We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience in Kiwi farmstay”
Review of A Kiwi Farmstay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Warkworth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
A Kiwi Farmstay
Reviewed February 3, 2013

It was so lovely in Simon's place.
Everything is so nice like the cottage,animals and helpers.Surrounding with mountains that you could see so many lovely sheeps and cows.We could enjoy horseriding,minigolf,and miniswiming etc. Also Kiwifarmstay is just 20 minutes away from Warkworth town. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Usually the cottage is very nice.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melody1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKiwiFarmstay, Manager at A Kiwi Farmstay, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Thanks so much Melody,
Miss you !!! Keep in touch !!
Si

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
There are newer reviews for A Kiwi Farmstay
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 85 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2013

Travel from 40 Mins from Auckland and be transposed into an unforgettable experience. Who ever said it is for the kids to enjoy? My wife and I stayed 3 nights and I think we had more fun than any kids. Simon is an amazing host and nothing is ever to much trouble. You will meet- Shaun, Jersey, Hoana, Bunter, Trixie, Kaizer and many more. Within a short distance there are many attractions to explore if which we made the most of. Keep up the great work Simon and we will be back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

It was lovely staying at Simon's place. We loved the cottage, and animals and all his helpers. Surrandings is very peaceful and beautiful and animals add to the trully special experience. We did horseriding, as well as minigolf in local businesses and Warkworth town is just 20 minutes away which is very nice too. We just loved our stay. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KateBentley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKiwiFarmstay, Owner at A Kiwi Farmstay, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Thanks Katarina,
Much appreciated :-)
Si

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed at the farm in Dec 2012 with 2 young kids. When we arrived the host Simon warmly welcome us and make sure we were comfortable. He was eager to show us around and introduce us to the animals. It was the first time our kids experience a farmstay and coming so close to so many animals. We love the beautiful surroundings and greenery.

Nearby we visited the Honey Center and also went Horse Riding which we really enjoyed. About 20 mins away there is a small town with supermarket, eateries and cafe. But they close rather early at 5pm except for the supermarket which closes late.

The kids had great fun. We will be back again! We also miss Sophia and Lukah!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank woon5157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKiwiFarmstay, Owner at A Kiwi Farmstay, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Thanks you, much appreciated :-)
Hope to see you all again soon

Si, Lukah & Sophie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Came over to NZ for three weeks and spent the last three nights of our holiday at A Kiwi Farmstay. We did Hamilton, Wellington, Napier, Rotorua plus numerous other places but the one place my daughter is still talking about is the farm! Everything about this place is unbelievable... Right from the very start Luka and Sophie (the two children who live on the farm) and Simon the owner of A Kiwi Farmstay give the feeling of being a part of their family... With a very 'open door' approach opening up their home and sharing their lives with those wanting to experience a 'slice of heaven'. Motorbike riding, feeding the animals (chickens, cows, goats, lambs, dogs), collecting the eggs, horse riding... are just a few of the things which you and your kids can enjoy! The views from the top of the hill are absolutely breath taking... Honestly do yourself a favour if even only to relax and veg out... Go! Its awesome!

Room Tip: The cabin is great!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alanna18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKiwiFarmstay, Owner at A Kiwi Farmstay, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Thanks Alanna,
Really appreciate you comments :-)
Looking forward to you moving back home to NZ

Si

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Just imagine a Friday after work pack up the kids and head north within an hour they will be feeding lambs, goats, chickens, ducks, cows and dogs.
For the more adventuress you can ride to the top of the hill on the mountain bike for an impressive coast to coast view and sunset. Stay in a quaint cottage and have with a wine with your host Simon who is so welcoming and a genuine kind person and is always wanting to give more so you have the best time. He was so encouraging to our daughter Mary she has smiled all weekend.
Sit outside with Simon and watch the satellites pass over in the Star studded night sky, as you wish on shooting stars as they zoom by.

Room Tip: Remember to shop for food on the way up as this stay is on a farm. Bring the right foot wear be prep...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julesquilts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKiwiFarmstay, Owner at A Kiwi Farmstay, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Thanks Julie,
Much appreciated :-)
Si

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Just a short trip from Auckland, this small farm is back to basics but Simon and his 2 kids will welcome you with their hearts. Great place for families with young kids and even older ones. Close contact and bonding with young farm animals, a chance to get back to nature. Nearby horse riding is terrific, as well as nice small town for excellent food and wine.

Room Tip: You can choose to sleep in their cottage of come in a campervan.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaxieTay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warkworth
16.5 mi away
Pukeatua Farmstay
Pukeatua Farmstay
#1 of 2 in Waimauku
4 reviews
11.6 mi away
Walton Park Motor Lodge
Walton Park Motor Lodge
#2 of 2 in Warkworth
84 reviews
11.9 mi away
Warkworth Lodge
Warkworth Lodge
#1 of 2 in Warkworth
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Annies B and B
Annies B and B
#2 of 20 in Warkworth
34 reviews
12.0 mi away
Bridgehouse Lodge
Bridgehouse Lodge
#6 of 20 in Warkworth
57 reviews
18.7 mi away
Tawharanui Lodge
Tawharanui Lodge
#7 of 20 in Warkworth
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Kiwi Farmstay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Kiwi Farmstay

Address: 231 Martin Access Road | Ahuroa, Warkworth, Auckland 0981, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Warkworth
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Warkworth
Price Range: $15 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"It's not just accommodation, it's a real interactive Kiwi experience !!". Get the kids out & let them do something they'll never forget !! Pet friendly. * Horse Trek 3 yrs - 70 yrs* Mountain & motorbike rides * Air rifle, golf/baseball driving range * Goat Island marine reserve * Reptile park * Beaches * Matakana wine trail/ vineyards * Hand feed all the animals * Farm adventure * Family time away from electronics. An ultimate farm adventure. Plenty to do even if wet !! Situated on a 5 acre block, 15 mins north west of Warkworth & an hour north of Auckland. You & your family/partner can interact with family friendly animals, have a romantic get-away or just totally relax at our rural retreat or on nearby beaches. Furthermore enjoy the tranquility & privacy of a rural retreat or participate in the local attractions. * Beaches- Omaha or Kaipara coast * Rabbit /possum hunting * Mountain/road biking * Horse riding * Fishing * Vineyards * Boating * Tramping * Swimming/diving/Snorkling * Matakana Cinema * Waiwera thermal hotpools * Golf * Winderholm regional park Have you own self contained guest house with bedroom, lounge, shower, toilet & kitchen. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing