We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Value, Best Hosts, Marvelous B&B Experience!”
Review of Sunlover Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sunlover Retreat
Ranked #1 of 8 Tairua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tairua, New Zealand
1 review
“Best Value, Best Hosts, Marvelous B&B Experience!”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

This place has got it all! A stylish new home of bold, contemporary build complete with rustic touches. Modern amenities & style with an elegant retro flair. Activities to suit any mood...enjoying a glass of wine on the couch by the fire or taking in the most breathtaking 220 degree views off both wrap around decks.... Choosing records from a classic vinyl collection to dance to in the lounge and having a fun game of foosball. Hanging out with the coolest, cuddliest, sweetest blond labradoodle named Jak who loves taking you to the beach. Filling up on the most scrumptious homemade breakfast complete with fresh terra-cotta baked scones, juices, jams, eggs, bacon, the whole 9 & 1/2 yards. Never have I met a more gracious couple of hosts as owners Donna & Chris. They truly care about delivering the best stay money can buy and strive to offer a first-rate experience. I loved it so much that I booked my return in person before leaving and will be recommending as the choicest B&B in Tairua to friends and family. Thank You Sun Lover!!! See you soon :)

Room Tip: I chose the Paku Suite with views of Mt. Paku with the beautiful wood and stone shower and comfortab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovewise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna B, Owner at Sunlover Retreat, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Thank you so much for the wonderful review! I'm glad you like our decorating style and the 'old school' record collection!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
206
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Donna and Chris are lovely people and very welcoming to their B&B. Donna is also a fantastic cook. We paid $359 for a 2 night stay in off season and that included dinner on 1 night and breakfast, as well as a ‘gift pack on arrival’. Basically it was another $100 for the dinner and gift pack.

However, we did have a few issues, of which were brought to the attention of Donna prior to this review being posted:
- No Gift basket! We reminded her prior to arrival as she admittedly forgot that we had paid the extra $100. But still no gift pack and not a word said about it. We even hinted it to Chris about who usually puts together the gift packs but to no avail. When I brought this to Donna’s attention, I was told that the wine with dinner was the gift and I drank more than was intended! To clarify, 3 bottles of low end Sav were drunk between us 2 couples, and all were offered with dinner/post dinner convo.
- It’s a B&B, not a ‘Retreat’. On the grabone ad, it had no reference to a B&B. So we were surprised to be staying in someone else’s house with another couple rather than a more private retreat.
- Donna was not around for the last half of the weekend and handed the B&B responsibilities to Chris. While he is a top bloke, the cooking of the breakfast was a big step down from when Donna did it. It may sound pedantic but when it is marketed as a Luxury retreat I would have expected a higher standard.

If you are looking for a nice B&B, this is a great place…but I do question the value for money with what we paid, let alone the claimed full price @ $300+ per night!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Todd G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna B, Owner at Sunlover Retreat, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Firstly Todd, I would like to say thank you for taking the time to write your review. It's not easy receiving our first 'average' review however it will help with improving the future quality of guests stay.

In response to your points:
The gift basket is the bottle of wines you had. We do not have a liquor license and as such cannot sell liquor. With the GrabOne 50% off deals, we need to list the wine as a 'gift'. I'm sorry you were unhappy with the quality of the gift however I didn't know at the time, to be able to rectify it. I didn't forget about it at all. Can I just say ... 'hinting' at Chris certainly doesn't help the situation!

Yes, you are correct, the GrabOne ad didn't say B&B however our website makes it very clear. I am sure you looked at this before you made your purchase. I will however ensure any future deals stipulate that this is indeed a B&B.

I had to leave unexpectedly on Saturday night due to an incredibly sick daughter. I did let you know and with such short notice, my husband Chris had to step in. We tried to ensure the experience was still up to par. Its a shame that you didn't feel that it was.

And last but not least .... the value. 2 nights accommodation, 2 course dinner for two with wine, 4 fully cooked breakfasts as well as accommodating your large dog, for $359 .. I will let the people reading this management comment decide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Such is the quality of the experience on offer, it's almost impossible to believe Sunlover Retreat has been open for such a short period of time. The service, the welcome and the room were absolutely first rate and I had a wonderful stay. Donna was exceptionally accommodating and seems to understand exactly what folk are looking for when passing through Tairau.

It's a B&B so it seems pertinent to focus on each B. First, the bed, which was so comfy it was tricky to get out of, and also lay before a near-perfect view (don't make the mistake of arriving after dark - it's a sight to behold!). If waking up to the sight before me wasn't enough, the other B, - brekkie - was inventive, all homemade and, most importantly, absolutely delicious.

I was only sorry that I had time to stay just one night. Recommendations don't come much heartier than this one.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank will_macpherson1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna B, Owner at Sunlover Retreat, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Thank you Will for such a wonderful review. I hope the rest of your 3 day trip in the Coromandel went fantastically. We hope to meet your parents on their trip to NZ one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We have just had a wonderful 2 night stay at Sunlovers Retreat. We found Donna to be a warm, welcoming and friendly host who made us feel at home from the moment we walked through the door. The accommodation is exceptional and the views from the decks are stunning. Donna is an excellent cook and we thoroughly enjoyed the breakfasts and dinner. All in all, a great experience. Thank you again Donna and Chris.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RickG17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna B, Owner at Sunlover Retreat, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Thank you Rick for taking the time to write a lovely review. We hope to see you again one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed June 15, 2014

My wife & I had a great 2 day break with Chris & Donna. Even though it was full on winter the welcome was as warm as any summer sun. We will definitely be back later in the year, can't wait to sit on that deck enjoying the marvellous view with a full coromandel sun beaming down.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardK251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna B, Owner at Sunlover Retreat, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
And ... we are looking forward to welcoming you back! Thanks for taking the time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Sunlovers Retreat has got to be one of the best. Everything far exceeded our expectations. The rooms are superb, Donna is a gourmet cook and presents fantastic breakfasts - we had to ask her to make them smaller. We would definitley visit again, and look forward to doing so.

A word of warning - ask Donna for information about the local restaurants. Some of their advertised opening times aren't necessarily true!

Room Tip: Three rooms are availablr. They're all excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ianl7592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna B, Owner at Sunlover Retreat, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Thank you Ian. AND I look forward to seeing you back here one day. Thanks for taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Had a wonderful stay with my wife and also another couple. Exceeded our expectations on all fronts. Perfect. Will stay again when back in Tairua. Very sunny and warm perspective even in winter as it was when we stayed.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna B, Owner at Sunlover Retreat, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Great to have you and your family here with us! Thanks for the great review and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tairua
2.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
0.3 mi away
Tairua Shores Motel
Tairua Shores Motel
#1 of 6 in Tairua
149 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Water Motel
Blue Water Motel
#2 of 6 in Tairua
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Hot Water Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park
15.6 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
325 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbour View Lodge
Harbour View Lodge
#5 of 8 in Tairua
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunlover Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunlover Retreat

Property: Sunlover Retreat
Address: 20 Ridge Road, Tairua 3508, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Tairua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Tairua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunlover Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Sunlover Retreat. A boutique bed & breakfast, nestled on a hill in the seaside town of Tairua, Coromandel NZ. Sunlover Retreat soaks up the sun and views from sunrise to sunset.There are three accommodation rooms, each with its own ensuite. The Estuary Suite has a bath luxuriously placed to look over the bush, Coromandel Ranges and Tairua estuary beyond. Every room has a large private deck and robes are supplied. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunlover Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunlover Retreat Tairua, South Pacific - New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing