We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Summertime at the Skotel Hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Skotel Alpine Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Whakapapa
Reviewed February 6, 2006

The Skotel has both hotel style rooms, chalets and in the summertime a hostel - this review is about the hostel. In the winter the Hostel is used as accomodation for the Mount Ruapehu ski-lift workers but the Skotel has use of these rooms in the summer. There is a variety of single, twin, and double rooms mostly without bathrooms. There is a large communal bathroom in one wing (4 closed in showers and 4 private toilets) and another 2 toilets in another room near the main lounge and a single bathroom in the smaller west wing. Lots of hot water and they are cleaned each day. The bedrooms are clean and functional with clean towels each day and plenty of heating if needed. The quality of the beds is "by chance". We have stayed before in two different rooms with double beds. They were soft and saggy with lots of roll together so this time went for a twin room. One bed was great, the other should be thrown in the trash. There is a very large communal kitchen with all you need. Large stove, microwave, fridge (but no freezer) and plenty of plates, cups, cooking gear and so on. The rooms can be somewhat noisy so forget about sleeping in, as there is always lots of people getting up at 6am to do the Tongariro Crossing walk. The Skotel has a laundry in the hotel area plus a small spa and sauna which hostel guests can use plus a Restaurant and Bar - this is not that good a value. If you do not want to cook your own food in the hostel kitcken (and meet travellers from all round the world) the is a pub 250 metres down the road which has large cheap meals and beer on tap. The price of NZ$60 per night for a twin room is reasonal value for New Zealand and would be great value if the beds were better. A handy place to stay for a day or two.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gplim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (439)
There are newer reviews for Skotel Alpine Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

366 - 372 of 439 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2005

Stayed in "luxury" room Feb 2005. The room was clean and functional but hardly luxurious. The restaurant - like so many in New Zealand - was very average. The hotel is well located in Whakapapa - a much better bet than National Park - and unlike the Grand Chateau (now called Bayview Chateau) is not engaged in re-building work. Recommended as an overnight stop but not for an extended stay.

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank sigmund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2004

I booked 16 different hotels/motels for a tour of New Zealand and this was the most expensive and undoubtedly the worst.
The room was tiny and cramped, without even a chair to sit in. There were no cooking facilities (apparently there was a backpackers kitchen somewhere, but every other room I stayed in had its own kitchen) and the bathroom was tiny and basic.
I was planning to get up at 6 a.m. to walk the Tongariro Crossing but I got almost no sleep because of the noise in the corridor and a broken door that banged persistently. The staff were unfriendly and unhelpful.
Returning from the Tongariro Crossing to that room again was an unpleasant experience.
The price is only because of the location, I guess. If I went again I would stay in one of the villages outside the national park.

10  Thank NaomiK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carltoncivi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Ledocn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank anro5666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlejandraSMadrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whakapapa
0.2 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,603 reviews
15.6 mi away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
8.0 mi away
Adventure Lodge & Motel
Adventure Lodge & Motel
#1 of 3 in Tongariro National Park
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Plateau Lodge
Plateau Lodge
#1 of 9 in National Park Village
264 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Park Hotel Ruapehu
The Park Hotel Ruapehu
#5 of 9 in National Park Village
340 reviews
15.8 mi away
Ruapehu Mountain Motel & Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skotel Alpine Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skotel Alpine Resort

Address: Tongariro National Park, Whakapapa, Tongariro National Park 3951, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Tongariro National Park > Whakapapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Whakapapa
Price Range: $45 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Skotel Alpine Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Skotel was established in the early 60s by a group of keen skiers who wanted the convenience of accommodation close to the ski-fields but more comfort than the ski lodges of that time. In 1986 it underwent a major expansion with the addition of restaurant, bar and other facilities. The old part of the building became the backpacker’s wing. Skotel has maintained its friendly informal atmosphere but now provides Qualmark three star accommodation and the exciting cuisine experiences of our new dinner menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Skotel Alpine Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skotel Alpine Hotel Whakapapa Village
Holiday Inn Tongariro National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing