We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location - Pity about the food -”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Skotel Alpine Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Whakapapa
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We arrived at the hotel in torrential rain - but found the staff welcoming and helpful -
We had booked budget rooms - 2, advertised as with tea and coffee - but one room did not have this - though the other had a TV etc.
Beds were comfy - both doubles but the layout of the room weird with beds pushed against the walls, so one person had to climb over the other to get in or out.
Found the rooms tired but clean and tidy. - The temperature was perfect. The outlook was why we booked here - along with the close proximity to the walks we wanted to do.
FOOD - there is no access to food or drink until 5 pm - tough if you have been on the road or tramping since early morning.
Some of the food being delivered to tables for dinner looked lovely - how ever our experience was not so...
- Salad ordered with chicken and no tomato - arrived with tomato and no chicken - the tomato was removed - luckily the person who ordered it just doesn't like it tomato as if she was allergic would have had a real problem.
- The seafood chowder - weird, sweet and with tomato ( maybe a quirt of tomato sauce!) and the seafood was ground- could have been chicken or anything. It was returned to the kitchen as it was cold. (They did not bill me.)
-The risotto ordered by my partner - nice but the steamed veges served with it were cold - seemed pre frozen.
After this I stayed safe and had a cheese board - nice cheese and grapes -
Coffee was great as was the Sauna... Would visit again but probably pay a little more and eat at the Chateau. A pity as the view from this restuarant was amazing - and if the weather had been better I would have loved eating on the deck.

Room Tip: The desk told me that if they were not busy 'budget rooms were upgraded to the supreme - these...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suep61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (446)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

262 - 268 of 446 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2013

I stayed at Skotel for 2 nights during my visit to the Tongariro national park. I booked a backpacker room for a single person and although the room had 3 beds, I had the room to myself. The hotel has a great view of Mt. Ngaurhoe and the wooden floor and walls of the hotel makes lot of groaning and squeaking sounds, lending it a kind of quaint charm. The food was reasonably good and staff helpful. They had a well appointed kitchen, unfortunately it only had cooking range, microwave and utensils but no supplies whatsoever. At least the supplies for tea and coffee will be really welcome. The bathrooms although shared were clean and so was the room. Overall a good experience.

Room Tip: If you are travelling with family, it makes a lot of sense to book backpackers accomodation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geeta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Good bunker beds, but the third bed in the backpacker room was terrible. Very soft mattress. Acoustic between bedrooms are quite 'good' you can quite a lot of noises from neighbor rooms.

Kitchen is ok, basic but has all it is needed. Living room was looking quite tired with video tapes.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rissa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed here for one night and thought our room well appointed,maybe a bit small, but with a beautiful view across to Mt Ngauruhoe (Mount Doom in the Lord of the Rings films). Excellent laundry facilities which were greatly appreciated as we had been travelling for some time. All the staff were very friendly and the food was good. Views from the restaurant of the sunset were fantastic. Not sure what the othe reviewers mean. perhaps we were just lucky.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marybells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

First of all, let me please advise anyone who is visiting Tongariro, do spend some extra cash and stay at the Chateau or any other accommodation, rather than this one. I think I have never seen such a bad service in such a short period of time. I arrived one night at 8. 30 and checked in. I was told that the kitchen would only close at 9 and therefore I was there at 8.45. Surprisingly one of the staff members informed me that I could only have a pizza (pre cooked by the way) and since I was hungry I decided to order and so I sat down. He brought the pizza in a box and I asked if I could have a cutlery. This was followed by an upset and boring look from the waiter. He did not even ask what I wanted to drink?!? The next day, while trying to pay, the receptionist informed me that I had to pay three extra items which I had not eaten, probably as I a kind of vengeance from the waiter's behalf. The receptionist was then upset when I informed that it hadnt been me and started arguing. Overall, really bad rooms fro wha you pay, awful bathrooms and the worst staff ever!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hans B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

First and foremost: they should consider putting the "backpakers" sign on every room that is in this standard. Secondly, divide it into sections separately reviewed in TripAdvisor. This would prevent confusion. I will tell you about my experience in the "cheap" area. For a hotel - terrible, for hostel - average.
You are being informed on the website that this is a budget room. Nevertheless, nothing prepares you for the shock of seeing someone’s menstrual blood on the toilet. Apparently they are not cleaned between customers.
Nice things about this place – restaurant with good food and very nice terrace with great volcano view. There is also guest lounge where you can prepare breakfast yourself.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna_Maria_Estera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Incredibly cheap deal online - but the room (301) was right by entrance/reception and walls are thin so it was very noisy..BUT...reception staffer was helpful and spent time finding an alternative room (305) which was excellent for me: a spacious twin single room with sliding door to a small deck (2 chairs and small table) overlooking the extraordinary landscape of the central plateau. Active volcano over to the right, downlands falling away to distant ranges of hills in front and the iconic 'Bayview Chateau Tongariro' (a stately old hotel) amongst the mountain beech trees to the left. Magical.
Room was well equipped: bed was very comfortable, bathroom was fine, pillows were all the same type (a bit firm and high for me), tea and coffee making facilities, a good sized fridge.
Pleasant cleaning staff.
Only quibble is the very thin walls - I could hear my neighbours clearly. In the summer many visitors to the area are hiking/tramping so they get up early but don't party late. In winter (skiing just up the road at Whakapapa skifield) it might be a bit rowdier in the evenings.
There is no food shop at Whakapapa village: bring your food with you OR eat at either the Skotel restaurant (which I didn't try), the Tussock Bar and Restaurant (standard pub fare), the Chateau Tongariro restaurant (we had a conference deal, the food we were served was a bit old-fashioned) or the Pihanga cafe (cafe-restaurant style meals, open fairly late).

Room Tip: Ask for a view overlooking the plateau and away from the reception area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thoughtfuldancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whakapapa
0.2 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,648 reviews
15.6 mi away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
8.0 mi away
Adventure Lodge & Motel
Adventure Lodge & Motel
#1 of 3 in Tongariro National Park
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Plateau Lodge
Plateau Lodge
#1 of 9 in National Park Village
269 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Park Hotel Ruapehu
The Park Hotel Ruapehu
#5 of 9 in National Park Village
348 reviews
15.8 mi away
Ruapehu Mountain Motel & Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skotel Alpine Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skotel Alpine Resort

Address: Tongariro National Park, Whakapapa, Tongariro National Park 3951, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Tongariro National Park > Whakapapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Whakapapa
Price Range: $42 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Skotel Alpine Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Skotel was established in the early 60s by a group of keen skiers who wanted the convenience of accommodation close to the ski-fields but more comfort than the ski lodges of that time. In 1986 it underwent a major expansion with the addition of restaurant, bar and other facilities. The old part of the building became the backpacker’s wing. Skotel has maintained its friendly informal atmosphere but now provides Qualmark three star accommodation and the exciting cuisine experiences of our new dinner menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Skotel Alpine Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skotel Alpine Hotel Whakapapa Village
Holiday Inn Tongariro National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing