We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too cold and wet to snorkel, still beautiful to look around” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Goat Island Marine Reserve

Goat Island Marine Reserve
Ranked #3 of 26 things to do in Warkworth
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Too cold and wet to snorkel, still beautiful to look around”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Goat Island is a beautiful place. Obviously not ideal for swimming when the wind is up and the waves a crashing around. But still lovely to walk around. I have been snorkelling here when calm during the Summer and it is a wonderful amazing place to discover fish under the water. Recommend it and will go again and hopefully more often in the Summer months.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rachel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    69
    25
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Gratifying Visit to Goat Island, New Zealand's First Marine Reserve”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

Where : Goat Island Marine Reserve, near Leigh, Auckland, New Zealand
When : 02 January 2012


A day after the New Year, we decided to go to Goat Island, New Zealand's first marine reserve. It is situated near the coastal community of Leigh in the northeastern part of Auckland region. The reserve is about 90 kilometres from where we live or just a little more than an hour drive.

As we approach Goat Island, the road was already jam packed with vehicles, and it took us a couple of minutes to secure a nice parking spot. When we arrived, the place was almost covered with sea of people going back and forth carrying snorkeling paraphernalia, kayaks and swim boards. Some people were in their tents chatting and drinking with their mates while others were on their beach towels sunbathing.

The convenient way to see the marine life in the area without getting wet is by riding the glass bottom boat, which we did. As we sail, we were able to see fishes of varying colours and sizes swimming freely and gracefully. The ride lasted for about half an hour. It was indeed an awesome experience to see marine creatures in their natural habitats and not in confined environments.

Here are some of our photos of the place ---> http://thevillasenors.blogspot.co.nz/2013/01/gratifying-visit-to-new-zealands-first.html

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ronesalliv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaukapakapa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing fish encounter”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

The water was rather chilly but the fish were awesome, lots of varieties swimming around as you paddle and swim. Take food and drink for the day and no dogs allowed

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank susiegirtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Snorkel, walk and check out the Marine Discovery Centre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

This place has so much to offer. We stayed in a comfy cabin at Goat Island Camping which is elevated and has several sea views. You need to arrive early for parking, as this place is chjocka by lunch time. Take flippers, mask and snorkel to make the most of the day. You can hire them at the beach or camp. Swim out into the channel between the island and the mainland for the best sea life. The Marine Discovery Centre up the hill is great value for money. We learned about salps which we had seen in the water an hour earlier. Goat Island Walkway which starts near the DCis worth doing too. We saw a ruru from the track, and dolphins in the sea. Fab sea views, and also Little Barrier Island/Hauturu.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank bushgirl59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A great day out snorkelling for the whole family!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

On a fine and calm summers day this January 2014, we took our 7 year old daughter snorkelling at Goat Island marine reserve. Such a special day, the water was clear and beach VERY clean. Our daughter was safe in the water, and yes, she saw fish, and also a sting-ray! I saw a very large schnapper in close to the shore, just 1 meter deep. Glass-bottom boat trips go right off the beach for those not wanting to venture into the water. Snorkels, wet suits and dive equipment are all available for hire too. I would highly recommend this as a great family day out, probably best on a fine and calm day, which will be best conditions for snorkelling. Take your own food and drinks, no shops at this lovely peaceful coastal spot.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jasmine1Auckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Goat Island Marine Reserve also viewed

Leigh, Auckland Region
Warkworth, Auckland Region
 
Warkworth, Auckland Region
 

Been to Goat Island Marine Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing