We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Walton Park Motor Lodge
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Warkworth
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We had an overnight stay at the Walton Park Motor Lodge on the weekend. Not quite sure what I expected when I booked, but when I walked into the room I was surprised how plain and uninteresting it was..
I was worried that it would be cold, noisy and who knows what else, but it turned out to be fine. It was a cold weekend so we put the heater on as soon as we checked in and rom warmed up nicely. Room was very clean, quiet and the bed comfortable which added up to a good night sleep. Room as a microwave and come utensils, so we bought food from the local supermarket and ate at the little table in the room ..
If you are looking for a hotel with trimmings, this is not for you.. but if all you are after is a quiet, clean place to stay, this hotel fits the bill

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob_the_Aussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david i, Owner at Walton Park Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

thank you for your review.Glad you were warm and cosey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (86)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 86 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2012

A short but easy walk into Warkworth, and easy driving distance to Matakana.The owners are friendly and welcoming with no reasonable request a problem.

We first stayed here in 2009 and have have stayed here repeatedly with friends and family since. Our room was clean and spacious had been recently decorated and facilities upgraded. Value for money - I recommend it as a good base to explore Matakana and beyond.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlacKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 29, 2012

Thank you for review.Glad you continue to enjoy your stays

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

Having stayed here back in the 60/70's spouse and self reserved overnight while attending an evening function at nearby Matakana. We had favourable memories of in-house Grumpy's Steak Restaurant and the 'by reservation only' full-house it often enjoyed. In those days Grumpy's was used for the motel breakfasts also.
Welcomed by the lady of the house we learned with sadness and disappointment that Grumpy's is no more, that other catering lessees have since been in, and out, with the kitchen and diner now locked, barred and bolted. Breakfast is no longer available at the motel.
At my suggestion that as the diner is closed no doubt the extensive bar is also shut, barred and bolted things looked up considerably. Mine Host came up trumps, took me to the closed bar and provided tipples to take to our unit. A welcoming welcome and our thanks for this service with a smile.
Our 1 x b/roomed unit was comfortable and warm for the one-night and the upgraded bathroom was very good. I do wish many other motels would copy and remove the water-guzzling bath/spa as has been done here - with a modern shower now installed.
As one may expect, some of the 1960/70's construction remain leaving benefits which once were normal elsewhere. Concrete block sound-reducing walls here are so unlike the modern day motel/hotel internal walls which allow the slightest noise to be heard from the next unit, and in the next unit.
Mine lady-host recommended a town dairy venue for breakfast - which we readily accepted for an early(ish) Sunday departure. At $9.50 pp for a fry-up - incl. coffee/tea, at said dairy we were not complaining. Our thanks for the recommendation - and for allowing yourself to be inconvenienced to retrieve the tipples.

Room Tip: Don't worry about the restaurant being closed for the RSA is a short stroll away for evening me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Probian9910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 29, 2012

Thank you for your review. Yes times have changed from the hey days of grumpys.much more choice now in the town.and its only a stroll in for nice resturants

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012 via mobile

Clean spacious units. Handy location to see warkworth and surrounding areas. Friendly staff that made our stay enjoyable and easy.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darrenfss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 29, 2012

Thank you for your review, glad you enjoyed your stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Good value for money - rooms were clean and tidy and this was a good place to stay for an overnight in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ianj9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david i, Owner at Walton Park Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2012

Hi Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

Spent two nights here. It was spotless and well appointed. The hosts were extremely friendly and so helpful with ideas, etc. Would certainly stay there again if we were in that area on holiday.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david i, Owner at Walton Park Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2012

Hi, Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2011

We spent a night here on our way back from the north of NZ. On arrival the hosts were very friendly and informative as to what was available in Warkworth. The room was clean and very well appointed if a little small. Beds were comfortable. The swimming pool had not been cleaned from the winter lay-off which was a little disappointing as it made the area a little down market but I am sure this will be corrected by the summer.

Room Tip: We had a studio unit which we felt was a little small 1 bedroom units are available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BASSA-DI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david i, Owner at Walton Park Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2012

Hi, thank you for your review. The swimming pool is looking good now, as we had a problem with the pump and filter system.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warkworth
0.3 mi away
Warkworth Lodge
Warkworth Lodge
#1 of 2 in Warkworth
80 reviews
3.8 mi away
Snells Beach Motel
Snells Beach Motel
#1 of 1 in Snells Beach
149 reviews
12.5 mi away
Edgewater Motel
Edgewater Motel
#6 of 8 in Orewa
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Matakana Motel
Matakana Motel
#1 of 1 in Matakana
143 reviews
13.3 mi away
Orewa Beachcomber
Orewa Beachcomber
#1 of 8 in Orewa
142 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bridgehouse Lodge
Bridgehouse Lodge
#3 of 20 in Warkworth
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walton Park Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walton Park Motor Lodge

Address: 2 Walton Avenue, Warkworth, Auckland 0910, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Warkworth
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Warkworth
Price Range: $82 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Walton Park Motor Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Walton Park Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing