We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (491)
Filter reviews
491 results
Traveler rating
116
162
112
57
44
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
116
162
112
57
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsski hirepacked lunchawesome viewsbunk bedsenjoyed my staytwo nightstongariro national parktaranaki fallsfantastic locationwingsspabackpackerscabinaccommodationhikesnowskiing
Filter
Updating list...
313 - 318 of 491 reviews
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Maybe we were lucky but our 3 day Grab-One stay at Skotel had no problems at all. Just out of season for skiers so plenty of space for an older couple to relax. Management and staff very obliging. Would go again - out of season....

Room Tip: Would ask for 'mountain views' (most rooms) - otherwise car park views are not as good.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barrie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Skotel and we found it just OK. Rooms were sparse and but had all the basic necessities. Our room overlooked a barren patch of grass and the wifi didn't reach it. Everything seemed a but run down but it was suitable for what it is--an inexpensive place to sleep before spending all day in the gorgeous outdoors.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Melanie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

I stayed at the Skotel for two nights and I loved it.
Room was warm and functional; the restaurant and the bar very confortable and the staff very friendly. Was so great after a great day of hiking to get nice diner and then drinks sitting close to fireplace at the bar.
The location is very close to the slopes; many hiking paths are located around the village and Scenic flight tours are available at just 5 minutes from there.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Franck B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I and my husband stayed at Skotel for four days. The hotel is very nice and beautiful. The room is clean, warm and we could see Mt. Ngauruhoe from the window. The walls are too thin and at night was really hard sleep while the people was talking, watching TV, etc.
The food in the restaurant is good, but the pizza is not. The Gym at the hotel is a shame; all stuff is broken.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Love T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Stayed two nights for a weekend of snow at Whakapapa. For the price considering the location to the ski field, perfect. Rooms clean and rusticly tasteful. Clean and pleasant. But lets face it you're here for the snow and for that it's perfect. Friendly staff. The Chateau Tongariro is next door for a treat. On site is a ski equipment hire place with very friendly and knowledgable staff to hire gear and obtain a lift pass for the days skiing. It stays open til midnight for convenience. All in all a great place perfectly located. Will definitely return.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
2  Thank PBJ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews