We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Reds!”
Review of Heron's Flight

Heron's Flight
Ranked #11 of 45 Restaurants in Warkworth
Cuisines: International
Description: Heron's Flight is a working vineyard and winery, specializing in Italian grape varieties. Our cellar door is open daily. Please note we are not a restaurant.
Restaurant details
Description: Heron's Flight is a working vineyard and winery, specializing in Italian grape varieties. Our cellar door is open daily. Please note we are not a restaurant.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Top Reds!”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Herons Flight is a family built business & you can taste the love that goes into their superb wines. With only a small $5 tasting fee Herons Flight is a must visit whilst in the Matakana area

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank amy f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    18
    0
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Terrible Customer Service”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

I agree with the previous reviewer. The customer service for this cellar door is appalling. They do not know how to treat potential customers that's for sure. Their website says that wine tasting is free but when I emailed them to confirm this they said, and I quote "Because it is misleading on the website I was going to forego it (the payment), but that wouldn't be a wise commercial decision." I asked them if perhaps they should remove that from their website to avoid this confusion and the response was "If you only wanted to come because it was free and not because you are interested in wine, you shouldn't bother at all."
My collegues and I are very interested in wine tasting, and in fact we would have probably brought some wine at the cellar door if it was any good. However, with this type of treatment, I will never visit Heron's Flight, especially with their DELIBERATE tactic of luring people in, under the false pretences of a free tasting and then charging people when they arrive.
I have nothing against paying for a tasting and in fact this is fair play, but what I do have something against is dishonesty and rudeness.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amypork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awful. Much better places to go.”
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

the owner of this vineyard seems to think a cellar door process is more about showing off about himself and how much he knows about obscure wine history than introducing people to his wines.

We went on a Thursday so two of the wines werent being offered - so we tried 3 wines plus 2 grape juices. The owner missed sales by not having the others available to taste and the volume of people going through (12 while we were there for 45 minutes) times the tasting charge would clearly cover the cost of opening at least one of the 2 signature wines of this vineyard.

The arrogance of the owner was on display when talking about his next "unplugged" wine which they considered releasing as one of their signature lines, but even though the "general public wouldnt know the difference, we thought it should be an unplugged". Im not sure he picked up that he just insulted a whole room of people by saying that. We are the genetal public and this sort of arrogance puts us off trying or buying herons flight ever again.

In summary, the wines we tasted were ok, but with such a large amount of choice around Matakana, avoid this place.

If you want the personal, friendly cellar door experience, head for Hyperion, if you want the professional, knowledgable approach, head to OBV or Brick Bay.

there are soo many places that I would spend my money before suffering through another visit to this place.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dylan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“A real taste of a NZ vineyard -”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Wonderful hosts - lots of information about this 100% Italian grapes vineyard - the only one in NZ - very authentic - rustic no frills but so gorgeous and quaint - a great place to buy some wine and have a picnic in the vines.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank littlemizfab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Grape Juice”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Bought Grape Juice direct from the winery.
Excellent flavour especially their new lighter variety with a touch of bubbles.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank BrentS_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heron's Flight also viewed

Matakana, Auckland Region
Snells Beach, Auckland Region
 
Warkworth, Auckland Region
Warkworth, Auckland Region
 

Been to Heron's Flight? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing