We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely by the sea”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Warkworth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Whangateau Holiday Park
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We turned up in the evening with no booking and with 2 campers, we were delighted to get 2 lovely spots right on the beach. It was out of season and I can see it is a popular family campsites but as 2 couples traveling we found it lovely and tranquil. I would highly recommended and come back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whpark, Front Office Manager at Whangateau Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Thank you for your lovely feedback. We hope that you will be able to come and see us again in your travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (158)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 158 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2014

We had always enjoyed staying at this site, especially as we enjoy the outdoors and what the surrounding area has to offer. On our last visit we booked and paid in full for 8 nights. The weather in early Feb was atrocious, miserable and extremely windy. We decided after 4 nights of very high winds, this was no fun and we would head home. On our departure were informed at reception that they would not refund us for the 4 nights we had paid in advance, "Council policy". Sorry this doesn't wash with us. Commonsense tells us that surely in the interests of goodwill and the fact that visitors like us go there frequently they would come to the party with even part of a refund or offer us 4 nights in lieu sometime in the future, but no, nothing. Lesson learned. Our message to others is just pay as you go and don't be too eager to pay ahead.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Kiwi15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whpark, Front Office Manager at Whangateau Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry we are unable to refund due to bad weather. This is a standard policy and is outlined in our confirmation emails that we send out. We are happy for our guests to book and pay as they go but cannot guarantee the same site will be available every night. We hope that you will still consider staying with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

I recently spent 2 nights camping. As a single woman on my own I felt quite safe. Very relaxing couple of days, close to places of interest when I felt like going. Everything was very clean. Great shower for 50c. I will be back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whpark, Front Office Manager at Whangateau Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Thank you for your nice feedback. We really look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

I stayed here a few weeks back over Waitangi day in my campervan. I had booked a powered waterfront site which was really stunning! The staff were really friendly and the facilities were second to none. The following day my van broke down and I had to get it towed. I explained my dilemma to the staff, who were so accommodating. I am very appreciative of their kind and understanding nature. Great place to stay. I highly recommend it

Room Tip: waterfront powered sites are gorgeous
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ciaran P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whpark, Front Office Manager at Whangateau Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Thank you for submitting such nice feedback. We are very happy that you had a good experience at our Park and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Spotlessly clean. Friendly staff. Quiet and close to the water and to all the areas of interest in that part of the world, which is well worth a visit. We enjoyed the Matakana market on Saturday morning. Only one comment, would have loved a sink in the cabin.

Room Tip: Some of the caravans owned and operated by the park are right on the water. We stayed in a cabin th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whpark, Front Office Manager at Whangateau Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Thank you for your feedback. Most of our accommodation is 'camping accommodation' so sharing the facilities with the campground. We do have self contained units if you would prefer for next time you stay. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Stayed 3 nights in our caravan, had a lovely trip. Very clean and tidy. Very helpful when we had left some of our awning pegs at home and happily lent us some. Great location to visit the many attractions nearby. Will happily return again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monique L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whpark, Front Office Manager at Whangateau Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Thank you for your feedback - we are happy you had a great stay and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights for wedding in the area and it was my first time to this park. the cabin we stayed in was very clean and tidy, as was the rest of the park. the facilities area is pretty much in the center of the park, so very handy when youv'e got kids. the staff werer very helpful and the reception stock quite a feww supplies too.
My father in law also stayed on a campsite and has a reasonable sized horse truck that fit on the site with no trouble. There were no horses in the truck, pretty sure that would be frowned upon.
great site, great staff, great area.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whpark, Front Office Manager at Whangateau Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Thank you for submitting your feedback. Your kind comments are much appreciated and we hope this means you will come back to stay and become part of our growing family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warkworth
5.4 mi away
Pakiri Beach Holiday Park
Pakiri Beach Holiday Park
#1 of 4 in Wellsford
80 reviews
8.2 mi away
Warkworth Lodge
Warkworth Lodge
#1 of 2 in Warkworth
81 reviews
8.5 mi away
Walton Park Motor Lodge
Walton Park Motor Lodge
#2 of 2 in Warkworth
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Annies B and B
Annies B and B
#1 of 20 in Warkworth
40 reviews
8.1 mi away
Bridgehouse Lodge
Bridgehouse Lodge
#4 of 20 in Warkworth
61 reviews
12 mi away
Kourawhero Estate
Kourawhero Estate
#8 of 10 in Warkworth
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whangateau Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whangateau Holiday Park

Address: 559 Leigh Road | Whangateau, Warkworth, Auckland 0985, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Warkworth
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Warkworth
Price Range: $13 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Whangateau Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whangateau Holiday Park has a full range of facilities to make your stay comfortable and convenient. There is lots to do in the area or just relax in the tranquility. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing