We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning room with stunning views.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Whakapapa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Recently enjoyed a superb two night stay in a Superior room on an excellent value 'Celebrations Package'.
The room was the most spacious hotel room we have ever experienced - virtually a suite in itself- with an equally large modern bathroom and adjoining dressing alcove. The room had been renovated and all fittings including TV and sound system were new and modern.
The view from the large picture window looking directly at Mt.Ruapehu was spectacular.
The 'Chateau' has so much 'old world charm' and character but has all the services expected in a contemporary hotel. The food and service in the dining room at dinner was outstanding.
The ambience at breakfast, especially if there are coach groups staying in the hotel, can be a little less relaxed and the buffet offerings could be a little more sophisticated.
After some days of trekking this was a well earned bit of luxury to get recharged.
Overall a wonderful and memorable experience.

Room Tip: Look for packages and upgrades to Superior rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Errol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,661)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,304 - 1,310 of 1,661 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2012

We stayed here back in 2005 and found it incredibly romantic and "old world". We had a nice room, enjoyed drinks in the main lobby area, and ate a delicious dinner in the restaurant. It has the look and feel of a proper old hotel - think The Shining during peak season, minus the scary stuff! This is one of a kind!

We returned in Jan 2012 and were dismayed at how much it's gone downhill. First of all, what the heck is "Bayview"? This is obviously the company that bought the hotel but why is the name first in all of their branding? No one know who they are. It's like someone buying the Waldorf-Astoria and renaming it. The brand (The Chateau) is famous! Work with that!

It appears that Bayview has done little or nothing to improve the place. Gone was the wonderful bar staff wandering through the lobby taking drink orders. Instead we had a lonely kid behind the bar and an almost empty lobby -- what a waste!! Put some music on, hire some staff, turn on some lights for atmosphere! The lobby is the BEST part of the hotel and it's a completely missed opportunity! We wanted to sit and enjoy the ambience like we did in 2005 - and pay for some drinks! - but it was so quiet and empty we just went back to our room!

I've read some reviews on here about the refurbished rooms -- this makes me glad, as that was going to be my next comment. We obviously didn't get one of those rooms, but I'm pleased they're doing renovations. Our room was spacious but very outdated.

(TIP: Get wifi! No one wants to plug in their computer anymore.)

We ordered room service and it was just as good as the last time - so they're definitely doing the food right. We wandered through a maze of hallways and stairs to find the little bar that another reviewer complained about - it was pretty shabby and had a real "basement" feel. I hope this is on the list of refurbishments!

The service was good, and I'd love to go back. But it's sad that the hotel isn't doing more to maximise what an incredibly beautiful, historic property this is. Open up a café on the roof - it's this big bare expanse of wasted space! Market it as a premiere skiing and hiking destination! They're barely in the 3-star category! There's so much they could be doing. Instead, the only change I saw was the name "Bayview" added to all of the same old menus and brochures. Clunky and lazy!

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlueKitsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

We got a nice refurbished standard room with a king size bed. The room is quite spacious. It's weird that they did not replace a small and old TV. Coffee/Tea maker with a small refrigerator in a nice built in cabinet. Hair dyer in the bathroom. The bathroom is spacious too. Water pressure from the shower is not the best. The mattress is on the soft side but still okay. There's a wired internet. Did not look at the charges as we had no time to browse the internet. Free parking. Had dinner at Pihanga Cafe which is adjacent to the hotel. The food and service were good and the price was reasonable. Overall we will go back if we can stay in their refurbished room. Many reviews here complained about how dingy and old the rooms were. We're glad we got a nice refurbished standard room. Not sure if you can ask for one. Maybe it's worth asking.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank World Passport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauMgr, Manager at Chateau Tongariro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2012

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay.

We are in the process of replacing all our TV's in the Ruapehu Wing (Original) of the hotel. These should be up in all the rooms very soon, we are just having to make a few changes to the cabnets they are sitting on, as with anything new they dont fit on the old cabnet.

Internet connections in the guest rooms is something we are in the process of reviewing at the moment. We do have wireless internet in the lobby of the hotel.

We are glad you enjoyed your refurbished room. We are in the process of doing a soft refurb in the Ruapehu Wing and hope to have this completed in the near future. The last of the new carpet is going into the public areas of this wing this week.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

Located ideally in the national park as well as great food in the restaurant. From a distance, it seems to be a very nice hotel. However, if you enter, you soon notice that it is an old hotel that needs an entire renovation. Not only in the lounge (e.g. the curtains) but especially the rooms need an update to 2012! Very old bathroom with no internet access in the room. Bottomline: do a makeover (even if that would require a closure of the hotel for some months) as they have done in the hermitage hotel (also an old hotel) in Mount Cook NP.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauMgr, Manager at Chateau Tongariro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2012

Thank you for your trip advisor review:

We are currently in the process of doing a soft refurbishment at the hotel. A quick update on what we are doing:- Carpet is being laid at present in the public areas of the original wing. New TV's have arrived and are being installed over the next few weeks. Level 3 of the original wing has had new curtains and bedspreads installed and we will follow through to level 2 & 1 over the next few months. Bathroom refurbishment is in our long term plan.

We have had some great feedback about the soft refurbishment, and will keep people up to date via our facebook and web page.

Once again thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

lovely old hotel with new carpet everywhere. great staff.
Had a memorable meal in their resturant. one of the best on our trip. We were very surprised as we have found hotel resturants rarely very good.
The duck wanton was to die for.
Eat in the main dinning room. dress code is a s.hirt with a collar and shoes,not hard to do.
The room we had was recently done up and in very good condition
For what you got the food was a good value and not pricey.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewZealandWino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2012

Just stayed one night in this lovely early 20th century NZ icon of a hotel. We were expecting a bit of a tired 'old lady' but instead was greeted by a totally 21st century hotel with a taste of elegance rarely found these days. Greeted by the concierge on arrival, the reception staff made us feel very welcome and our standard room in the newer Tongariro Wing (built to match the original Ruapehu Wing) was exceptional. The room was large, bed and pillows extremely comfortable, deep bath and separate shower. All very clean and not at all tired looking. The view from the room was over the carpark to Tongariro in the distance (obscured by cloud unfortunately)
We ate in the Pihanga Cafe which has an internal entrance from the hotel as well as a roadside entrance. They were busy on what I understand was a quiet night in the village but the food was excellent value. We didn't try the more formal dining room as we weren't travelling with the required dress code. However we did have a nightcap in the elegant Ruapehu Lounge with its roaring log fire and musician, nicely old-fashioned. There is also a billiard table in the lounge for the use of guests. Our only reason for not giving this 5 stars is the need for more staff in the lounge. High tea and refreshments are served but the tables are not cleared until our order had arrived. The lounge looked messy during the afternoon. Also the need to go to the bar to order whereas a roving waiter would keep the lounge tidy and take orders which I am sure might increase sales as a lot of guests just sit and take in the view.
Would definitely stay again though.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Retirees2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

The rooms are a bit worn and old. Not as clean as it should be but that may be because of the age of the place. The main dining room is pricey and has a dress code. Skip it and eat at their cafe. Good food and better prices.


  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jstm58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whakapapa
0.2 mi away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
451 reviews
15.5 mi away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
7.7 mi away
Adventure Lodge & Motel
Adventure Lodge & Motel
#1 of 3 in Tongariro National Park
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
The Park Hotel Ruapehu
The Park Hotel Ruapehu
#4 of 9 in National Park Village
350 reviews
7.7 mi away
Plateau Lodge
Plateau Lodge
#1 of 9 in National Park Village
276 reviews
0 mi away
Tongariro Adventures
Tongariro Adventures
#4 of 9 in Tongariro National Park
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Tongariro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Tongariro Hotel

Address: State Highway 48, Whakapapa, Tongariro National Park 3951, New Zealand (Formerly Bayview Chateau Tongariro)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Tongariro National Park > Whakapapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Whakapapa
Price Range: $125 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau Tongariro Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everything we do at the Chateau Tongariro Hotel we believe in providing you with a timeless elegance. We believe that preserving tradition and history is most important and as the hotel is located within a dual World Heritage National Park, conservation and culture are also at the forefront of your experience. Tongariro National Park provides a stunning natural playground bursting with diverse landscapes for visitors to the Chateau Tongariro to discover. Chateau Tongariro provides accommodation, restaurants, bars and conference facilities and is an all-seasons, utterly timeless experience not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chateau Tongariro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Chateau Tongariro Hotel Tongariro National Park
Bayview Chateau Tongariro National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing