfortable bed.
The food at the restaurant was my culinary indulgence of the trip. Everything was pricey for a backpacker's budget, but was absolutely excellent! The soup and the pasta with blue cheese cream sauce were of a particularly high quality. They also arranged a packed lunch for us on the crossing.
The crossing itself lived up to the hype. It's magnificent, and the side trip up Mt. Ngauruhoe is quite difficult but definitely worth it. There are also nice trails that begin from right near the Skotel (the picture of the waterfall below is from a short trail leaving from the car park). Also within walking distance is the park visitor center, which gives good information about the natural history of the area and weather reports and tips for the crossing and other hikes around the area.
All in all we had a wonderful stay due primarily to the friendly and courteous staff, the great food, and the excellent value.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank adventuretraveler5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2006

Stayed here for one night in March 2006. Called in to check rate for the night before going to holiday park in the village - decided to take the room after inspection (cost around £50 for the night). A really busy hotel with quite a few coach loads of tourists staying.

Nice feel to the place - wooden panelling and cosy carpets. Obviously a ski resort. Room on the small side, but plenty of room for us. Good heating (was kinda chilly!) and tea/coffee making facilities. Balcony with a great view over the park. Bathroom small but clean and well heated.

Evening meal excellent - really enjoyed our meal with a view! Breakfast also good value and staff very helpful and pleasant. Internet facilities and a payphone enclosed in a little room with a chair - essential for those long calls back to the UK!

Plenty of help given regarding walks,etc. with weather carefully displayed. More info obviously available from i-site.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank happyholsfolks!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2006

The Skotel has both hotel style rooms, chalets and in the summertime a hostel - this review is about the hostel. In the winter the Hostel is used as accomodation for the Mount Ruapehu ski-lift workers but the Skotel has use of these rooms in the summer. There is a variety of single, twin, and double rooms mostly without bathrooms. There is a large communal bathroom in one wing (4 closed in showers and 4 private toilets) and another 2 toilets in another room near the main lounge and a single bathroom in the smaller west wing. Lots of hot water and they are cleaned each day. The bedrooms are clean and functional with clean towels each day and plenty of heating if needed. The quality of the beds is "by chance". We have stayed before in two different rooms with double beds. They were soft and saggy with lots of roll together so this time went for a twin room. One bed was great, the other should be thrown in the trash. There is a very large communal kitchen with all you need. Large stove, microwave, fridge (but no freezer) and plenty of plates, cups, cooking gear and so on. The rooms can be somewhat noisy so forget about sleeping in, as there is always lots of people getting up at 6am to do the Tongariro Crossing walk. The Skotel has a laundry in the hotel area plus a small spa and sauna which hostel guests can use plus a Restaurant and Bar - this is not that good a value. If you do not want to cook your own food in the hostel kitcken (and meet travellers from all round the world) the is a pub 250 metres down the road which has large cheap meals and beer on tap. The price of NZ$60 per night for a twin room is reasonal value for New Zealand and would be great value if the beds were better. A handy place to stay for a day or two.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gplim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2005

Stayed in "luxury" room Feb 2005. The room was clean and functional but hardly luxurious. The restaurant - like so many in New Zealand - was very average. The hotel is well located in Whakapapa - a much better bet than National Park - and unlike the Grand Chateau (now called Bayview Chateau) is not engaged in re-building work. Recommended as an overnight stop but not for an extended stay.

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank sigmund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whakapapa
0.2 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,647 reviews
15.6 mi away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
8.0 mi away
Adventure Lodge & Motel
Adventure Lodge & Motel
#1 of 3 in Tongariro National Park
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Plateau Lodge
Plateau Lodge
#1 of 9 in National Park Village
269 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Park Hotel Ruapehu
The Park Hotel Ruapehu
#4 of 9 in National Park Village
348 reviews
15.8 mi away
Ruapehu Mountain Motel & Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skotel Alpine Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skotel Alpine Resort

Address: Tongariro National Park, Whakapapa, Tongariro National Park 3951, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Tongariro National Park > Whakapapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Whakapapa
Price Range: $42 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Skotel Alpine Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Skotel was established in the early 60s by a group of keen skiers who wanted the convenience of accommodation close to the ski-fields but more comfort than the ski lodges of that time. In 1986 it underwent a major expansion with the addition of restaurant, bar and other facilities. The old part of the building became the backpacker’s wing. Skotel has maintained its friendly informal atmosphere but now provides Qualmark three star accommodation and the exciting cuisine experiences of our new dinner menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Skotel Alpine Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skotel Alpine Hotel Whakapapa Village
Holiday Inn Tongariro National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing