We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kiwi farmstay indeed”
Review of A Kiwi Farmstay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Warkworth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
A Kiwi Farmstay
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Kiwi farmstay indeed”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

It was lovely staying at Simon's place. We loved the cottage, and animals and all his helpers. Surrandings is very peaceful and beautiful and animals add to the trully special experience. We did horseriding, as well as minigolf in local businesses and Warkworth town is just 20 minutes away which is very nice too. We just loved our stay. Highly recommended

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateBentley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKiwiFarmstay, Owner at A Kiwi Farmstay, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thanks Katarina,
Much appreciated :-)
Si
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
6
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
1 review
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed at the farm in Dec 2012 with 2 young kids. When we arrived the host Simon warmly welcome us and make sure we were comfortable. He was eager to show us around and introduce us to the animals. It was the first time our kids experience a farmstay and coming so close to so many animals. We love the beautiful surroundings and greenery.

Nearby we visited the Honey Center and also went Horse Riding which we really enjoyed. About 20 mins away there is a small town with supermarket, eateries and cafe. But they close rather early at 5pm except for the supermarket which closes late.

The kids had great fun. We will be back again! We also miss Sophia and Lukah!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woon5157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKiwiFarmstay, Owner at A Kiwi Farmstay, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thanks you, much appreciated :-)
Hope to see you all again soon

Si, Lukah & Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melton, Victoria, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Came over to NZ for three weeks and spent the last three nights of our holiday at A Kiwi Farmstay. We did Hamilton, Wellington, Napier, Rotorua plus numerous other places but the one place my daughter is still talking about is the farm! Everything about this place is unbelievable... Right from the very start Luka and Sophie (the two children who live on the farm) and Simon the owner of A Kiwi Farmstay give the feeling of being a part of their family... With a very 'open door' approach opening up their home and sharing their lives with those wanting to experience a 'slice of heaven'. Motorbike riding, feeding the animals (chickens, cows, goats, lambs, dogs), collecting the eggs, horse riding... are just a few of the things which you and your kids can enjoy! The views from the top of the hill are absolutely breath taking... Honestly do yourself a favour if even only to relax and veg out... Go! Its awesome!

Room Tip: The cabin is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alanna18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKiwiFarmstay, Owner at A Kiwi Farmstay, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thanks Alanna,
Really appreciate you comments :-)
Looking forward to you moving back home to NZ

Si
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham Surrey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Just imagine a Friday after work pack up the kids and head north within an hour they will be feeding lambs, goats, chickens, ducks, cows and dogs.
For the more adventuress you can ride to the top of the hill on the mountain bike for an impressive coast to coast view and sunset. Stay in a quaint cottage and have with a wine with your host Simon who is so welcoming and a genuine kind person and is always wanting to give more so you have the best time. He was so encouraging to our daughter Mary she has smiled all weekend.
Sit outside with Simon and watch the satellites pass over in the Star studded night sky, as you wish on shooting stars as they zoom by.

Room Tip: Remember to shop for food on the way up as this stay is on a farm. Bring the right foot wear be prep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julesquilts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKiwiFarmstay, Owner at A Kiwi Farmstay, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thanks Julie,
Much appreciated :-)
Si
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Just a short trip from Auckland, this small farm is back to basics but Simon and his 2 kids will welcome you with their hearts. Great place for families with young kids and even older ones. Close contact and bonding with young farm animals, a chance to get back to nature. Nearby horse riding is terrific, as well as nice small town for excellent food and wine.

Room Tip: You can choose to sleep in their cottage of come in a campervan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaxieTay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Te Puke
1 review
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Loving the green and the animals in the farm, nice sunset, nice sunrise and also the kind host Simon. Thank you very much for giving me a nice and wonderful start in New Zealand. Hope we will meet again sometimes.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKiwiFarmstay, Owner at A Kiwi Farmstay, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thanks Carol,
Of course we will see you again.
Shaunie (lamb) keeps going into your room to find you :-)
Have a great trip.

Si
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed December 1, 2012

My family was overjoyed to meet kind man simon and his two little children.We felt at home every minute of our stay in this green paradise surrounded by hills and farm animals. Simon the host went all out to ensure our stay was comfortable and memorable. His generosity and friendly nature made our stay in this tranquil place worth it and we will definitely go back to A KIWI FARM STAY many more times. We highly recommend this place to any lover of nature and animals! - RAY

Room Tip: The cottage is a cosy place to stay and has a better view of the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank faizur r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKiwiFarmstay, Owner at A Kiwi Farmstay, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thanks Ray,
Great time shared :-)


Si
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warkworth
15.3 mi away
Vineyard Cottages
Vineyard Cottages
#1 of 1 in Waimauku
26 reviews
16.5 mi away
Pukeatua Farmstay
Pukeatua Farmstay
#1 of 1 in Waimauku
4 reviews
14.8 mi away
Riverside Matakana
Riverside Matakana
#1 of 7 in Matakana
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Walton Park Motor Lodge
Walton Park Motor Lodge
#2 of 2 in Warkworth
84 reviews
11.9 mi away
Warkworth Lodge
Warkworth Lodge
#1 of 2 in Warkworth
72 reviews
12.0 mi away
Bridgehouse Lodge
Bridgehouse Lodge
#7 of 20 in Warkworth
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Kiwi Farmstay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Kiwi Farmstay

Property: A Kiwi Farmstay
Address: 231 Martin Access Road | Ahuroa, Warkworth 0981, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Warkworth
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Warkworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"It's not just accommodation, it's a real interactive Kiwi experience !!". Get the kids out & let them do something they'll never forget !! Pet friendly. * Horse Trek 3 yrs - 70 yrs* Mountain & motorbike rides * Air rifle, golf/baseball driving range * Goat Island marine reserve * Reptile park * Beaches * Matakana wine trail/ vineyards * Hand feed all the animals * Farm adventure * Family time away from electronics. An ultimate farm adventure. Plenty to do even if wet !! Situated on a 5 acre block, 15 mins north west of Warkworth & an hour north of Auckland. You & your family/partner can interact with family friendly animals, have a romantic get-away or just totally relax at our rural retreat or on nearby beaches. Furthermore enjoy the tranquility & privacy of a rural retreat or participate in the local attractions. * Beaches- Omaha or Kaipara coast * Rabbit /possum hunting * Mountain/road biking * Horse riding * Fishing * Vineyards * Boating * Tramping * Swimming/diving/Snorkling * Matakana Cinema * Waiwera thermal hotpools * Golf * Winderholm regional park Have you own self contained guest house with bedroom, lounge, shower, toilet & kitchen. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing