We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Whakapapa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 19, 2014

I was a little apprensive staying here after the reviews but I have to say it is great. Our bedroom is spacious, bathroom spacious with shower and a bath. The hotel is elegant staff very helpful with a member of staff offering to help with our bags. I agree the food is pricey but attached to hotel is a cafe which is cheaper and very good. Overall I a very impressed with the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheila t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,663)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,045 - 1,051 of 1,663 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2014

We spent a little fortune to stay in a room in the new wing and even got the "celebration package". I have never been that dissappointed about a hotel in that price-class.

Here are the main reasons:
- they put us in the old part of the hotel first being told that was an upgraded room -> we requested the new wing, was a little nicer
- we couldn't use "pool" (it was "under maintenance") -> even if it had been useable, I would have never gotten into that (see pictures!)
- they forgot our "welcome surprise" -> after we asked for it we got a bottle of cheap champagne and a chocolate bar
- fo the transfer to the tour which we booked with them they charged double the price than it cost all other guests on the tour who booked at the nearby campground/hostel

=> we seriously can't recommend this place! It is old, outworn, way to expensive, dirty etc.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anna1105anna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

It's a nice 360 degres view of Tongariro National Park.Try getting a room with a good view. Good breakfast (but for 25NZD) Best location in Tongariro area.
But is an old hotel. Getting rusty, losing its charm. Smells a bit mold. Really bad pool and gym area - actually all this facilities are in old scary basement. And they have a early checkout (10am).
Plus no free internet, no free Breakfast and a old small tv i the room.

Room Tip: Try getting a room with a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GabrielMellin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

A unmanned tent would have provided better service. Why our tour company (G Adventures) should have booked this hotel; other than a misguided idea of "style" is beyond me. We got no help with luggage on arrival, were consigned to the backpacker café for a so called "dinner", were offered incredibly expensive internet access and suffered more indignities that I will not bore you with. The party were mainly successful older (50+) people who had seen the world and should have been welcomed but this hotel just couldn't be bothered (and I was amongst the least disappointed in the party). So many of the other reviews just hit the place so accurately.

Room Tip: Don't go - please spare yourselves the disappointments
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NewRoader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Staying at the Chateau was a last minute decision when facing a 6 hour drive from Rotorua to Wellington. We chose this location based on Trip Advisor but without reading reviews in too much detail nor knowing anything about this property. We knew roughly that it was big, old, and prone to mixed reviews, but apart from that had no preconceptions about what to expect.

Its located in an absolutely stunning part of the north island. When the mists cleared early in the morning the views where phenomenal, the mountains\volcanoes where majestic and at the risk of using a cliché, genuinely took my breath away - completely jaw-dropping.

The hotel itself was surprisingly large for such a remote area. The main lobby area was very big and busy for what I though would be low-season. It turned out that the area is not just for skiing but is also home to some fabulous walks and the property was filled with hikers (trampers?). It was, however, old, very old. Not quite decrepit, but definitely over the line in terms of needing a fresh coat of paint. High teas were flying out of the kitchen, and were very nice when we tried them. Unfortunately, they didn't fly back into the kitchen when finished. Plates and cups were left to fester on tables until some new guests sat down and ordered something. Staff were a little on the amateur side as well, spilling drinks, forgetting orders, etc. That part of the hotel needs a senior manager to oversee things for a few weeks and bring the standards to the main restaurant which again blew us away as much as the views. Excellent service for dinner and breakfast, extensive menus from which to choose food and wine, and all of a very high quality - did not expect to eat so well there.

Our room was the biggest disappointment. As a family, only one room type was offered and it was very, very small, single small bathroom, 1 double and 2 single beds squeezed into a small, dark room. Poor.

By far the best aspect of this hotel is its location in the national park. If I'd known how good it was there, I would have stayed longer, and pressed the hotel on offering better accommodation options. Despite the negatives, it is well worth visiting the park, and the hotel whilst not perfect, is someone I'd happily stay again.

Room Tip: Avoid the family room; get two separate rooms as a minimum.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheClairvoyant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We booked a room specifically in the New Wing. On arrival we were given a room in the old part of the Hotel which we were told was an upgraded room. This room was tired and dated. We therefore requested to be re-allocated into the room that we had originally booked, whcih was much better.

Dinner in the restaurant was very good and value for money, the staff were excellent.

Room Tip: Book the New Wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank quicksteptodance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Not too often I feel sufficiently disappointed to write a review but the staff at this hotel are a throw-back to the UK of the 1970s (for examples read the opening chapter to Bill Bryson's Notes from a Small Island or any Fawlty Towers episode).

We had the temerity to arrive 90 minutes before our room was ready and were made to feel as though we had disrupted a carefully choreographed episode of the League of Gentlemen, when asking if it might be possible to check in early, the response was a precise but terse "No", and no alternative, such as a concierge service so we could usefully utilise those precious minutes was offered.

It has to be said that the weather was somewhat inclement but no more than might be expected of a moorland, I feel this is unlikely to account for the feeling that the hotel is a home for terminally depressed waiting staff.

Slightly unfair on the hotel itself as this maintains a disturbing combination of post-WWII austerity-era décor and a Shining-like faded grandeur.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HumanTraffic0863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whakapapa
0.2 mi away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
451 reviews
15.5 mi away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
7.7 mi away
Adventure Lodge & Motel
Adventure Lodge & Motel
#1 of 3 in Tongariro National Park
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
The Park Hotel Ruapehu
The Park Hotel Ruapehu
#4 of 9 in National Park Village
350 reviews
7.7 mi away
Plateau Lodge
Plateau Lodge
#1 of 9 in National Park Village
276 reviews
0 mi away
Tongariro Adventures
Tongariro Adventures
#4 of 9 in Tongariro National Park
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Tongariro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Tongariro Hotel

Address: State Highway 48, Whakapapa, Tongariro National Park 3951, New Zealand (Formerly Bayview Chateau Tongariro)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Tongariro National Park > Whakapapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Whakapapa
Price Range: $125 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau Tongariro Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everything we do at the Chateau Tongariro Hotel we believe in providing you with a timeless elegance. We believe that preserving tradition and history is most important and as the hotel is located within a dual World Heritage National Park, conservation and culture are also at the forefront of your experience. Tongariro National Park provides a stunning natural playground bursting with diverse landscapes for visitors to the Chateau Tongariro to discover. Chateau Tongariro provides accommodation, restaurants, bars and conference facilities and is an all-seasons, utterly timeless experience not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Fastbooking, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chateau Tongariro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Chateau Tongariro Hotel Tongariro National Park
Bayview Chateau Tongariro National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing