We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A confortable place.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Skotel Alpine Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Whakapapa
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I and my husband stayed at Skotel for four days. The hotel is very nice and beautiful. The room is clean, warm and we could see Mt. Ngauruhoe from the window. The walls are too thin and at night was really hard sleep while the people was talking, watching TV, etc.
The food in the restaurant is good, but the pizza is not. The Gym at the hotel is a shame; all stuff is broken.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Love T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (441)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

279 - 285 of 441 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2012

Stayed two nights for a weekend of snow at Whakapapa. For the price considering the location to the ski field, perfect. Rooms clean and rusticly tasteful. Clean and pleasant. But lets face it you're here for the snow and for that it's perfect. Friendly staff. The Chateau Tongariro is next door for a treat. On site is a ski equipment hire place with very friendly and knowledgable staff to hire gear and obtain a lift pass for the days skiing. It stays open til midnight for convenience. All in all a great place perfectly located. Will definitely return.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
2  Thank PBJ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed at Skotel in Aug this year. The room was clean and warm although the walls were quite thin (we could hear next door and the heating clicking in and out) But after a day on the Mt that did'nt mean much. The food was fantastic! (Being a chef I can be a bit fussy sometimes) The eggs benadict is to die for! The staff helpfull and friendly and having ski hire down stairs was very handy. over all for the $ worth every cent. We would stay again. Oh and kid friendly to.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leisl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

The unit was warm, tidy and had comfortable beds. Everything was as it appeared on the website. However I did have a few issues with my stay there. The skotel brochure in our room stated we could call room service from our room (but there was no phone). I called with my mobile to order room service with the menu listed in the skotel brochure, was told the menu was incorrect, they still had last years menu in the brochure. Many facilities listed available on the website, were either not working or out of order, for example the air hockey table/the gym/the outside spa. The resturant at the skotel was excellent with great service, however we were disappointed that there was no sky tv (not even in the skotel bar). We had to leave the skotel to watch the all black game. The ski shop edge to edge was great at the skotel, the staff were very helpful/friendly and informative.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

The front of house staff attentive and friendly, we Stayed the night in a six berth room, which was comfortable, the bed a little uncomfortable due to protruding spring, and heater in main room not the best heatwise, but otherwise ok. The restaurant meal was superb great service and not overpriced.
Overall a pleasant night away.- would stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NZConsumer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Have stayed at Skotel a couple of times now with the kids. The location is great. We loved playing monopoly in the mezzanine floor above the restaurant. Restaurant has great food and the staff were a fantastic bunch and couldn't do enough for us. Check-in was a breeze. Wayne the manager is top kiwi bloke. Looking forward to our next stay there later in the month.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alpined
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed in a cabin that was very comfortable and warm. Two bunkbeds and big queen fit us all easily. Beautiful view from the room and lovely and quiet, clean and comfortable. Staff were exceptionally friendly at all times. Wonderful buffet breakfast. Nice small pub in evening. Highly recommended.
(Only complaint was with hot tub, which did not seem very clean. However sauna was wonderful.)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 164Familytrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whakapapa
0.2 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,627 reviews
15.6 mi away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
8.0 mi away
Adventure Lodge & Motel
Adventure Lodge & Motel
#1 of 3 in Tongariro National Park
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Plateau Lodge
Plateau Lodge
#1 of 9 in National Park Village
268 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Park Hotel Ruapehu
The Park Hotel Ruapehu
#5 of 9 in National Park Village
344 reviews
15.8 mi away
Ruapehu Mountain Motel & Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skotel Alpine Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skotel Alpine Resort

Address: Tongariro National Park, Whakapapa, Tongariro National Park 3951, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Tongariro National Park > Whakapapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Whakapapa
Price Range: $43 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Skotel Alpine Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Skotel was established in the early 60s by a group of keen skiers who wanted the convenience of accommodation close to the ski-fields but more comfort than the ski lodges of that time. In 1986 it underwent a major expansion with the addition of restaurant, bar and other facilities. The old part of the building became the backpacker’s wing. Skotel has maintained its friendly informal atmosphere but now provides Qualmark three star accommodation and the exciting cuisine experiences of our new dinner menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Skotel Alpine Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skotel Alpine Hotel Whakapapa Village
Holiday Inn Tongariro National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing