We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A tick on the Bucket List!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chateau Tongariro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Whakapapa
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A tick on the Bucket List!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Ever since I was a kid, I dreamed of staying here. Well last year I finally did it, and I could not believe how inexpensive it was. This time I bought my partner with me, and it was like being in a different era. Nestled into one of their great armchairs in the lounge, drinking a beer, reading a book, with live piano music - I felt like I was in the 1930's. However, the service and food were definitely 21st century.

Room Tip: Definitely worth getting a Premium Room in the Tongariro Wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HamishLink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    507
    521
    275
    97
    57
See reviews for
261
890
47
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gold coast, qld
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights with the intention of snowboarding every day. Due to the volatile, unpredictable nature of Mt Ruapehu I boarded for 1 day only! If it wasn't for this hotel, I would have gone insane. Instead we did bush walks, enjoyed the facilities (spa etc, gym is only really for cardio), visited Ohakune as recommended by staff and also went to the war museum. On the other 2 days we just lounged around enjoying the grand room fireplaces, eating, playing snooker, drinking whiskey and enjoying the amazing views of Ngarahoe- at nights there was a great pianist entertaining in the same room. The buffet breakfast was incredible and we had dinner in the main room 1 night while we were there (expensive but definitely worth the experience). There are actually a few little cafes to dine in and a pub down the road which gives you dining options outside the chateau. We also snuck into the cinema room downstairs where they play mainly kids movies each night- very nice touch. Highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: The superior spa suite we had was fantastic and had plenty of space with a separate lounge. I would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FSGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our night stay in this hotel. The room was large & the bed was overly comfortable.
Breakfast was divine & we could not fault the staff in any way.
Highly recommended for either a short term or long term visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SingleMaltMan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

We decided to book for Sunday lunch at the Chateau and it was absolutely fantastic.

Arrived an hour early and enjoyed a couple of reasonably priced drinks whilst watching the mountains through the extremely large windows, completely stunning. The pianist was fantastic and really added to the whole experience, a far cry from the hustle & bustle of the ski fields up the mountain.

The Sunday lunch was exceptional, starters, main, dessert & cheese board all top quality and remarkably well priced at just $29 per head. The staff are friendly, warm & incredibly polite. The dining room is well presented and clean and offers amazing views.

Honestly well worth taking a look if you are in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dugstor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Location and first impression is great. But later you have to bring your bags and yourselves to the room... Yes , the friendly staff will assist you, but if there is a group arriving , not everybody will get the assist and the way is long , sometimes narrow and stairs are inevitable. The restaurant and lobby are impressive, but rooms are not. Rather small with basic comfort level. Prices are of the lobby level- impressive, so you leave the place being happy of the perfect location but without desire to return.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Magad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

We booked on line for a two night stay with a mountain view room. We drove down from west Auckland, looked around lake Taupo as we had not been there for over 50 years, lots of changes but beautiful. On arrival at the Chateau we were greeted by very friendly staff who gave information on attractions in area the showed us to our room. What a room, what a view we were absolutely blown away, beautiful bed, fire place, long luxurious drapes and a big bathroom. After settling in we had a wonderful dinner and next morning went up the mountain to Whakapapa ski field This was amazing so went up on ski lift as far as we could go and had a light lunch. Back to the Chateau for a wonderful dinner. German waitress was so charming and made it a memorable occasion. Beautiful breakfast and then Bach home to west Auckland and reality. 5 stars to the excellent service and just the ambience of the whole stay, we felt special :-)

Room Tip: Gat a room with mountain view, it's worth it. OUR TRIP WAS 2005 please note..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arthur C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

We enjoyed our first ever stay at the Chateau recently and on the whole thoroughly enjoyed it. The small niggles we had could easily be improved. These included a lukewarm 'hot' pool, and not being asked whether we planned on eating in the restaurant that evening, thereby being denied a table when it came time to eat due to it being fully booked. As a result we ended up dining in their Piranha cafe which had unjustifiably slow service and absolutely no ambiance whatsoever.

A couple of the Reception staff chose formality over friendliness - that was at the time of check-in, however the ones we encountered at check out the next day were great.
Our room was warm, roomy and comfortable and we thoroughly enjoyed sitting in the lounge area listening to the evening pianist and unwinding.

There are cheaper places to stay but there's a sense of history about the Chateau that does make it unique and I am pleased I finally got the chance to stay there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whakapapa
15.5 mi away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
0.1 mi away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
7.8 mi away
Adventure Lodge & Motel
Adventure Lodge & Motel
#1 of 3 in Tongariro National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Plateau Lodge
Plateau Lodge
#2 of 9 in National Park Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
16.2 mi away
The Peaks Motor Inn
The Peaks Motor Inn
#2 of 6 in Ohakune
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Park Hotel Ruapehu
The Park Hotel Ruapehu
#3 of 9 in National Park Village
3.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Tongariro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Tongariro Hotel

Property: Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Address: State Highway 48, Whakapapa, Tongariro National Park 3951, New Zealand (Formerly Bayview Chateau Tongariro)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Tongariro National Park > Whakapapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Whakapapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau Tongariro Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everything we do at the Chateau Tongariro Hotel we believe in providing you with a timeless elegance. We believe that preserving tradition and history is most important and as the hotel is located within a dual World Heritage National Park, conservation and culture are also at the forefront of your experience. Tongariro National Park provides a stunning natural playground bursting with diverse landscapes for visitors to the Chateau Tongariro to discover. Chateau Tongariro provides accommodation, restaurants, bars and conference facilities and is an all-seasons, utterly timeless experience not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Chateau Tongariro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Chateau Tongariro Hotel Tongariro National Park
Bayview Chateau Tongariro National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing