We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hospitality - friendliest people”
Review of Harbour View Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Harbour View Lodge
Ranked #3 of 8 Tairua B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We were greeted by Eve, the hilarious, very personable hostess. We succeeded in not calling your husband Adam! His name is Alan - sorry Alan!
Beautiful home, centrally located, great views, above all - great hosts. Informative, cheerful, GREAT breakfasts! Lovely cheese platter with a bottle of wine on arrival - which didn't last long!
If you are ever in the Tairua area, this is the place to stay.
We unfortunately didn't venture into the pool, but it was very inviting. Great place to relax with some of Alan's home brew or a bottle of wine

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aidomelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (48)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 48 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

Immaculate, cozy, comfortable and tasty! Eve and Allen had the most gracious hospitality from the the meet and greet with wine and cheese to the delicious farewell breakfast. The rooms are super clean and comfortable. Easy access to the major sites on the peninsula.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Doug S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Beautiful modern room, large and fully-equipped, with a lovely decoration. But most of all, wonderful hosts. Eve and Alan are charming, warm people who will you feel very comfortable. They know their city and region, for sure, and will give you plenty of tips to make the most of your trip!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Delroc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We were greeted by Eve and she provided a welcome cup of tea, also a cheese platter accompanied by a bottle wine which we unfortunately, did not drink.. The beds were comfortable but the room was a little cramped for our large amount of luggage.There was no television, but there was one in the little lounge for visitors use. WiFi was available. There was a door in our room which led out to the pool. For breakfast we had lots of choices and it was very good. On the negative side, we have to mention the lack of sound proofing, especially in the ceiling above us. We could hear every sound, footsteps, items being moved and the dog running across the floor. Then there were the guests who moved into a room adjacent to ours on our second night, and we could hear someone snoring the entire night long. Being a light sleeper, I was not too happy. Then there was the matter of parking; it appears there are only two places allotted to visitors, one at the front of the house which was really only suitable for a small car and one at the rear. The problem was there was a large boat parked at the rear and next to it was the marked visitors park. This was unavailable as Alan had his Ute parked there most of the time, thereby leaving visitors to park in the road.. Personally I was not impressed. They are a very nice,friendly couple, but I would not wish to stay at these premises again.

Room Tip: We were in a room at the front of the house and heard very little road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Topper55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

A good "meet and greet" with Eve and a very welcome cup of tea after our fight from Tokyo. Room had all you needed with personal touches but looked out into the garden and not of the harbour. The sitting room with TV, hi-fi etc was home-from-home even down to fighting over the controller. Lots of options with breakfast including great fresh fruit. Eve had lots of local knowledge that helped us plan our only full day in the area. Just a couple of minutes walk from the town centre.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Ronald G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We should have stayed longer than two nights. Coromandel is a lovely area. It was worth the 2 hour ride to travel on Barry's Driving Creek Railway but there are lovely things to see close by like Hot Water Beach. The two rooms at the front do not really have a view since they are on the ground floor. The lovely views are from the breakfast area on the first floor. You do get some traffic noise (though it does go quieter at night) so I would opt for the room at the back.
The beds are very comfy. Good breakfasts. The fridge in the guest lounge has complimentary drinks (which we didn't realise till we left!). The complimentary laundry facility, including ironing was a bonus.

Room Tip: Choose the one at the back to try to avoid traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pernicketyann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

We only had one night at this lovely B&B but really enjoyed our stay. Eve was very welcoming and the room was great. Breakfast was very good and we got some helpful information regarding our onward journey.

Its a lovely area with lots of things to do so one day is not enough.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RJT06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tairua
2.0 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
0.1 mi away
Sunlover Retreat
Sunlover Retreat
#1 of 8 in Tairua
284 reviews
0.4 mi away
Colleith Lodge
Colleith Lodge
#1 of 6 in Tairua
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Brenton Lodge
Brenton Lodge
#1 of 12 in Whangamata
121 reviews
15.3 mi away
Andrea's Bed & Breakfast
Andrea's Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 43 in Whitianga
170 reviews
17.0 mi away
Within The Bays
Within The Bays
#9 of 43 in Whitianga
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour View Lodge

Address: 179 Main Road, Tairua 3508, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Tairua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Tairua
Price Range: $123 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harbour View Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have a purpose built, three-bedroom our star bed & breakfast with tropical garden, swimming pool and parking. The rooms have Queen beds, one can be converted to two twin beds. Each room is comfortably furnished with private bathroom. Our famous breakfasts are taken upstairs in our dining room with fabulous views of Tairua Harbour and will certainly set you up for the day ahead. Hosts Jane and Chris are always on hand to help you plan your Coromandel stay - with nearby 'must sees' like Hot Water Beach and Cathedral Cove. Harbour View is a short stroll from the town centre with its restaurants, cafes, bars and shops. The Harbour and Ocean Beaches are close by - and the summit of Mt Paku just a few minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Harbour View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour View Lodge Tairua, South Pacific - New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing