We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly & Positive Warkworth Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Walton Park Motor Lodge
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Warkworth
Reviewed July 3, 2013

A group of us recently travelled to Warkworth and stayed with Dave & Carol at Walton Park Motor Lodge. Right from the initial arrival we experienced 'down to earth', friendly and very accomodating hosts. The studio room I stayed in was spotless and it was one of the cleanest units I have seen. Throughout the weekend I had a number of conversations with Carol & Dave and they couldn't of been more hospitable and helpful. I would have no hestitation in recommending this motor lodge to any traveller. Sonia R

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david i, Owner at Walton Park Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Hi Sonia, thank you for taking the time to put a review on. It was a pleasure hosting you guys, and hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 86 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2013

Nine of us recently travelled to Warkworth to play music in a friends bar. For accommodation we booked 5 studio rooms at the Walton Park Motor Lodge. On arrival we were met by our very firendly hosts Dave & Carol who throughout the entire weekend were simply wonderful. They transported us and our music gear into town free of charge and even turned up at our gig. The rooms were spotelss and warm and just what we needed. We wouldn't hesitate to return or recommend to others.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david i, Owner at Walton Park Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Hi Andy, thank you for your review, we enjoyed having you guys stay, and it was really nice getting out to see you guys preform at the Thai Bar, it always gives us a lift when we have a nice friendly group in. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed for 1 night and had asked for a twin bedded room in a quiet location. We knew this hotel from the outside, which has rooms partly positioned facing Highway 1.
When we entered the room it was FREEZING cold. We turned on the only heater in the unit and had it on the whole night, which made it just warm, but not comfortable. In the bathroom was no heater. Having temperatures at night around 6°Centigrade, the bathroom was cold. Not inviting for a shower. Oh yes, the shower was bad as well. To save energy it only had a small stream of water, just enough to wash the soap off but not enough to wash my hair.
The whole unit was not as nice as pictured above, it had one bed on each side of the room and in the middle an empty space. The unit was stark and uninviting.
There was a small kitchen which was OK, but we did not need it. The other thing to mention, it did not have a suitcase rack. We had our carry on on the breakfast table. Imagine coming for longer, one has to work on the floor to get things out of a suitcase.
The Motel grounds look nice, even having a swimmingpool. The exterior doesn't match the interior.
I must say, our unit was quiet because it was not directly facing the highway.
To sum it up, we did not feel good there in the cold stark unit. Happy to leave next day.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MargitandJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david i, Owner at Walton Park Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We were very disappointed to receive this feedback as it is not something we are used to. Firstly you said the picture did not match your unit, the picture you are referring to is a different type of unit. You requested a twin studio, the beds are on either side of the unit as most people book this room because they are singles, and do not want to be lying next to each other. There is a space in the middle so that you can walk through, to the kitchen-bathroom etc. There is also a small table with which you can put your suitcase on, it’s the one that had the TV remotes on. With regards to heating, yes the room would be cold when you first went in, normally if we know what time people are coming we will put the heater on before arrival. The heater is new and is quite a powerful heater, and surprised to hear that you had it on all night and the room was not really hot. Also if you rang reception we would have given you another heater, there is also electrical blankets on the beds. With regards to the shower we have not had a complaint about it in 4 years, so obviously something has gone wrong with it and we need people to inform us if there is a problem, so that we can rectify it. There was a problem, which has now been put right. So this has nothing to do with saving energy. When you came in for your Flybuy’s the next morning, it would have been nice to have been told about this, so nobody else would have the problem, as we rely on guests to tell us, as we do not shower in the units.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We were attending a wedding at Omaha beach which is about 40 minute drive from Warkworth.We only chose this motel as there wasnt any accomodtion available near Omaha.However we had a nice 2 night stay here.We were travelling with our 1 year old grandchild.The lady at the desk was very helpful and had arranged a portable cot for our room.
Overall we had a pleasant stay.
Also check out the nearby museum and town while you are here.very pretty.

Room Tip: Ask for a motel at the back,ours was nice and quiet.The rooms facing onto the main highway at the fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WendyG84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david i, Owner at Walton Park Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Hi Wendy, thank you for your review, glad you enjoyed your stay and the surrounding area. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed in a queen studio in March 2013 as part of a nine week trip round NZ. Although the room was on the small side and the only cooking facility was a microwave, it was very clean and very well serviced. The motel is located close to the main SH1 but traffic noise was not an issue in our room. Parking was good and the daily Internet allowance (100MB) was generous. Very pleasant helpful owners.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Globetraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david i, Owner at Walton Park Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Hi, thank you for your review, and glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and your trip round NZ.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

My partner and I spent one night here recently while attending a function locally, great service, the woman at reception was geat with local info and ordered us a taxi for the evening. Great location! Very comfy bed. Clean and tidy, definitely a motel, not a hotel, but perfect for an overnight stay if all you really need is a comfy bed and a great pressured shower. Didn't have time to try the outdoor pool but it looked like it'd be pretty inviting on a sunny day.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bech7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david i, Owner at Walton Park Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Hi, thank you for your review. Pity you never had time to try out the swimming pool, as it has been a god send in the hot summer that we had. Lots of people cooling down in it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Found the service at reception to be random. Was grateful that we could put our bags somewhere as we were early for check in. But after arriving back at the motel later that night we had to pay for our rooms before we were allowed our bags, key for room. Very odd.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david i, Owner at Walton Park Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Hi thank you for your review. We felt we went the extra mile for you guys, letting you into a unit at 10.30am so that you could get change from you motor cycle gear, plus a couple who wasn't staying at the motel. We let you put all 8 motor cycle helmets and luggage into our reception. Then later once we had your units ready we put all the gear into the units. Then a couple came back who wasn't staying, we let them get changed in a unit before they left. Your group came back at 9.30pm to sign in and get the keys for their units. We had already given the keys to the people and asked them to come back to pay, as our policy is payment on checking in.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warkworth
0.3 mi away
Warkworth Lodge
Warkworth Lodge
#1 of 2 in Warkworth
79 reviews
3.8 mi away
Snells Beach Motel
Snells Beach Motel
#1 of 1 in Snells Beach
147 reviews
12.4 mi away
Waves Motel
Waves Motel
#3 of 8 in Orewa
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 mi away
Whangaparaoa Lodge
Whangaparaoa Lodge
#1 of 2 in Whangaparaoa
333 reviews
13.3 mi away
Orewa Beachcomber
Orewa Beachcomber
#1 of 8 in Orewa
138 reviews
4.7 mi away
Matakana Motel
Matakana Motel
#1 of 1 in Matakana
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walton Park Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walton Park Motor Lodge

Address: 2 Walton Avenue, Warkworth, Auckland 0910, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Warkworth
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Warkworth
Price Range: $81 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Walton Park Motor Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Walton Park Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing