We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely lunch and wonderful wine”

Mahurangi River Winery and Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $23
Cuisines: European, International, Mediterranean, Wine Bar, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: winery and restaurant
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch and wonderful wine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

Lovely views, friendly staff, great wine and a complete menu. There are vegetarian options, very fresh local produce, interesting specials, and amazing desserts.
Must visit lunch destination. Also, you should definitely try the wine. I loved the Syrah.
Highly recommended by my Nanna as well :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cathball1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    31
    11
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good food, great views.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

Lunch at the winery is fine even if the weather isn't. The portobello mushrooms on ciabatta were extremely tasty & the prawns divine. Tempura on calamari still tasted of flour... Shame as it was so tender & plentiful.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Would go again on a sunny day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

Purchased a grabone voucher - the weather was not as good as we would have liked but we were still very impressed with the spectacularly beautiful views over the winery and from the carpark there is a distant view of the water and surrounding area. The restaurant has a country feel to it and there is great artwork hanging in the dining area.
The service was very good and the staff very friendly. Although neither of us are great chardonnay fans the wine was extremely good and we are looking into purchasing a bottle or two.
Our food was presented well, generously portioned and could not be faulted. Although we used a voucher, on this occasion, we found that the dishes were not overpriced in the slightest.
Although we did have a little hick up with our order (it was sent to someone else's table by mistake), the waitress came over and apologised and offered us the breads starter or another glass of wine each as compensation. We accepted the wine and spent an extremely pleasant afternoon in a very relaxed and conviveal atmosphere. Before we knew it, it was well into the afternoon and as they say "time flies when you are having fun".
We will certainly come again and hopefully there will be clearer skies and sunshine which will mean that we can sit outside on the terraced area and enjoy the surroundings from a different perspective.
There is plenty of parking to the side of the building up on the hill and there is also accessibility parking right outside. I would recommend if you were taking elderly people then you could drop them at the restaurant door and then park your car at the top, as you do have a few steps to go back up when you are ready to leave.
I would certainly recommend if you were in the Mahurangi area then a visit here would not go amiss- an excellent place for both locals and tourists alike.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AilsaODonnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
57 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very very pleasant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

We visited this winery on Saturday for a late lunch. The location is stunning, our food was delicious, and being a vegetarian, I had a choice which was extremely refreshing and the servers were very pleasant. Oh, the wine was wonderful. We would certainly go back there. A very enjoyable way to spend an afternoon.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WhangareiSioux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
388 reviews
219 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“Food and Reserve Chardonnay Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

We bought a Grab One and so glad we did. The setting was beautiful on the top of a hill looking down onto vinyards and beautiful views. Service was excellent friendly and attentive. The reserve Chardonnay was delicious a little drier than normal and would give a French Chablis a run for it's money. I had smoked salmon benedict and it was cooked so beautifully - soft eggs, pink tasty salmon and creamy sauce. My husband had liver and said it was cooked superbly. We will recommend and return.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gill h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mahurangi River Winery and Restaurant also viewed

Warkworth, Auckland Region
Warkworth, Auckland Region
 
Snells Beach, Auckland Region
Matakana, Auckland Region
 
Warkworth, Auckland Region
Matakana, Auckland Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing