We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“To be avoided”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Whakapapa
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“To be avoided”
Reviewed April 27, 2012

By booking at the "Chateau" we were expecting an nice experience. Our ridiculously priced room was way off in a back extension with a view of the roof. The restaurant would not accept us dressed with sandals - we are at a hiking and skiing location(!) Our rooms were with breakfast included and it was absolutely disgusting. Bacon and scrambled eggs style - nothing healthy. Hard bread, without any wheat or grains and the only cheese I could find was the processed kind. I actually felt like I was eating in some diner in the united states.

I visited the pool and sauna. I last a couple minutes in the pool and felt the roof was closing in - I think the area may have been a former dungeon.

While we were told that they were the only place to make sandwiches to bring along for a hike, we chose to try out the cafe across the road in the morning. Decent choices and not overpriced.

The local pub down the street was the best place to be. The managers and staff were the most friendly and very efficient AND the food was actually GOOD.

Room Tip: Do waste money on the so-called premium room. You will be stashed off to a cover with a roof view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janice0333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauMgr, Manager at Chateau Tongariro Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Dear Janice
Thank you for your feedback with regards to your recent stay at Chateau Tongariro.

I am sorry that you were disappointed with your stay.

We do review our breakfast selection on a regular basis and providing grain bread is definitely an option and we will put this in place. We do have cereals, fruit and other continental options for a lighter and more healthy alternative. However we will put some thought into this as we change the selection regularly.

Out takeaway lunch option offered for those doing the walks in the park is for the convenience of our guests that are keen to hit the trails early. We will remind the staff to advise our guests of the local options for those wanting to select their own lunch options. Fergussons is definitely a good choice, plus you can get your early morning espresso boost there as well.

Our pool is quite small with a low roof. Our long term plan is to develop this area possibly into a grotto to give it some more character.

Once again than you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    540
    564
    290
    105
    65
See reviews for
285
945
52
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

Attracted by the publicity we decided to have High Tea at the Chateau. As we were staying in Turangi it was but a 30 minute drive to the mountain. Whilst there we took the opportunity to go to the Top of the Bruce carpark for a look see. If anyone wants to see what a desolate moonsscape or the land on Mars then visit Mt Ruapehu in summer because it is a very desolate environment. It was hard to imagine how the change comes over the area in winter when the whole area is a blanket of white snow.

Back to the Chateau. The hotel exudes Ye Olde Worlde Charm and we partook tea in the main lounge looking out over the golf course to Mt Ngaruahoe ( Mt Doom form the Lord of the Rings films). The day was lovely and fine clear views abounded for miles.

Tea comprised traditional little sandwiches ( cucumber, egg and parsley and soked salmon and cream cheese). There were a couple of each type. Petit fours ( small cakes) consisted of scone and jam with whipped cream. chocolate eclair, chocolate truffle, lemon cake and a custard millefieulle. Very English and very traditional. Then came the clincher tea served in a STAINLESS STEEL pot and there was only enough for one cup. All the other crockery was china. It was a very disappointing feature that ensures that we wont bother to return again. At around $45 per couple we felt that the hotel should have provided tea in a china pot and as they used tea bags they could have provided enough tea for a second cup at least.
Posh should have been but wasnt.

Room Tip: If partaking in high tea ensure that you are getting the full china service and at least enough tea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank beanb41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauMgr, Manager at Chateau Tongariro Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding our High Tea at Chateau Tongariro.

I am sorry that you were disappointed during your visit. We are in the process of reviewing our High Tea menu selection. It is definitely a more traditional offering. Having tea in a china tea pot is most definitely preferable and we have some more pots on the way.

Once again thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012

The Chateau Tongariro was a special experience for my wife and me. We stayed two nights, booked the sentimental journey as dignified ending of our NZ journey. We have stayed in many chateaux in Europe, we know that Chateau Tongariro is on a different level, but we made so many experience you wish not to during a sentimental journey.

Starting with the arrival: Altough 3 person were standing behind and around the reception, nobody felt helping my wife carrying her suitcase up the stairs. As I entered the reception hall, the woman who did our check-in was not even able to welcome me.

Our room was old-fashioned and had this muggy smell, although we had a superior room. In our bathroom the windows had cobwebs and all over you could find areas which simply haven't been cleaned properly for a long time. The bed has not more than a standard mattress.

Most irritating was the missing hospitality of some of the service employees. Some of them were rude and even more they haven't had any sense to handling guest correctly neither they had a sense for humor.

The dinner was delicious - in contrary to the breakfast which was pretty simple.

The pool is just a joke!

Nevertheless the Chateau would actually have a great potential - the building is lovely but so many things would need to be changed that we could really enjoy the proposed sentimental journey.

PS: To the management: Have a look at the Castell, what you could do with a time-honored building with great service - www.hotelcastell.ch

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cako2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauMgr, Manager at Chateau Tongariro Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Thank you for your comments with regards to your recent stay.

I am sorry that the standards were below your expectations. Service is critical in our industry and I am disappointed that it fell short for you on this visit. I have discussed this with our staff and we will reiterate this in our future and on going training.

Our housekeepers have been busily working on a spring clean so all those cobwebs have been dealt with and will continue to do so. Our beds are hotelier standard with sleepy head topper pads, our housekeeper has been through the rooms to ensure the toppers are present on all the beds. I do apologise if this was not the case in your room.

Once again thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

We stayed a weekend in april 2012 in this hotel. If you come in to the lounge of the hotel it has that amazing character. We had our breakfast and one diner also included. The food was really nice and really a high standard.

The hotel room was not so nice it was room 221 and it needed a upgrade the rooms where not 4 stars worth. I travelled around and stayed a lot better rooms than this hotel had. It is more 3 stars. The bathroom is really old and the shower is for litle people.

Room Tip: ask for a room in the new wing build in 2005.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moira13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Dinner at the Chateau is something else! Fabulous food; exquisite elegant decor, excellent service. if you get there during daylight hours you can sit in the Ngauruhoe Room and look at the fantastic views. If you just want a coffee you will get the same wondewrful service. i dined there tiwce last year and was really impressed both times.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bushgirl59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

had an enjoyable stay for two nights. Staff were lovely. Just thought it was a little in need of a revamp.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alphen aan den Rijn, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

The service from the reception and in the lounge was great - as soon as you sit down someone will aks you if they can light the fireplace for you ! The view from the sitting area is beautiful. The rooms are not big but adequate and very clean. The restaurant served a very tasteful dinner with good wine and I liked the dress code as a welcome change from the thermal wear we used on the Tongariro Crossing. The food in the Pihanga Cafe was also good and less expensive.
Thanks to the reception to encourage me to do the Tongariro Crossing, even though the weather was bad and we did not see as much as we wanted to, the experience was worth it.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vkxNederland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whakapapa
0.2 mi away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
435 reviews
15.5 mi away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
7.7 mi away
Adventure Lodge & Motel
Adventure Lodge & Motel
#1 of 3 in Tongariro National Park
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Plateau Lodge
Plateau Lodge
#1 of 9 in National Park Village
255 reviews
15.7 mi away
Ruapehu Mountain Motel & Lodge
7.7 mi away
The Park Hotel Ruapehu
The Park Hotel Ruapehu
#4 of 9 in National Park Village
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Tongariro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Tongariro Hotel

Property: Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Address: State Highway 48, Whakapapa, Tongariro National Park 3951, New Zealand (Formerly Bayview Chateau Tongariro)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Tongariro National Park > Whakapapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Whakapapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau Tongariro Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everything we do at the Chateau Tongariro Hotel we believe in providing you with a timeless elegance. We believe that preserving tradition and history is most important and as the hotel is located within a dual World Heritage National Park, conservation and culture are also at the forefront of your experience. Tongariro National Park provides a stunning natural playground bursting with diverse landscapes for visitors to the Chateau Tongariro to discover. Chateau Tongariro provides accommodation, restaurants, bars and conference facilities and is an all-seasons, utterly timeless experience not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau Tongariro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Chateau Tongariro Hotel Tongariro National Park
Bayview Chateau Tongariro National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing