We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprisingly good, tucked away but worth the visit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mahurangi River Winery and Restaurant - CLOSED

Mahurangi River Winery and Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $24
Cuisines: European, International, Mediterranean, Wine Bar, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: winery and restaurant
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
99 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good, tucked away but worth the visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

We arrived without a booking on Saturday and the place was packed. Despite this we had prompt and friendly service, very efficient. The food was well cooked, and beautifully presented. The fish was especially good, as the steak. Our chai lattes (often served luke warm in other establishments) were piping hot. Will certainly return.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lesley E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    31
    11
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A must visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

Great food, great wine great service, great views. Highly recommended!! We loved the freshly baked bread it melted in our mouths. We had a flight of wine and a platter to share and left with very full bellies!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank BelindaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
67 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“One of the best dining experiences for several years”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

IN SUMMARY:
Amazing views
Relaxed with professional and prompt service
Beautiful wine
Mouth watering food, which will ensure we return.

THE DETAIL:
We visited for lunch on Saturday 26 April and only out of curiosity after passing their sign on the road between Warkworth and Snells Beach.

We were greeted warmly and invited to sit anywhere we wished, so we sat on the covered deck next to the window with panoramic north facing views over the vineyard and rolling countryside.

After a briefing by co-owner Gary Heaven, we ordered a bottle of "Mostly Merlot 2010" which was full bodied and so good we brought two bottles as we left.

Our meal included the crispy shredded calamari entrée which was clearly fresh, with a beautiful soft texture, presented well and a generous serving size. For our main meals we enjoyed the Marino lamb medallions and the special of locally sourced Buffalo fillet. Both meats were beautifully presented and more importantly of an excellent standard. We will try the desserts next time.

We highly recommend this restaurant and we will return for that special occasion, or just to buy a couple of bottles of wine.

Thank you Mahurangi River Winery for a lovely experience.

If you found this review helpful - please vote.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kato007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warkworth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Views and ambiance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

A nice relaxing spot but still with a touch of style. Excellent views. Food always good with lots of natural touches. We have been here several times and always enjoy the experience.
A good place to take overseas family and friend.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dobegoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"A wonderful place for that special lunch"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

It was a pleasure to to spend time there and taste the excellent food, all of which is made to order. The Team is most hospitable, attentive in a nice sort of way. The view is a sight to behold you could be anywhere overseas and not just an hour from home.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mahurangi River Winery and Restaurant also viewed

Warkworth, Auckland Region
Warkworth, Auckland Region
 
Warkworth, Auckland Region
Matakana, Auckland Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing