We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$47
$39
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Park Hotel(National Park Village)
$66
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Adventure Lodge & Motel(Tongariro National Park)(Great Value!)
$68
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$163
$159
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Peaks Motor Inn(Ohakune)(Great Value!)
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ohakune Court Motel(Ohakune)(Great Value!)
$68
$64
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Tussock Grove Boutique Hotel(Ohakune)(Great Value!)
$111
$74
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anglers Paradise Motel(Turangi)(Great Value!)
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rainbow Motel(Tokaanu)(Great Value!)
$78
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,799)
Filter reviews
1,799 results
Traveler rating
588
661
340
136
74
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
588
661
340
136
74
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshigh teachateau tongariroold world charmruapehu roomnew wingmain restaurantgrand old ladynew zealandpihanga cafenational parkafternoon teasconespiano playerdining roomcelebration packagelounge areaplunge pool
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,231 - 1,236 of 1,799 reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Keeping its original charm this place ensures that your weekend away is spent enjoying the ski fields or just relaxing. Beautiful location.
The hotel caters for everyone, you can go down into the bar or have a gorgeous meal in the restaurant..even a game of pool in the tavern.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SW83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The Chateau is getting old. In summer, very quiet... I gues in winter time (ski time), very busy and cosy with the fire place and the old seats & chairs.
Room was clean and nice. Breakfast quite OK.
But yes, a little overpriced. I guess you pay for the unique location...

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fiendejonghe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I love that place. It might be a bit outdated, but it was up to all expectations we had. Our Kids felt great. They enjoyed everything: the room, the breakfast buffet, the dinner buffet, the cinema, the tiny pool, the sauna, the main hall with the fire and last but not least the overwhelming view. We want to come back and we hope it will still be the same old and charmy hotel. Not to Forget: the staff is very friendly and the prices are quite competitive. The have a children's menu in all their restaurants. Internet access is not free, but ok as far as speed goes. You still have to buy the access in small chunks. They could improve on this one.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter Henri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

I have just returned from a 4 night stay with my family at The Chateau.

Firstly this is in a fantastic location with a 6km drive to the Whakapapa ski field in the heart of the National Park. The building is imposing and it does remind one of the hotel in The Shining.

The decor of this hotel is very outdated and it really could do with a total refurbishment.It is stuck in a 1970's time warp. The grand sitting room does afford brilliant views of the mountains and it is a comfortable place enough to enjoy a glass of wine. There is a snooker table which was in excellent condition.

We booked a family room which was extremely small and pokey.It really didn't come up to scratch. The room was not cleaned on 2 days of our stay. The bathroom was very small.There was no minibar and the inhouse menu was extremely limited.

There is a small cinema which my children enjoyed but it is nothing more than a converted room with a few chairs and sofas put in place.It does show a good selection of movies but these are not new releases.

The is no swimming pool in this hotel.There is a facility in the basement which is a plunge pool with a sauna but this was very cold and was dreadfully lit.

We had several meals at The T-Bar which were only OK and the carvery which was truly disgusting.I was extremely disappointed with the standard of food.

The staff were very pleasant and a credit to deal with.Very helpful in all respects.

It is interesting when you speak to a lot of Kiwis as we did on our return.They are of the view that once you stay at The Chateau you will not go back.I will not be returning here.

Very very disappointed with the quality and standard of this hotel. It is in dire need of investment and modernization whilst maintaining its unique character and ambience.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BillMcA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel for our anniversary and paid for a premium room. On arrival we were shown our (tiny) room and obviously questioned whether this was the room we paid for, on questioning we were told it was, due to the size of the bed that was in it- although the website says you get that sized bed in the standard room!! Other issues we had were the pool and spa being unaccessable despite no mention of this on booking. This was a major draw card for booking the hotel as we had spent an exhausting day skiing!

We also chose to have the buffet dinner, which although tasted ok, was cold, even though we booked for 7pm, which we didn't see as late!

Overall, we were pretty disappointed with the experience and for $250 expected more....I understand they have the monopoly on hotels in the area, but it's no excuse to charge more than its worth!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sallie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews