We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Whakapapa
Certificate of Excellence
Whanganui, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Memorable”
Reviewed March 23, 2011

Had a very memorable stay, very helpful staff who were always friendly & had a welcoming smile. A very enjoyable weekend. Look forward to the next time

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mw66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    540
    565
    291
    105
    65
See reviews for
285
947
52
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brampton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2011

My husband and I stayed at this hotel as part of an anniversary trip and decided to splurge on accomodation since we planned on doing the crossing. At $250/night incl. breakfast (which in my opinion was uneventful and nothing beyond a continental meal), we expected the hospitality that would go with that price tag. Well, we didn't get it. We are not picky travellers but we don't like being taken advantage of. As soon as we checked in we were told that the crossing for the next day was closed due to weather conditions. You can imagine our disappointment but did not blame the hotel at all. But did blame the hotel when they were not helpful at all in making suggestions of what to do instead. We later found out (and did) another intense hike but not due to their help at all. They were uncooperative and didn't want to entertain spending time helping the guests. We had prepaid for 2 nights and asked if we could leave the next day and they promptly told us no, not even engaging in conversation about it. I know there are "rules" and that they are stated on the website, blah blah blah. However, having relatives who are in the hotel business, these rules can be bent with personal consideration. Having said that, we ended up staying the 2 nights as we did a beautiful 6 hour hike to the Upper and Lower Tamas Lakes. The beds were wonderful, I must say that.........though we did get woken up on the second night at 4 am in the morning due to the fire alarm. So there we were, all 100 guests on the front lawn of the hotel waiting for an hour only to find out it was a sprinkler issue and there was no danger. That was icing on the cake. Did I mention that for $250/night, the water in the bar is $5/bottle? ludicrous especially when you can go across the street and buy the same bottle for $3. We've stayed at $99/night accomodations that were gracious enough to give us water. B/c we felt cheated by the hotel, we refused to have any other meals there and went to the local bar and the neighbouring skotel. The hotel is a nice landmark but the rooms are nothing special (we stayed in the upgraded wing). The pool was a joke, it was in the cellar where the ceilings were at 5ft. tall. The fitness room was embarrasing. I understand that it is an old building and that there are limitations to upgrading....then don't charge me that much.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank dmgirl66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2011

We should have stayed at a B&B in town but when we made our plans, we thought this was one of our only choices if we wanted a convenient place to do the Tongariro Crossing. There are other choices in town. This was opened in 1929 and you can tell it must have been grand at that time. It is old and worn and needs a major facelift. The furniture in the room was old but it was clean. However, our room room was not worth what we paid for it. They are to begin rennovations this year.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jsr6961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewHotels, Public Relations Manager at Chateau Tongariro Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2011
Thank you jsr6961 for taking the time to review your stay at Bayview Chateau Tongariro. A room refurbishment is planned for 2011 on the original wing rooms which we hope will lift the image of these rooms. The Bayview Chateau Tongariro is a historic hotel and does require a lot of love and attention which is continually ongoing. We do hope that if you are able to experience the hotel again in the future, you will notice an improvement from your last stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2011

Relative to everywhere else that we stayed in New Zealand over 4 weeks, this hotel was completely out of step in terms of service, friendliness and a genuine welcome. When booking in, the receptionist didn’t really want to know: surly would be too polite a description. The porter stood by and watched us struggle up the compulsory flight of stairs without so much as a comment. We could go on in this vein. We would have filed this TripAdvisor report whilst still at the hotel but NZ$29 for 24 hours access to wi-fi?. Get real Bayview. If you do find yourself staying here do try dining at The Station at National Park Village (15min drive)

Don’t be fooled into thinking that this hotel is your only option for walking the Crossing. If you stay in Turangi, your journey might be a little longer to start the walk, but the location offers so much more in terms of amenities and activities.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Were-rabbit101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewHotels, Public Relations Manager at Chateau Tongariro Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2011
Thank you Were-rabbit101 for taking the time to review your stay at Bayview Chateau Tongariro. Management is addressing the staffing issues that you experienced. This is not the standard that is expected of the hotel's employees and measures will be put in place to lift the standards. In regards to the wi-fi, these services are being reviewed and the hotel hopes to supply free wi-fi in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
59 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2011

We stayed in Chateau Tongariro for a couple days in July 2010. Unfortunately, apart from the absolutely amazing location, there are no other positive memories. Old décor and cold rooms. we begged for electric heater, just to be told that due to the high number of visitors no heaters are available! The central heating was barely warm. We tried to have pre-dinner cocktails in the lobby, but struggle to get any attention from the wait staff and no one paid any attention to the glasses and cups on the table after previous guests.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kermadek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewHotels, Public Relations Manager at Chateau Tongariro Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2011
Thank you kermadek for taking the time to review your stay at Bayview Chateau Tongariro. Your comments are valuable to the hotel and are always used to improve service standards. The hotel is heated off a central boiler system in the public areas and original part of the hotel and this heats the hotel through water 'fin' heaters. Apologies if you feel there was not enough warmth within the hotel on the day of your stay. The hotel is always looking at how it can provide better energy efficient heating and hopes to make improvements to these systems in coming years. We do hope that if you choose to stay with again in the future, that you will see noticeable changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2011

We arrived on a stormy bleak afternoon and on a whim decided to stay in Whakapapa (the weather was really too bad to continue on). The hotel knocked 20% off the room rate for a last minute walk in which made it good value for us ($160 aud for a family room). The hotel is old and gracious and needs a bit of a refurb but the sheer elegance and grandeur was part of the experience. The room we had was spacious, a queen bed and 2 singles and still plenty of space, and a spotlessly clean bathroom with a bath you could swim laps in. THe hotel is great just to wander around, lots of long corridors and nooks and crannies, the kids thought it was great fun! The pool area is unusual, it is in the basement and feels like you are swimming in an underground cave, but I can imagine after a day on the slopes a dip in the beautifully warm water would be perfect There is also a cinema that shows about 4 movies a day (free!). We ate at the Pihanga restaraunt, the kids meals were average but my main meal was very impressive and again good value for money. We retired to the magnificent library at the front of the hotel after dinner and listened to the pianist and watched the cyclonic wind and rain for a while before heading to bed. Buut the biggest delight came at 7.30 the next morning when I pulled back the drapes to see brilliant sunshine and the most magnificent views from our room. At the hotels suggestion we headed to the little cafe across the road for an inexpensive delicious brekky before a walk around the highest golf couse in NZ.
The hotel is due for an upgrade later in the year but really we loved it just the way it was. The carpets may be a bit worn, but the atmosphere and surrounds can't be beaten. Best of all, unlike the Australian ski resort hotels, the cost is the same regardless of the season. So we are heading to Whakapapa this season for a bit of nostalgia and a great ski holiday.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lulu1269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford on Avon
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2011

We did not stay in the hotel but in the self contained apartments attached to the hotel. To be fair they were only classified 2 star and were cergtainly no better than that. The villa was really quite tired: the cooker came ot of the ark and the heater on the wall was rusty. It is not essential that the water taps are the same but it does look bad and is symtomatic of the general condition of the units. However, there were pluses- a lovely garden and wonderful views,free laundry and drying facilities and a great location in the National Park. Also you can use the facilities of the hotel and we enjoyed a good meal in the hotel restaurant.,BUT- beware of the horrendous internet charges. We paid NZ $30 for 24 hours use. The Fergusson cafe sells internet cards which are a much cheaper option.
Overall the pluses just about exceed the negatives

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jintz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whakapapa
0.2 mi away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
435 reviews
15.5 mi away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
7.7 mi away
Adventure Lodge & Motel
Adventure Lodge & Motel
#1 of 3 in Tongariro National Park
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Plateau Lodge
Plateau Lodge
#1 of 9 in National Park Village
255 reviews
15.7 mi away
Ruapehu Mountain Motel & Lodge
7.7 mi away
The Park Hotel Ruapehu
The Park Hotel Ruapehu
#4 of 9 in National Park Village
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Tongariro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Tongariro Hotel

Property: Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Address: State Highway 48, Whakapapa, Tongariro National Park 3951, New Zealand (Formerly Bayview Chateau Tongariro)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Tongariro National Park > Whakapapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Whakapapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau Tongariro Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everything we do at the Chateau Tongariro Hotel we believe in providing you with a timeless elegance. We believe that preserving tradition and history is most important and as the hotel is located within a dual World Heritage National Park, conservation and culture are also at the forefront of your experience. Tongariro National Park provides a stunning natural playground bursting with diverse landscapes for visitors to the Chateau Tongariro to discover. Chateau Tongariro provides accommodation, restaurants, bars and conference facilities and is an all-seasons, utterly timeless experience not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau Tongariro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Chateau Tongariro Hotel Tongariro National Park
Bayview Chateau Tongariro National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing