We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed Our Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chateau Tongariro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Whakapapa
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Enjoyed Our Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

We decided to see if there was a room available at the Chateau Tongariro seeing how it was mid week and currently the off-season. We were lucky to be offered three different rooms for viewing. We decided on a top floor room in the newer wing with a view of the volcanoes through the trees and it was worth the slight extra cost. The original wing smelled a bit musty but the rooms are slated for renovations later this year.

We took the 'Celebration' package.....one night's accommodation, a three course dinner and buffet breakfast for two. To our delight, this also included a full bottle of champagne, cookies and chocolate fudge. Our room was very comfortable and the supper was a pleasant surprise. Starters (smoked duck breast, pork salad), entree (lamb rack, salmon...both cooked perfectly!) and dessert (citrus pie, chocolate torte). The only downside was the cost of wine....$50 was the cheapest!! so we passed on that item. We did notice that our meal came quite quickly as opposed to the ones ordered off the menu by other guests. Perhaps it pays to take the package. Breakfast had wide assortment of cold and hot items.

Overall, we had a delightful stay, the staff was most accommodating and we lucked in with the weather.....sunny and clear days to appreciated the views of the volcanoes!

Room Tip: Choose a room in the newer wing. The higher floors give you a better view. The cost is about $ 15-2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zekibey2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    507
    521
    275
    97
    57
See reviews for
261
890
47
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

We only spent 1 night here and really regret not staying longer. It is a charming 1920's French style chateau situated in the most striking mountain scenery. As you enter the hotel it is as though you are transported back in time, with background music to match. The public areas are large with high ceilings and sumptuous chairs and sofas from which to take tea or early evening drinks. The even have their own cinema downstairs. The restaurant decor is a little faded but has much charm.The food was of a good quality. We stayed in the new block at the back of the hotel ( room 903) which was very comfortable , quiet and with very good bathroom facilities ( walk in shower and separate bath). It is a great location for walks and tours and we could easily have spend 3 nights there. I hope that the character of this hotel is maintained!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex UK
Level Contributor
531 reviews
183 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 374 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

On approach the hotel is very impressive if a little incongruous with its surroundings. Inside the hotel has a bit of a strange layout, the lobby/reception area is very small and not what you would expect. We then had to follow a very convoluted route to our room. In the lift the floor numbers are confusing as it refers to an 8th floor but there is no 8th floor!
The room was of a good size with a decent bathroom and a slight view of the mountain. There was a slight cleanliness issue with the bathroom which we mentioned when we went off to do a walk in the park and the guy on reception said he would get housekeeping to deal with it. When we returned nothing had been done and so we went down to reception and the manager himself apologised and offered us a different room on the 8th floor and took us up to look at it. However, rather embarrassingly for him, this room too had a slight cleanliness issue. Eventually, we got an OK room and got settled in.
We had booked the main restaurant for dinner as we had read good reviews for it. However, when we went down to the restaurant it had the most strange atmosphere. As it was dark outside all the curtains had been drawn, there were not that many diners and the atmosphere was so hushed it felt like we had entered a morgue. We decided we could not enjoy our meal in such an oppressive atmosphere and went instead to the Pihanga cafe and bar where we enjoyed a pleasant meal in much more lively surroundings.
As we checked out the next day my husband & I both commented quite coincidentally that the hotel reminded us of the one from the film The Shining!
We found out later that the hotel is still in the process of a big refurbishment and injection of cash, so maybe in time the dining room will be brightened up. I am sure on a lovely summer's evening with the curtains open and having advantage of the fabulous views it is a lovely place to eat.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angel57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papakura, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

On the way up the mountain our group stopped at the Chateau and decided to shout the ladies a high tea. The staff were very slow to take our order, and then had trouble operating the transaction. We waited at a table where nobody bothered to clear away the previous customers plates, cups etc. After a wait of around 40 minutes we asked, where is our high tea?
The High Tea turned up shortly after, and was not to a standard we would expect at the Chateau, very average, if that.
Very disapointing that such an iconic venue can be let down by very poor service.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014

We arrived early so drove up to the mountain ski resort only to find no snow but rows of idle snow-making machines!! So back to the hotel and a very pleasant room with good views of the distant mountain ranges. The hotel was originally built by the government to entertain foreign dignitaries, not something you expect to find in the middle of nowhere. We had booked dinner which could have been a problem as the code is jacket and tie!! but they managed to overcome their prejudice in favour of customer relations and we had a very pleasant meal. Overall an interesting if somewhat quaint experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malcolm R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Ontario
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

-pool is like a dark dank grotto underneath the hotel
-front desk staff glib about rooms 'with a view' I was told: "oh there won't be anything to see today" and then she laughed. A few hours later the clouds cleared and the blue sky was stunning and the volcanos were amazing. No view to be seen? I have been at the National Park before and the weather can change very 5 minutes. Our room faced a utility wall-that was our view.
I understand that not everyone can be accommodated: we all want a 'room with a view', but to be lied to and blown off like that was very unprofessional. A stately Chateaux like that should have the staff and demenour to match. (like the Chateaux's in Canada). Restaurant staff were not of the caliber to match the Chateaux (and prices of meals) One poor woman had her entire entree dumped on her lap. Many people had wrong food served to them. Mistakes with orders, forgotten drinks etc.... This would not be a huge issue normally: but when paying for a premium location/premium service/food it really stood out as being sad.
-rooms are plain but clean
-the great room is lovely: many wonderful areas to sit and relax and enjoy the piano playing.
-would I stay there again? For one night yes to 'experience it'............. if you had the money to spend. Otherwise: stay at the incredible cottages across the street: and have the best view on earth of the volcanos: go over to Chateau for a drink in the great room. Best of both worlds.

Room Tip: I would ask for the manager to have the best chance of an honest response regarding what rooms are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaurieLovestoTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

Stayed in a premium corner room with wonderful views. The $340 deal of a 4 course meal and buffet breakfast was really good value. The chef wrote 'Happy Anniversary' in chocolate on my dessert plate (we were celebrating our 40th) and it was a lovely surprise. The staff were really friendly and helpful. We will definitely be going back and would recommend this for a special occasion.

Room Tip: Go for the best room in the Château - it makes it easier to go down to dinner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CannyKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whakapapa
15.5 mi away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
0.1 mi away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
7.8 mi away
Adventure Lodge & Motel
Adventure Lodge & Motel
#1 of 3 in Tongariro National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Plateau Lodge
Plateau Lodge
#2 of 9 in National Park Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
16.2 mi away
The Peaks Motor Inn
The Peaks Motor Inn
#2 of 6 in Ohakune
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Park Hotel Ruapehu
The Park Hotel Ruapehu
#3 of 9 in National Park Village
3.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Tongariro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Tongariro Hotel

Property: Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Address: State Highway 48, Whakapapa, Tongariro National Park 3951, New Zealand (Formerly Bayview Chateau Tongariro)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Tongariro National Park > Whakapapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Whakapapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau Tongariro Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everything we do at the Chateau Tongariro Hotel we believe in providing you with a timeless elegance. We believe that preserving tradition and history is most important and as the hotel is located within a dual World Heritage National Park, conservation and culture are also at the forefront of your experience. Tongariro National Park provides a stunning natural playground bursting with diverse landscapes for visitors to the Chateau Tongariro to discover. Chateau Tongariro provides accommodation, restaurants, bars and conference facilities and is an all-seasons, utterly timeless experience not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Chateau Tongariro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Chateau Tongariro Hotel Tongariro National Park
Bayview Chateau Tongariro National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing