We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, comfortable stay”
Review of Warkworth Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Warkworth Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Warkworth
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
218 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Friendly, comfortable stay”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We were passing through Warkworth on a stop over on route to the Bay of Islands and stayed overnight at the Warkworth Lodge. We felt very welcome by the owners who also provided us with lots of tips about best places for dinner/ breakfast and places of interest in the area. We choose the studio room which was well equipped, clean and comfortable with settee/ casual seating, a good table to put the laptop/iPad, good coffee/ tea making and of course freeWIFI which we love ( we would never stay anywhere that charges for internet WIFI in this day and age) .Overall a good for friendliness, cleanliness, comfort and a good location for the Main Street restaurants, cafés and shops.

Room Tip: If you need a kitchen, fridge and kettle take the studio rooms.The main house rooms are also comfort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    31
    18
    9
    0
See reviews for
14
40
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashburton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Great idea and great building but definitely not the luxury accommodation it is billed as. Room okay and balcony outside was good as was pool and spa pool. However, can't seem to decide if they are backpackers or luxury accommodation. Carpet in room and throughout corridor looked really dirty and was very worn. Get rid of the backpacker rooms and do some work on it and I think you'd be on to a winner

Room Tip: Go for the gold room or blue room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joanne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Disappointing.
We stayed in the gold standard double room which is located on the ground floor in the main house. The room had a large en-suite bathroom but no cooking facilities or a fridge as these were located in a communal kitchen. The room was advertised as having a balcony which consisted of a table and couple of chairs located on what turned out to be a walkway from the car park to other rooms and the pool area. The spring loaded stopper in the bathroom sink didn't work so it was not possible to retain water in the sink to wash, when this was mentioned to the owner she replied that another guest had mentioned it - but they had done nothing to repair or replace it. The room itself was clean and comfortable but the kitchen drawers needed lining paper. The property has the advantage of being located close to the town centre however the disadvantage was that loud music was played until 12.30 on the Saturday night we stayed and this was followed by raucous banter for some time after that. My overall impression was disappointing and I would recommend the self contained studio apartments across the courtyard and I would suggest finding alternative accommodation if staying at a weekend.

Ate at the Bridgehouse restaurant.
Next Tairua

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Warkworth hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Room ok, got us out if jam when everything was booked out. Didn't really enjoy shared facilities and noise from road meant window had to be closed, leaving room a bit stuffy. Otherwise room clean, and hosts very friendly.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Disappointing. Room ok, towels need replacing as frayed edges, our room near swimmingpool and so noisy, only 2 tv channels, no one reception until after 8.30, shared kitchen , just not the best experience ever.

Room Tip: Personally wouldn't bother.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dilg2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed October 29, 2013

My young daughter and I stayed in the Blue Room for one night's mini break from Auckland. I was pleasantly surprised. The room with clean modern ensuite was perfect for us. French doors opened out to a path leading to the pool area, where we enjoyed the spa after a 2 hour horse trek nearby. While we didn't utilise the communal kitchen it was large and very clean. The staff were all friendly. The only downside was the tv in our room only had 2 working channels.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michp3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wwlodge, Owner at Warkworth Lodge, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you very much for your review! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. You'll be pleased to know we are currently wiring in the new digital TV system and will have 7 channels. Hopefully it will be ready to go on Monday :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We were in a small room upstairs in the main house. The room had two small single beds, my legs were hanging off the end and I'm 5'5" and the bed was far too squishy. Also there were no bedside lamps which was a pain. The baseboards needs to be touched up and new wallpaper done too. The door at the top of the stairs needs a new coat of paint. The upstairs bathroom was well appointed, but an extractor fan would've been good esp. with 6 people using the bathroom. I thought $50 a night was a bit steep with having to share facilities.

Got to see the outside studios though and the rose and gold room downstairs, they were both much nicer and I'd recommend those if you are planning a stay here.

Didn't get to use the pool or spa but would stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silversparkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warkworth
3.8 mi away
Snells Beach Motel
Snells Beach Motel
#1 of 1 in Snells Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
12.7 mi away
Waves Motel
Waves Motel
#3 of 8 in Orewa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.3 mi away
Walton Park Motor Lodge
Walton Park Motor Lodge
#2 of 2 in Warkworth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Nancy's Garden
Nancy's Garden
#1 of 19 in Warkworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
4.4 mi away
Matakana Motel
Matakana Motel
#1 of 1 in Matakana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bridgehouse Lodge
Bridgehouse Lodge
#7 of 19 in Warkworth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warkworth Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warkworth Lodge

Property: Warkworth Lodge
Address: 8 Falls Street, Warkworth 0910, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Warkworth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Warkworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Warkworth Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Motel in the Heart of the Village. Warkworth Lodge opened in 2007 and is one of the top motels located in the centre of Warkworth. Our suites vary from modern self-contained motel units to character villa rooms. Our sunny and spacious environment has a fantastic pool and barbecue area to sit and relax. Enjoy a weekend away or a relaxing holiday by the pool. Located on the doorstep of our many beautiful beaches, a great selection of vineyards, cafés and restaurants. You will enjoy the comfort of the luxury lodge, with the convenience of being in the centre of Warkworth’s beautiful village. Enjoy the spacious Villa Lounge that over looks the pool & relax by the fire in the winter, and free wi-fi. Celebrations are welcome: Weddings, Birthdays, Family gatherings & Conferences. Matakana Village is 5 minutes drive away. Daily Wine Tours leave at 12 o clock to explore the many Matakana vineyards ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Warkworth Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing