We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Hand Comfort”
Review of Warkworth Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Warkworth Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Warkworth
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Warkworth Lodge is an elegant, homey place with a touch of class and a feeling like home. The ample kitchen is open to guests for drinks and snacks and there is a small but adequate outdoor pool. Local chocolate mints on the pillows at night are an extra touch of class. Lovely, roomy bedrooms, full bathrooms, and lots of windows everywhere. The hosts couldn't be more friendly and the restaurants in town are right around the corner. As it happens, my family experienced a tragedy while there- I learned the night of our stay of my aged father's death. We were up past midnight making plans to return home and the next morning my husband explained the circumstanced and asked if we could extend our check out time. The owners told us we could stay as long as we wished and asked if there was anything we could do - they were so gracious and kind. If you had to get bad news in a foreign country, this was the nicest place for something like that to happen.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank everly23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 81 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2012

We stayed at the Warkworth Lodge at Easter and chose a studio. It was a bit cramped for my liking, and the kitchen was tiny and difficult to cook in. The hot plate cooked on warm (not hot) and the thermostat kept turning off just at it started to cook. It made cooking a meal difficult, which we needed to do as there wasn't much evening dining choice in Warkworth.

The lodge part looked warm and welcoming and we were told we could use these facilities. But once it was evening, they were locked, so it was hard to access without disturbing staff to unlock for us.

The family suite was directly above us, and you could hear kids running across the floor, so it wasn't all that quiet. I also wearied of idling cars directly outside our door in the car park - the fumes and noise meant it wasn't all that relaxing.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwitraveller_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

I can't speak for the whole establishment but the "Pink Villa" room that my husband and I recently stayed in was very basic, tired, and with very dim lighting. Although it had a fireplace, it was in name only. The hearth and mantle were both completely bare--a non-functioning fireplace can still be VERY attractive, but this wasn't. Both windows faced the lodge's entrance courtyard so shades had to be kept pulled for privacy. Room was a bit musty (there had been heavy rains recently). Bathroom door was painted Pepto-Bismol pink. On the plus side, the bathroom was spacious with plenty of towels and one of the best mirrors for putting on makeup that we encountered during a 5-week trip to New Zealand.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel-Afficionados
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

We stayed here for one night on the way north and were upgraded into a larger double room with king bed and huge, well equipped bathroom by the very helpful owners. The room also had a pleasing outside access to a sheltered patio and the car park which assisted case unloading. Our end of the house was early 20th century with high ceilings and huge picture windows, all of which gave the accommodation and atmospheric colonial feel. The property has enormous potential, although the general decor could do with a sympathetic update in line with the age of the house. Swimming pool looked inviting but needed cleaning. Town not special with few places to eat at night but plenty to do in the day and good beaches nearby.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisandalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

I visit family in Warkworth every year and after a horror night stay at Bridgehouse (down the hill) I found this place and return now every year. Always consistently great and in winter they have a very welcoming fire burning in the communal lounge - lovely.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Moij23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

We arrived in Warkworth early evening with nowhere to go. We tried one place but thought it looked grotty and then the man suggested we "go across the road". Sure enough, there was Warkworth Loge. A beautiful older homestead which is well maintained, spacious and best of all, clean.
There was only one studio room left which the owner let us have at a reduced rate given that it was Sunday night. The studio was really lovely. Spacious, warm and had everything you needed including a kitchen.
We would have chosen to stay in the large homestead if there had been a spare room simply because of the lovely atmosphere, huge lounge room, logburner etc. However we were very comfortable in the studio.
I was ill when we arrived so slept late the next day and we were offered a late check out at no extra charge.
We would thoroughly recommend staying at Warkworth Lodge. It looked a great place for the summer also with doors to a beautiful deck and pool area.
The one downside was that there was no free wi-fi.

Room Tip: I would choose to be in the homestead because of the atmosphere. The studio we had on the end had lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebHnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2011

We spent one night at Warkworth Lodge when we met up with my husband's sister for dinner on a recent trip to NZ. The studio we stayed in was great, although the lounge with crackling fire inside the lodge looked very inviting too. Parking was easy, we felt most welcome, and the price was reasonable.
We'll definitely be back on our next visit to NZ!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CheddarHouseAU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warkworth
3.8 mi away
Snells Beach Motel
Snells Beach Motel
#1 of 1 in Snells Beach
153 reviews
0.3 mi away
Walton Park Motor Lodge
Walton Park Motor Lodge
#2 of 2 in Warkworth
86 reviews
9.8 mi away
Castle Court Motel
Castle Court Motel
#1 of 1 in Wellsford
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bridgehouse Lodge
Bridgehouse Lodge
#4 of 20 in Warkworth
61 reviews
22.4 mi away
Kawai Purapura Retreat Centre
4.4 mi away
Matakana Motel
Matakana Motel
#1 of 1 in Matakana
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warkworth Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warkworth Lodge

Address: 8 Falls Street, Warkworth, Auckland 0910, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Warkworth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Warkworth
Price Range: $68 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Warkworth Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Motel in the Heart of the Village. Warkworth Lodge opened in 2007 and is one of the top motels located in the centre of Warkworth. Our suites vary from modern self-contained motel units to character villa rooms. Our sunny and spacious environment has a fantastic pool and barbecue area to sit and relax. Enjoy a weekend away or a relaxing holiday by the pool. Located on the doorstep of our many beautiful beaches, a great selection of vineyards, cafés and restaurants. You will enjoy the comfort of the luxury lodge, with the convenience of being in the centre of Warkworth’s beautiful village. Enjoy the spacious Villa Lounge that over looks the pool & relax by the fire in the winter, and free wi-fi. Celebrations are welcome: Weddings, Birthdays, Family gatherings & Conferences. Matakana Village is 5 minutes drive away. Daily Wine Tours leave at 12 o clock to explore the many Matakana vineyards ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Warkworth Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing