We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Views from Room 1”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tairua Shores Motel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Tairua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We drove in late in the afternoon and wanted a place to stay that had views. We drove a hard bargain on the only room left, the most expensive room as it has water views. We we're not disappointed, the outdoor deck had lovely views over the water - shame we didn't get there earlier to enjoy more of them. The room was well appointed, lounge area to sit in, kitchenette and a large comfortable bed. Town was walking distance away, a great spot to spend a night!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jillreading08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (149)
There are newer reviews for Tairua Shores Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 149 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2014

Doesn't look like much when you first arrive, but we received a warm welcome We had one of the Garden rooms which was quite large and had a lovely private external deck.

The motel is very clean and well presented. Really nice bed and linen. Nice furniture. Very cosy and with kitchenette. As others have said, despite being on a main road we heard basically no noise. Walking distance to restaurants. Great location on the inlet in what is a beautiful seaside town. No phone in the room but free wireless which worked well.

The only thing that would improve this motel is reverse cycle aircon which would then avoid having to leave windows open at night (there are no flyscreens).

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David_and_Rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TairuaShores, Owner at Tairua Shores Motel, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Hi David & Rose

Thank you for your review and we were pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind regards
Glenn & Allison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

After a hectic drive in pouring rain through the Coromandel Penunsula we were disappointed as we missed visiting Cathedral Cove. However our overnight stay at Tairua Shores was excellent. Very friendly folks and a comfy room helped us rest and replan and make up for the ground we had lost.
The room was very clean and the bed was nice. Amazingly there was plunger coffee supplied and this was way better than the usual satchets you get. And they supplied 300ml real milk - not just those tiny milk serves. Even gave an extra carton when I requested.
The room had a refrigerator, microwave, kettle etc.
The best part of the room was the sit out which was set in a small garden. Unfortunately the rain prevented us from using it.
Parking is right in front if the room.
Even though it was drizzling, the owner encouraged us to go to HotWater Beach and gave us a shovel. Turned out to be an awesome evening!
Con's:
Getting the hot water in the shower to the right temp was a bit fiddly - but the pressure was great.
Overall, one of the nicest motels we have ever stayed in. I loved the way the rooms and garden were set up. Easy trip to Hahei Beach, Hot Water Beach, Cathedral Cove, etc.
If only they could control the weather ......!!!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
Thank bjross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TairuaShores, Owner at Tairua Shores Motel, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Hi

Thank you for a great review, yes it would be great if we could control the weather but maybe one day you will be able to return to Tairua and we can try our best to turn on the sunshine.

We wish you all the best
Glenn & Allison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

one night stay. Great design, with a private deck out the ranch slider. parking right outside the door. Decor..perfect. comfortable bed, didnt use the free internet that was offered. quiet rooms cant hear noise from neighbors. yet is located on the main road. Well organised. Greg the manager was considerate and well natured and has good local knowledge.

Room Tip: I believe there are two types. with the larger apartment types at the end. i wouldnt think there is...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greg n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TairuaShores, Owner at Tairua Shores Motel, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Greetings

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we were pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind regards
Glenn & Allison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We spent 2 nights here & really enjoyed. As in other reviews the owner was so helpful giving us planning tips, gear to take with us( like the shovels for the hot beach). We had been on the road so was appreciative of the free washer, lines for drying clothes. Unit was well equipped . We would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pat s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We stayed here one night while touring the Coromandel Peninsula. The location was great and the accommodations were perfect for a family of four. The hotel owner was exceptionally nice. He helped us plan our day to make best use of the time to see the hot water beach and Cathedral cove (we didn't realize timing was key with the low tide). He also recommended a drive to Paku summit for the spectacular views. Finally.....when checking out he apologized that we didn't have sheets for the fold out couch - we said no problem (my daughter used blankets). He insisted it wasn't right and gave us a $20 credit. I would stay here again and recommend it - it was very comfortable - i only wish we had more time to spend there!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

After driving through New Zealand for 2-1/2 weeks we checked into Tairua Shores Motel in Tairua. Glen, the owner, couldn't be more helpful. We were so comfortable we ended up staying for 3 nights. We stayed in a "chalet" which is perfect for a couple, attractive contemporary furnishings, kitchenette, super clean with a terrific private deck with plantings. Room has large windows, very bright but yet very private. Tairua is a small but pretty town with walkways along the water. Fairly close to Hahei Beach, Hot Water Beach (Glen will lend you a spade!), and Cathedral Cove which were all amazingly beautiful. Also stop at the Mercury Vineyard, friendly and a lovely setting.

Room Tip: We were in room 7 and would choose it again.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tairua
0.3 mi away
Blue Water Motel
Blue Water Motel
#2 of 6 in Tairua
187 reviews
1.8 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
15.1 mi away
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
#5 of 18 in Whitianga
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
503 reviews
0.9 mi away
Paku Lodge
Paku Lodge
#3 of 6 in Tairua
81 reviews
19.5 mi away
Te Mata Lodge
Te Mata Lodge
#2 of 7 in Thames
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tairua Shores Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tairua Shores Motel

Address: 156 Main Road, Tairua 3508, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Tairua
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Tairua
Price Range: $81 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tairua Shores Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tairua Shores Motel has all been fully refurbished and consists of 4 family units, each unit has a separate bedroom with king size bed, separate full kitchen,separate bathroom, lounge and own deck with bbq. Two units have views over looking the harbour. 3 spacious garden chalets plus 2 superior garden chalets. All chalets have a king size bed, separate bathroom, kitchen and own private very sunny garden deck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tairua Shores Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tairua Shores Motel South Pacific - New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing