We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for the location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Whakapapa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 27, 2007

The hotel is the only choice of value in the national park. So, do not expect 4 star quality rooms. In fact, the rooms are quite old and in need of an update, especially the beds are small and old. But nevertheless, if you do not want to camp or stay in the youth hotel, the choices are limited!

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SofieZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,606)
There are newer reviews for Chateau Tongariro Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,415 - 1,421 of 1,606 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2007

Stayed one night and that was enough in February 2007. We arrived around 1.30pm only to be sent away until the 'official' check in time of 3pm. A hotel staff member then informed us that the hotel was almost empty - so making us wait was simply bloody mindedness. We have travelled extensively and only encountered this attitude once (French management of a London hotel).

Even though we paid rack rate direct to the hotel we were given a noisy room at the front of the hotel with no view of the mountains. The very late arrival of a busload of guests was extremely noisy and the early morning rumble of traffic started by 6am.

It was not possible to leave the windows closed as the room was very hot and there is no airconditioning - however also no fly screens on the windows so it's 'bug city'. This is not good enough for a supposed 4 star hotel. The room was reasonably clean however somewhat tired, especially the bathroom. The doona on the bed was not in a cover - this must be unhygenic.

On booking with the restaurant we were sternly instructed to ensure that we wore 'decent clothing'!

Stayed: February 2007
4  Thank ctrunfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2006

We stayed here for 2 nights but unfortunately both days were rainy and on the day we left, the weather was picking up...

The hotel itself has a fantastic atmosphere. We were unexpectedly upgraded to one of the rooms in the new wing - the room was big, clean and very classy. The hotel itself is decked out with numerous fireplaces and big windows which looked out onto the grounds and given the rain lashing continously outside we spent most of the time in doors with cups of hot chocolate by the fireplace. The hotel has 2 restuarants - the up market one which had pretty nice food and the cafe round the side which was also nice.

There's a cinema in the lower levels which was a surprising find and was playing all manner of things all day long. We didn't find ourselves short of activities despite the horrendous weather outside.

Overall we'd recommend this hotel without hesitation, although once there it's very much pot luck what weather you get ...

  • Stayed: January 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ABagOfJourneys L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2006

We stayed 2 nights at the Chateau in October. We had the bed & breakfast package so buffet breakfast was included and selection was good.

This hotel is probably the nicest hotel in Tongariro area...close to hiking trails and Ruapehu ski field. The 9 hole golf course was really nice too. Room in good condition--although on the smaller side.

I am Asia-American and I'll have to say that one of the hotel workers (who's caucasian) greeted us with a deliberate Asian 'accent' "Ha-Low! Hau arr U!!"---which I don't really think it's professional. Also the girl up at the front desk was trying to straighten the hotel booklet --that I was still looking at.

So, overall I would stay at this nice hotel. But service is hit & miss and if you don't have high expectations it'll be ok.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sammyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2006

I am constantly amazed at how reviews can differ so greatly. Perhaps it's just the timing of the stay or case of poor service due to change of staff etc.

In any case, our stay at the Chateau was memorable. My husband and I booked our room in the new wing which had a fantastic view of Mt. Ruapehu gleaming in the midle of the night! Being winter, the snow capped mountain was such a lovely sight. In the photos of the front view of the chateau, you can see the white mt in the background.

The food at the main restaurant during dinner was very well prepared - the salmon and lamb. Service was superb and staff at the restaurant were very friendly. The head porter was also wonderful - he took us to the Intercity Coach bus stop after our 2 night stay.

However, I do agree that the front desk staff could do with some improvement - if you intend to take the shuttle bus to the ski area, it's best to wait at the steps so you dont miss it. The reception could really be more helpful regarding transport.

I made a complaint on checking out regarding the rudeness of one of the staff who spoke down to us, as if we were uneducated. I decided to point out firmly but politely how rude he was in speaking to us in that manner, telling him that he was the only one who managed to spoil our wonderful stay at the Chateau. I added that during our whole NZ trip we have encountered such wonderful friendly service but it was really unfortunate he managed to be the rotten apple in our encounter during the whole 3 weeks in NZ.

Amazingly, he was profusely apologetic. After that he tried explaining himself and couldnt do enough to appease us, even taking pains to have us wait at the lobby and coming to get us when the transport arrived to take us to the Intercity Coach stop.

However, that incident didnt spoil our lovely stay at the Chateau esp in winter. I looked at some pictures of the mountain during the summer and must say it looks so much prettier in winter.

The lobby is grand in an "old fashioned" sense - however, dont expect lush luxurious very expensive furnishings - I think the word "Chateau" may sometimes be a little misleading. It's a good comfortable place for couples who prefer a peaceful and quieter setting.

We would definitely stay there again - but only in winter because of the snow. I cant comment on the other rooms which we havent seen but the one we had in the new wing facing the mt. was lovely.

  • Stayed: August 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank traveljet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2006

I returned to the Chateau with my husband in May 2006, many years after I had worked there, when she was part of the Tourist Hotel Corporation of New Zealand (owned by the NZ government). Back then, there was a dignified, if faded glory, in evidence: 1990 saw her badly in need of a facelift: much of the furniture was worn, and we were frightened to let guests see us close the the curtains in the main restaurant lest clouds of moths were disturbed!

Fast forward to 2006, and I am so happy that we made the trip to see the old girl, to see how well she has been restored: fresh paint, new carpets and furnishings, but still an air of the Roaring Twenties. The pool is certainly a little basic (feels subterranean!) but is at least different from so many hotel pools (e.g. all glass, and look awful from the outside). The expansion of the hotel has been very sensitively approached, as is necessary given the delicate nature of the Park. Our room was in the new wing, with wonderful views of Ruapehu, a perfect size and beautifully appointed.

The staff could not have been more friendly, attentive and helpful, from front of house, through porterage, wine stewards and restaurant. Aside from the rather sad girl in the less formal restaurant, we couldn't fault them. We ate in the Ruapehu Room (the main restaurant) and loved every morsel.

Absolutely the hotel highlight of a month in NZ, and definitely somewhere we will be looking forward to seeing again.

  • Stayed: May 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ZenoAktagamat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2005

The location of the hotel is great, directly near Mt. Ruapehu. But the hotel itself is old-aged and not worth the money. Most rooms don't have a view to the mountain, the rooms are very small and the service is very unattentiv.

The food in the restaurant is bad as well. They're featuring, that no t-shirts and jeans would be allowed - so we dressed up and were definitely OVERDRESSED.

And the pool is a bad joke.

So, if you just want to go there for skiing it's okay - get the cheapest room available.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ThomasTravelTester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whakapapa
0.2 mi away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
440 reviews
15.5 mi away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
7.7 mi away
Adventure Lodge & Motel
Adventure Lodge & Motel
#1 of 3 in Tongariro National Park
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
The Park Hotel Ruapehu
The Park Hotel Ruapehu
#5 of 9 in National Park Village
341 reviews
7.7 mi away
Plateau Lodge
Plateau Lodge
#1 of 9 in National Park Village
266 reviews
15.7 mi away
Ruapehu Mountain Motel & Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Tongariro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Tongariro Hotel

Address: State Highway 48, Whakapapa, Tongariro National Park 3951, New Zealand (Formerly Bayview Chateau Tongariro)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Tongariro National Park > Whakapapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Whakapapa
Price Range: $132 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau Tongariro Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everything we do at the Chateau Tongariro Hotel we believe in providing you with a timeless elegance. We believe that preserving tradition and history is most important and as the hotel is located within a dual World Heritage National Park, conservation and culture are also at the forefront of your experience. Tongariro National Park provides a stunning natural playground bursting with diverse landscapes for visitors to the Chateau Tongariro to discover. Chateau Tongariro provides accommodation, restaurants, bars and conference facilities and is an all-seasons, utterly timeless experience not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau Tongariro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Chateau Tongariro Hotel Tongariro National Park
Bayview Chateau Tongariro National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing