We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Camping”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Warkworth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Whangateau Holiday Park
Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

This site formed part of our huge camping expedition covering most of New Zealand by tent. This is another site we can highly recommend. Excellent facilities which are VERY clean. We were lucky enough to get a pitch right by the sea - Fantastic! Great place to photograph the sunrise! It was so good here that we stayed two extra nights!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Stevetkdme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whpark, Front Office Manager at Whangateau Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Thank you for submitting such nice feedback about our park, and from such intrepid travellers as yourselves too. We are happy you liked us so much you stayed longer and really hope you will be this way again to stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (157)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 157 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2014

We were a large group of 25 family and friends who booked ahead of time in Feb. Unfortunately the weather turned bad and it wasn't entirely good camping weather. However, the place was very good albeit extremely hard to get tents up in the very strong wind. The family/games room was well utilised by our kids ranging in age from 3-16 years. We had booked 5 camp sites and 2 caravans initially but due to the weather a couple of people didn't come but had paid. A late invite to 2 friends in my opinion should have been free as 4 people who had paid full price did not end up staying. The other niggle was that the gate card and shower money should be added to the cost of camping/caravaning to avoid any hassles with trying to find 'cash only' for the gate access card $20 and 50 cent coins for the showers - not too many people carry cash these days. Otherwise we made the most of our stay. The kitchen facilities were fantastic with the large covered outside bbq/cooking area which was a good place for a large group to commune. And the Matakana market close by was a treasure chest of goodies, old and new. I would stay again, it was overall a good place. Clean and tidy.

Room Tip: The caravans were spacious and the beds were very comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whpark, Front Office Manager at Whangateau Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to submit your feedback. The cash bond for the gate card and the shower coin money are under review at this stage. The reasons for both are many and varied but we appreciate where you are coming from. We would hope that you will come stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We took advantage of a a few days break in our January calendar, when we could get the family together for weekend getaway. We choose, Whangateau. Holiday Park, as it was a short drive away (from Auckland Northshore), and we had pleasant memories from our previous visit, 3 years prior. The park is very well laid out, with lots of waterfront sites, & great facilities. Again, we had a very enjoyable stay. The only negative comment we made afterwards, was that it was crowded. But then, what can we expect over a post Christmas holiday weekend. The service was great, but we could see, staff were extremely busy.
Would we go there again ?, YES DEFINITELY, but we might avoid those public holiday weekends.
Thanks Whangateau. Holiday Park, for a great weekend.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
Thank Kiledin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whpark, Front Office Manager at Whangateau Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Thank you for taking time out and placing your review on our camp ground. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully your next visit is going to be a lot less crowed then you could enjoy the tranquility our park has to offer in the not-so-busy season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

The first night we had family along in a couple of cabins and us in our caravan right by the water. Good facilities and very clean and tidy. Staff were helpful and friendly. The 2nd to last night we had another couple of friends join us in a cabin and they were very pleased with their room too. Unfortunately the weather wasn't obliging us with our planned trip to Little Barrier but Tawharanui was an acceptable alternative. We would stay again in preference to the Sandspit Camp though it is more expensive.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JillNorthey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whpark, Front Office Manager at Whangateau Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Thank you for your nice feedback we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Used to camp here 45 years ago... what a treat to see the old place so well cared for. Cabin was clean, close to shared ammenities ( would have loved a sink in the cabin to rinse the cups or fill the kettle though) beds very comfortable. Staff was helpful. Although the park was fairly full for the Waitangi weekend there were no queues for loo's, showers or kitchen facilities which were without exception clean and well serviced. 10pm gate closing meant any late comers parked by the office and walked in so there were no noisey vehicles driving through park in the small hours. All in all an enjoyable stay in an idyllic spot.

Room Tip: If night time trips to the loo are a necessity.. go for the self contained units rather than the cab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annpalmer26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whpark, Front Office Manager at Whangateau Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Thank you for your nice feedback - look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We turned up in the evening with no booking and with 2 campers, we were delighted to get 2 lovely spots right on the beach. It was out of season and I can see it is a popular family campsites but as 2 couples traveling we found it lovely and tranquil. I would highly recommended and come back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whpark, Front Office Manager at Whangateau Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Thank you for your lovely feedback. We hope that you will be able to come and see us again in your travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We had always enjoyed staying at this site, especially as we enjoy the outdoors and what the surrounding area has to offer. On our last visit we booked and paid in full for 8 nights. The weather in early Feb was atrocious, miserable and extremely windy. We decided after 4 nights of very high winds, this was no fun and we would head home. On our departure were informed at reception that they would not refund us for the 4 nights we had paid in advance, "Council policy". Sorry this doesn't wash with us. Commonsense tells us that surely in the interests of goodwill and the fact that visitors like us go there frequently they would come to the party with even part of a refund or offer us 4 nights in lieu sometime in the future, but no, nothing. Lesson learned. Our message to others is just pay as you go and don't be too eager to pay ahead.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Kiwi15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whpark, Front Office Manager at Whangateau Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry we are unable to refund due to bad weather. This is a standard policy and is outlined in our confirmation emails that we send out. We are happy for our guests to book and pay as they go but cannot guarantee the same site will be available every night. We hope that you will still consider staying with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warkworth
5.4 mi away
Pakiri Beach Holiday Park
Pakiri Beach Holiday Park
#1 of 4 in Wellsford
76 reviews
8.5 mi away
Walton Park Motor Lodge
Walton Park Motor Lodge
#2 of 2 in Warkworth
86 reviews
8.2 mi away
Warkworth Lodge
Warkworth Lodge
#1 of 2 in Warkworth
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Bridgehouse Lodge
Bridgehouse Lodge
#3 of 20 in Warkworth
60 reviews
8.6 mi away
Annies B and B
Annies B and B
#1 of 20 in Warkworth
39 reviews
8.5 mi away
Warkworth Country House
Warkworth Country House
#4 of 20 in Warkworth
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whangateau Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whangateau Holiday Park

Address: 559 Leigh Road | Whangateau, Warkworth, Auckland 0985, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Warkworth
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Warkworth
Price Range: $13 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Whangateau Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whangateau Holiday Park has a full range of facilities to make your stay comfortable and convenient. There is lots to do in the area or just relax in the tranquility. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing