We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cilcain”
Review of Sheepworld

Sheepworld
Ranked #2 of 27 things to do in Warkworth
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sheepworld is New Zealand’s Sheep and Wool Centre. In twice-daily live demonstrations the dogs round up and bring in the sheep, which are then sorted and shorn. Our Wonderful Wool multimedia exhibition then explains how the fleece is turned into an amazing variety of products, many of which are on sale in our store. There’s also an eco-discovery stroll through native bush, a natural adventure playground, a farmyard full of animals and an on-site cafe. Suitable for all ages.
Auckland
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Cilcain”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We are always looking for different experiences to take our grandchildren.
We had a show of shearing a couple of sheep and watching a dog round up sheep. A wander around to see some of the animals and then browse around the tourist shop. I wasn't overduly impressed, think the entrance fee is a bit steep.

Helpful?
1 Thank Gill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    43
    16
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great place for tourist”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

All about the sheep and the wool. A great place for kids too interactive activities with the sheep living in their natural environment and you can see them shear the sheep which is really interesting. They have colored sheep -pink- for real! Some scientific thing they have done to the sheep to produce colored wool. The shop sells good wool products too. Its worth a look I think anyway.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank kaahu5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent sheep experience! Must-do for every traveller”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Their main attraction is the Sheep & Dog Show. It's excellently executed. Very impressive what they manage to do with their dogs! Fascinating for children as well as for adults.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank KiwiSchnitzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“OK”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Not a lot to see unless you take the quite expensive tour/demonstration. There are better places for seeing tame farm animals in NZ.The cafe was rather disorganised though the food was satisfactory.

Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheepworld, Manager at Sheepworld, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thanks for visiting Sheepworld, Chris. It's a shame you did not experience our famous Sheep and Dog show, we're sure that you'd have found it great value for money and very enjoyable. We'd agree that there are probably better places to just see tame farm animals in NZ, but that is not our focus. At Sheepworld we showcase NZ's sheep and wool farming and industry through our demonstrations/shows, our "Wonderful Wool" exhibition and the products we have on show.
Our other attractions (farmyard animals, eco-discovery trail, adventure terrain, etc.) are just a "bonus"! Hope you can come back soon to complete your Sheepworld experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Who Knew Sheep WereSo Interesting!”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

This half-day experience was one of the highlights of our trip. The petting zoo and nature walk was an interesting walk about while waiting for the 10 am sheep sheering show - special petting fun for kids. Same with the interactive sheep displays - a sort of sheep 'museum' - lots of interesting sheep facts. The café had los of great lunch choices, and the gift shop had lots of high quality souvenir selections. By far the star of the morning was the sheep shearing show. Very interesting explanation and demo of how the sheep dogs are trained to do their jobs, and all you ever wanted to know about shearing sheep. Highly recommended for all ages.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sheepworld also viewed

Warkworth, Auckland Region
Warkworth, Auckland Region
 
Warkworth, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Sheepworld? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing