We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (484)
Filter reviews
484 results
Traveler rating
113
159
112
56
44
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
113
159
112
56
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsski hirepacked lunchawesome viewsbunk bedsenjoyed my staytwo nightstongariro national parktaranaki fallswingsspabackpackerscabinaccommodationhikesnowcrossingtwin
Filter
Updating list...
382 - 387 of 484 reviews
Reviewed March 24, 2009

Stayed at Skotel in January with extended family. Location of the hotel is great, not far to the skilifts and a short walk to the tavern and village. Lots of good bushwalks start around or near to the hotel. Room are very tired and need a refurb. We had a superior room for 2 adults and 2 teenage children. The room was very small. The top bunk bed was a concern so we had to put the mattress on the floor. Some facilities were not working, the outdoor spa was closed and the pool table could not be used during dinner hours and it made it too noisy in the restaurant. The inside spa only fits about 3 people.
Despite this we enjoyed the stay, mostly because of the location. However overpriced for the standard of the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aussietraveller086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2009

Hotel is in a fantastic location in the Whakapapa village and the rooms have amazing views. The downside is the rooms haven't been renovated for over 20 years. They smell musty and the carpets are worn. The other problem is overbooking. We have twice booked here in the last year but been turned away as the hotel is full. Alternative accommodation in the cramped and soon to be discontinued "drivers rooms" at the Chateau was arranged instead.
We will go back to Skotel, but only after the hotel is renovated.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KiwiBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2009

The Chalet accommodation was definitely the worst of our 5 weeks holiday. Plenty of room and fabulous views but very shabby. The kitchen and bathroom (I use that term loosely) were appalling and according to the staff 'had not been touched for 40 years and needed bulldozing'. Badly needed total refurbishment!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank grandtour1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2009

Great little hotel, good for one or two nights. there are larger rooms available for families or groups.

we stayed in two rooms, the first was a double, it was small but perfect for a couple (see photos attached). the second room was a family room which was a lot larger, with a queen bed and a set of bunk beds. Both rooms had tea & coffee making faculties, en-suites, and doors that open out to an amazing view.

The hotel staff were welcoming and friendly. Dinner options, you can eat at the hotel or pop down to the Chateau for a truly amazing dinning experience.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2009

We stayed in the Hostel. The price was right but could have been cleaner. However compared to other Hostels in the area it was better.
The staff was the problem. They were under staffed and the waiter who served our dinner was the rudest waiter I have ever encountered. The Bartender was pleasant and the views from the bar were amazing.
We would stay there again but do have to agree with other reviews that the spa smelled and looked bad. The whole basement area was pretty bad.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank elmelArizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews