We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“4 nights at the camp ground” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Whangateau Holiday Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Warkworth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Whangateau Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“4 nights at the camp ground”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

The first night we had family along in a couple of cabins and us in our caravan right by the water. Good facilities and very clean and tidy. Staff were helpful and friendly. The 2nd to last night we had another couple of friends join us in a cabin and they were very pleased with their room too. Unfortunately the weather wasn't obliging us with our planned trip to Little Barrier but Tawharanui was an acceptable alternative. We would stay again in preference to the Sandspit Camp though it is more expensive.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JillNorthey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whpark, Front Office Manager at Whangateau Holiday Park, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you for your nice feedback we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    42
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
59
50
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kerikeri, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

Used to camp here 45 years ago... what a treat to see the old place so well cared for. Cabin was clean, close to shared ammenities ( would have loved a sink in the cabin to rinse the cups or fill the kettle though) beds very comfortable. Staff was helpful. Although the park was fairly full for the Waitangi weekend there were no queues for loo's, showers or kitchen facilities which were without exception clean and well serviced. 10pm gate closing meant any late comers parked by the office and walked in so there were no noisey vehicles driving through park in the small hours. All in all an enjoyable stay in an idyllic spot.

Room Tip: If night time trips to the loo are a necessity.. go for the self contained units rather than the cab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annpalmer26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whpark, Front Office Manager at Whangateau Holiday Park, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you for your nice feedback - look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

We turned up in the evening with no booking and with 2 campers, we were delighted to get 2 lovely spots right on the beach. It was out of season and I can see it is a popular family campsites but as 2 couples traveling we found it lovely and tranquil. I would highly recommended and come back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whpark, Front Office Manager at Whangateau Holiday Park, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you for your lovely feedback. We hope that you will be able to come and see us again in your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
137 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

We had always enjoyed staying at this site, especially as we enjoy the outdoors and what the surrounding area has to offer. On our last visit we booked and paid in full for 8 nights. The weather in early Feb was atrocious, miserable and extremely windy. We decided after 4 nights of very high winds, this was no fun and we would head home. On our departure were informed at reception that they would not refund us for the 4 nights we had paid in advance, "Council policy". Sorry this doesn't wash with us. Commonsense tells us that surely in the interests of goodwill and the fact that visitors like us go there frequently they would come to the party with even part of a refund or offer us 4 nights in lieu sometime in the future, but no, nothing. Lesson learned. Our message to others is just pay as you go and don't be too eager to pay ahead.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwi15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whpark, Front Office Manager at Whangateau Holiday Park, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry we are unable to refund due to bad weather. This is a standard policy and is outlined in our confirmation emails that we send out. We are happy for our guests to book and pay as they go but cannot guarantee the same site will be available every night. We hope that you will still consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton & Waikato Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

I recently spent 2 nights camping. As a single woman on my own I felt quite safe. Very relaxing couple of days, close to places of interest when I felt like going. Everything was very clean. Great shower for 50c. I will be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whpark, Front Office Manager at Whangateau Holiday Park, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you for your nice feedback. We really look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

I stayed here a few weeks back over Waitangi day in my campervan. I had booked a powered waterfront site which was really stunning! The staff were really friendly and the facilities were second to none. The following day my van broke down and I had to get it towed. I explained my dilemma to the staff, who were so accommodating. I am very appreciative of their kind and understanding nature. Great place to stay. I highly recommend it

Room Tip: waterfront powered sites are gorgeous
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ciaran P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whpark, Front Office Manager at Whangateau Holiday Park, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you for submitting such nice feedback. We are very happy that you had a good experience at our Park and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

Spotlessly clean. Friendly staff. Quiet and close to the water and to all the areas of interest in that part of the world, which is well worth a visit. We enjoyed the Matakana market on Saturday morning. Only one comment, would have loved a sink in the cabin.

Room Tip: Some of the caravans owned and operated by the park are right on the water. We stayed in a cabin th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whpark, Front Office Manager at Whangateau Holiday Park, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. Most of our accommodation is 'camping accommodation' so sharing the facilities with the campground. We do have self contained units if you would prefer for next time you stay. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warkworth
8.2 mi away
Warkworth Lodge
Warkworth Lodge
#1 of 2 in Warkworth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
7.6 mi away
Snells Beach Motel
Snells Beach Motel
#1 of 1 in Snells Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
3.8 mi away
Matakana Motel
Matakana Motel
#1 of 1 in Matakana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Riverside Matakana
Riverside Matakana
#1 of 8 in Matakana
5.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
3.5 mi away
Takatu Lodge & Vineyard
Takatu Lodge & Vineyard
#2 of 10 in Matakana
5.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Salty Dog Inn
The Salty Dog Inn
#1 of 2 in Snells Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whangateau Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whangateau Holiday Park

Property: Whangateau Holiday Park
Address: 559 Leigh Road | Whangateau, Warkworth 0985, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Warkworth
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Warkworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Whangateau Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whangateau Holiday Park has a full range of facilities to make your stay comfortable and convenient. There is lots to do in the area or just relax in the tranquility. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing