We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Harbour View Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Harbour View Lodge
Ranked #5 of 8 Tairua B&B and Inns
Tours, France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Beautiful modern room, large and fully-equipped, with a lovely decoration. But most of all, wonderful hosts. Eve and Alan are charming, warm people who will you feel very comfortable. They know their city and region, for sure, and will give you plenty of tips to make the most of your trip!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Delroc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    14
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
38
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide. Sth. Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

We were greeted by Eve and she provided a welcome cup of tea, also a cheese platter accompanied by a bottle wine which we unfortunately, did not drink.. The beds were comfortable but the room was a little cramped for our large amount of luggage.There was no television, but there was one in the little lounge for visitors use. WiFi was available. There was a door in our room which led out to the pool. For breakfast we had lots of choices and it was very good. On the negative side, we have to mention the lack of sound proofing, especially in the ceiling above us. We could hear every sound, footsteps, items being moved and the dog running across the floor. Then there were the guests who moved into a room adjacent to ours on our second night, and we could hear someone snoring the entire night long. Being a light sleeper, I was not too happy. Then there was the matter of parking; it appears there are only two places allotted to visitors, one at the front of the house which was really only suitable for a small car and one at the rear. The problem was there was a large boat parked at the rear and next to it was the marked visitors park. This was unavailable as Alan had his Ute parked there most of the time, thereby leaving visitors to park in the road.. Personally I was not impressed. They are a very nice,friendly couple, but I would not wish to stay at these premises again.

Room Tip: We were in a room at the front of the house and heard very little road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Topper55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

A good "meet and greet" with Eve and a very welcome cup of tea after our fight from Tokyo. Room had all you needed with personal touches but looked out into the garden and not of the harbour. The sitting room with TV, hi-fi etc was home-from-home even down to fighting over the controller. Lots of options with breakfast including great fresh fruit. Eve had lots of local knowledge that helped us plan our only full day in the area. Just a couple of minutes walk from the town centre.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ronald G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

We should have stayed longer than two nights. Coromandel is a lovely area. It was worth the 2 hour ride to travel on Barry's Driving Creek Railway but there are lovely things to see close by like Hot Water Beach. The two rooms at the front do not really have a view since they are on the ground floor. The lovely views are from the breakfast area on the first floor. You do get some traffic noise (though it does go quieter at night) so I would opt for the room at the back.
The beds are very comfy. Good breakfasts. The fridge in the guest lounge has complimentary drinks (which we didn't realise till we left!). The complimentary laundry facility, including ironing was a bonus.

Room Tip: Choose the one at the back to try to avoid traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pernicketyann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2012

We only had one night at this lovely B&B but really enjoyed our stay. Eve was very welcoming and the room was great. Breakfast was very good and we got some helpful information regarding our onward journey.

Its a lovely area with lots of things to do so one day is not enough.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RJT06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2011

we had a great time in Tairua and really enjoyed our stay. Eve made us feel really welcome. we only can recommend staying there. The breakfast was great, our room was very comfortable, we had a good time using the kayaks and we laughed a lot with Eve. Thanks again for these great 3 days.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefan_972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2011

Our stay was about a week into our holiday and we were amazed when we asked to use the washer and Eve offered to do our wash. Next day it was folded on our bed ready for the next week. What a treat not to spend time doing laundry while on an extended vacation. The breakfast were some of the best of our entire trip.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WoodyBIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tairua
2.0 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
0.1 mi away
Blue Water Motel
Blue Water Motel
#2 of 6 in Tairua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunlover Retreat
Sunlover Retreat
#1 of 8 in Tairua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Hahei Horizon Bed & Breakfast
13.5 mi away
Brenton Lodge
Brenton Lodge
#1 of 10 in Whangamata
5.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
15.0 mi away
Pacific View B&B
Pacific View B&B
#1 of 12 in Whangamata
5.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour View Lodge

Property: Harbour View Lodge
Address: 179 Main Road, Tairua 3508, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Tairua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Tairua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harbour View Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have a purpose built, three-bedroom our star bed & breakfast with tropical garden, swimming pool and parking. Two rooms are queens and one is super king or twins. Each room is comfortably furnished with private bathroom. Our famous breakfasts are taken upstairs in our dining room with fabulous views of Tairua Harbour and will certainly set you up for the day ahead. Hosts Jane and Chris are always on hand to help you plan your Coromandel stay - with nearby 'must sees' like Hot Water Beach and Cathedral Cove. Harbour View is a short stroll from the town centre with its restaurants, cafes, bars and shops. The Harbour and Ocean Beaches are close by - and the summit of Mt Paku just a few minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Harbour View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour View Lodge Tairua, South Pacific - New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing