We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely relaxing weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Whakapapa
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxing weekend”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

My husband and I went to stay at the Chateau on a Thurs and Friday . The weather was perfect and so was the weekend . The Chateau is a lovely hotel which is well maintained. We stayed in the Tongariro wing which was very quiet and comfortable . We had dinner in the main restaurant the first night and found the meal and service excellent . It was quiet and elegant and i enjoyed the back ground music . It was a pity that the singer didnt have much of an audience being a quiet night as he was very good .. The breakfasts were very good with a great choice of dishes and a choice of being able to make your own squeezed juices. The information centre next to the Chateau was very helpful and gave us alot of information on walks in the area .We had dinner in the other restaurant down stairs and again a lovely meal cheaper and more casual but food was still good especially the ribs ! The staff throughout the hotel were very efficient always greeted you with a smile .. we visited the bar down the road down the road for a drink but found it dirty and the food didnt look very nice either . It would be perfect for backpackers in the ski season

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosemary t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    532
    561
    284
    103
    64
See reviews for
275
941
52
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Had a fantastic stay, had the High Afternoon Tea, Lazed in the lounge with fantastic views.Stayed there 50 odd years ago, still has that old world charm, time goes slowly, no screaming pop music, subdued but effective service, a bit slower than you would expect, but in that setting, it didn't seem out of place.
If your wanting a quiet, leisurely stay or a weekend, go for it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Athol-S-M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We decided to see if there was a room available at the Chateau Tongariro seeing how it was mid week and currently the off-season. We were lucky to be offered three different rooms for viewing. We decided on a top floor room in the newer wing with a view of the volcanoes through the trees and it was worth the slight extra cost. The original wing smelled a bit musty but the rooms are slated for renovations later this year.

We took the 'Celebration' package.....one night's accommodation, a three course dinner and buffet breakfast for two. To our delight, this also included a full bottle of champagne, cookies and chocolate fudge. Our room was very comfortable and the supper was a pleasant surprise. Starters (smoked duck breast, pork salad), entree (lamb rack, salmon...both cooked perfectly!) and dessert (citrus pie, chocolate torte). The only downside was the cost of wine....$50 was the cheapest!! so we passed on that item. We did notice that our meal came quite quickly as opposed to the ones ordered off the menu by other guests. Perhaps it pays to take the package. Breakfast had wide assortment of cold and hot items.

Overall, we had a delightful stay, the staff was most accommodating and we lucked in with the weather.....sunny and clear days to appreciated the views of the volcanoes!

Room Tip: Choose a room in the newer wing. The higher floors give you a better view. The cost is about $ 15-2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zekibey2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We only spent 1 night here and really regret not staying longer. It is a charming 1920's French style chateau situated in the most striking mountain scenery. As you enter the hotel it is as though you are transported back in time, with background music to match. The public areas are large with high ceilings and sumptuous chairs and sofas from which to take tea or early evening drinks. The even have their own cinema downstairs. The restaurant decor is a little faded but has much charm.The food was of a good quality. We stayed in the new block at the back of the hotel ( room 903) which was very comfortable , quiet and with very good bathroom facilities ( walk in shower and separate bath). It is a great location for walks and tours and we could easily have spend 3 nights there. I hope that the character of this hotel is maintained!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex UK
Level Contributor
599 reviews
190 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 381 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

On approach the hotel is very impressive if a little incongruous with its surroundings. Inside the hotel has a bit of a strange layout, the lobby/reception area is very small and not what you would expect. We then had to follow a very convoluted route to our room. In the lift the floor numbers are confusing as it refers to an 8th floor but there is no 8th floor!
The room was of a good size with a decent bathroom and a slight view of the mountain. There was a slight cleanliness issue with the bathroom which we mentioned when we went off to do a walk in the park and the guy on reception said he would get housekeeping to deal with it. When we returned nothing had been done and so we went down to reception and the manager himself apologised and offered us a different room on the 8th floor and took us up to look at it. However, rather embarrassingly for him, this room too had a slight cleanliness issue. Eventually, we got an OK room and got settled in.
We had booked the main restaurant for dinner as we had read good reviews for it. However, when we went down to the restaurant it had the most strange atmosphere. As it was dark outside all the curtains had been drawn, there were not that many diners and the atmosphere was so hushed it felt like we had entered a morgue. We decided we could not enjoy our meal in such an oppressive atmosphere and went instead to the Pihanga cafe and bar where we enjoyed a pleasant meal in much more lively surroundings.
As we checked out the next day my husband & I both commented quite coincidentally that the hotel reminded us of the one from the film The Shining!
We found out later that the hotel is still in the process of a big refurbishment and injection of cash, so maybe in time the dining room will be brightened up. I am sure on a lovely summer's evening with the curtains open and having advantage of the fabulous views it is a lovely place to eat.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angel57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papakura, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

On the way up the mountain our group stopped at the Chateau and decided to shout the ladies a high tea. The staff were very slow to take our order, and then had trouble operating the transaction. We waited at a table where nobody bothered to clear away the previous customers plates, cups etc. After a wait of around 40 minutes we asked, where is our high tea?
The High Tea turned up shortly after, and was not to a standard we would expect at the Chateau, very average, if that.
Very disapointing that such an iconic venue can be let down by very poor service.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2014

We arrived early so drove up to the mountain ski resort only to find no snow but rows of idle snow-making machines!! So back to the hotel and a very pleasant room with good views of the distant mountain ranges. The hotel was originally built by the government to entertain foreign dignitaries, not something you expect to find in the middle of nowhere. We had booked dinner which could have been a problem as the code is jacket and tie!! but they managed to overcome their prejudice in favour of customer relations and we had a very pleasant meal. Overall an interesting if somewhat quaint experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malcolm R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whakapapa
0.2 mi away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
428 reviews
15.5 mi away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
7.7 mi away
Adventure Lodge & Motel
Adventure Lodge & Motel
#1 of 3 in Tongariro National Park
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Plateau Lodge
Plateau Lodge
#1 of 9 in National Park Village
252 reviews
15.7 mi away
Ruapehu Mountain Motel & Lodge
16.2 mi away
The Peaks Motor Inn
The Peaks Motor Inn
#2 of 6 in Ohakune
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Tongariro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Tongariro Hotel

Property: Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Address: State Highway 48, Whakapapa, Tongariro National Park 3951, New Zealand (Formerly Bayview Chateau Tongariro)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Tongariro National Park > Whakapapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Whakapapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau Tongariro Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everything we do at the Chateau Tongariro Hotel we believe in providing you with a timeless elegance. We believe that preserving tradition and history is most important and as the hotel is located within a dual World Heritage National Park, conservation and culture are also at the forefront of your experience. Tongariro National Park provides a stunning natural playground bursting with diverse landscapes for visitors to the Chateau Tongariro to discover. Chateau Tongariro provides accommodation, restaurants, bars and conference facilities and is an all-seasons, utterly timeless experience not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau Tongariro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Chateau Tongariro Hotel Tongariro National Park
Bayview Chateau Tongariro National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing