We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Luxurious, comfortable and tranquil place to stay”
Entertainment area and private heated pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Entertainment area and private heated pool
View from dining table View over Ascension Vineyard
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Entertainment area and private heated pool
View from dining table
View over Ascension Vineyard
Reflections in the swimming pool
Front of house
Kitchen
Lounge from kitchen
Our kiwi
Kitchen and dining area
Lounge and fireplace
Wine by the fireside
Master bedroom in sunlight
Master bedroom with view
Master bathroom
Second bedroom
Loungers by the pool
Entertainment area seating and fireplace
Entertainment area dining table and kitchen
Black Fern
Outside fourth bedroom
Main house from 'barn'
'Barn from main house
Our native bush
Sunset view
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Warkworth, North Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Moira K
Auckland Central, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Luxurious, comfortable and tranquil place to stay”
Reviewed March 28, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We choose Black Fern lodge as a place to stay for our wedding. It was a perfect base to catch up with friends and family for a pre-wedding BBQ and for the bridal party to get ready on the day of the wedding. It is a beautiful, comfortable house with excellent amenities. The fantastic views made for wonderful photo opportunities. Everyone commented on what an amazing place it was. We shall be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GibsonsNZ
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Stayed for three nights felt like three weeks!”
Reviewed February 11, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Amazing house to relax and unwind. Superb expansive views and everything you need to sit back and enjoy a wonderful holiday. Definitely recommend!

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah V
Auckland Central, New Zealand
1 review
“Black Fern in Matakana is THE place to stay!”
Reviewed January 27, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

I rented Black Fern in Matakana for myself and my bridesmaids to stay before and after my wedding. We met Vern the owner who greeted us when we arrived and showed us around the venue, Vern was very welcoming and accommodating :). The venue was just like the photos online and was the perfect place for us to stay and also for our pre wedding photos. The full outdoor entertaining area by the pool is amazing and very relaxing. The view from the venue is beautiful and breathtaking. Renting this venue is painless as you are dealing with fantastic people like Ged and Bev when you book and your security deposit if appropriate is refunding back to you within days.
I honestly couldn't have asked for a better venue to stay in!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The outdoor entertaining area by the pool is AMAZING!
Liked least: N/A as I loved everything.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaeynsham
Auckland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing property, great for a family”
Reviewed November 24, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We were in Matakana for a family wedding and this house was a great base for that. It is spacious, with good size rooms, a great out door area by the pool and has good views.. The house was very clean and had everything we needed. WIFI worked without a hitch We would recommend this home to any discerning holiday maker who appreciate quality and comfort in all respects.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool area
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJH1
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed November 10, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Amazing property. Very well presented with all the mod cons. Outdoor entertainment area was an absolute highlight.
Would definitely recommend.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDR401
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
“This is a magnificent Lodge - total luxury.”
Reviewed May 19, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Spacious and luxurious Lodge and the 'Barn' also excellent for one couple. Very warm, beautiful views over the vineyards. Loved the outside entertainment area with huge BBQ and all facilities.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Ambience of the Lodsge
Liked least: Crumbs left in drawers in kitchen, old and tatty dishcloth & brush
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Reviewed April 28, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing