We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A magical place to stay for a magical wedding...”
Entertainment area and private heated pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Entertainment area and private heated pool
View from dining table View over Ascension Vineyard
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Entertainment area and private heated pool
View from dining table
View over Ascension Vineyard
Reflections in the swimming pool
Front of house
Kitchen
Lounge from kitchen
Our kiwi
Kitchen and dining area
Lounge and fireplace
Wine by the fireside
Master bedroom in sunlight
Master bedroom with view
Master bathroom
Second bedroom
Loungers by the pool
Entertainment area seating and fireplace
Entertainment area dining table and kitchen
Black Fern
Outside fourth bedroom
Main house from 'barn'
'Barn from main house
Our native bush
Sunset view
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Warkworth, North Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sue K
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
“A magical place to stay for a magical wedding event - perfect in every way.”
Reviewed March 14, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Beautiful house, with everything you need for comfort without compramising elegance. Amazing pool and cabana area, which we used every day. Stunning views over the Ascension Wine Estate, where our daughter was married. Lovely bird-life and dragonflies flitting around the gardens, which were immaculate. Made our daughter's wedding all the more perfect being so close to the venue. Had a birthday celebration at the house the next day - all the guests raved about the lovely house. Love the garden sculptures.

Thank you Jenny for allowing us to celebrate such important events during our stay in your beautiful home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Tranquil setting, overall comfort of house for 4 couples and a 3 year old, the owner -Jenny
Liked least: Nothing at all to dislike.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lizyg2016
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Magnificent property. Great for clients to stay during our film shoot”
Reviewed February 26, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Thanks for accomodating our group on short notice. Was the icing on the cake of a great few days filming in this beautiful region.

Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guesthous...
North Wales
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Luxurious Holiday Home, Fantastic Views. 5 Star and then some.”
Reviewed February 18, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We had excellent communications from the agent throughout the booking process and we have to say, the house is everything that's advertised and more. Supremely Comfortable bedrooms, with great bathrooms and a great open plan lounge, dining and kitchen area, with a wonderful, backdrop of the valley through the huge windows. Very well equipped kitchen with a large fridge. Probably the most luxurious place we stayed in, during our trips to New Zealand. Oh and a fairly warm large swimming pool at the rear. A great location for exploring the area around Matakana and Warkworth. Make sure you visit The Tawhranui Regional Park for the wildlife. We will return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Everything, especially, the views.
Liked least: Levaing!!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenys424
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful property and outlook, excellent amenities and pool area.”
Reviewed January 31, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We enjoyed our stay and the property is excellent especially the pool area and BBQ etc.

Our stay was slightly spoilt by lack of management support. The housekeeper did not show up to open the house for us and the owner while trying to be helpful did not know much about the property especially when the power was lost to the heat pumps. We also left a satchel of DVDS in the house after departure and it took several phone calls from us to arrange courier pick up for them to be returned to us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house and pool area
Liked least: The poor service during our stay from the housekeeping perspective
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 1, 2016
This is all very surprising and disappointing as your family seemed very pleased with their stay. The housekeeper had met with an accident and I, the owner, met with you as you arrived and showed you all around the property, answering any questions you had. The heat pump problem was sorted within 5 minutes and there were no more problems. I called to let you know about the satchel left behind and drove back into town to arrange a courier to get it to you quickly, at no charge to you. There was one phone call from you and one from your hotel to give me the address. I then called them back to give them the tracking number. Your characterization of events is misleading and in fact untrue!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dive HQ W
1 review
“Little piece of paradise”
Reviewed January 10, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We had a wonderful stay at Black Fern. Perfect place to unwind. Thanks so much. The place was lovely and clean and well fitted out. Great that everyone has their own ensuite too.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ron d
Auckland Central, New Zealand
1 review
“everything superb”
Reviewed January 2, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Quality of property, the position the amenities, linen etc.plus access to a top class wine grower and restaurant made for a perfect holiday.We could not ask for better.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality and position
Liked least: We could only stay seven nights
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LokiNZ
Hamilton
1 review
“Wonderful Place for a Small Wedding”
Reviewed October 19, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Black fern is a wonderful place to host a small wedding. We had a beautiful time celebrating our small wedding with friends. The place is perfectly suited to self cater and host a celebration. The rooms are all large and spacious; the beds are super comfy. The pool area provided ample fun for guest to relax in the heated pool. The gardens and scenery provided excellent backdrops for photos. I look forward to returning sometime in the future

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The heated pool
Liked least: The Master Bathroom shower fitting are on the wrong wall
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing