We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FAVORITE STAY”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tairua Shores Motel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Tairua
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
1 review
“FAVORITE STAY”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

After driving through New Zealand for 2-1/2 weeks we checked into Tairua Shores Motel in Tairua. Glen, the owner, couldn't be more helpful. We were so comfortable we ended up staying for 3 nights. We stayed in a "chalet" which is perfect for a couple, attractive contemporary furnishings, kitchenette, super clean with a terrific private deck with plantings. Room has large windows, very bright but yet very private. Tairua is a small but pretty town with walkways along the water. Fairly close to Hahei Beach, Hot Water Beach (Glen will lend you a spade!), and Cathedral Cove which were all amazingly beautiful. Also stop at the Mercury Vineyard, friendly and a lovely setting.

Room Tip: We were in room 7 and would choose it again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    34
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
30
87
4
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

Very clean and welcoming. I immediately felt comfortable there and the staff were very friendly. Great location with the pier and inlet just behind it. Reasonably priced and amenities were good. I would definitely stay there again, hopefully a longer stay the next time.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Brook H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 297 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

I thought the unit was expensive being north of NZ$100, despite staying in the off-peak season.

It is also probably more suitable for a stay in the warm summer months: there is very limited building insulation, so the rooms were quite cold – offset only by a small fan heater in the main room (where the thermostat would unfortunately frequently cut in, turning the heater/fan off) and with no heating at all in the bathroom. There was an electric blanket on the bed.

Temperature aside, the unit was nicely appointed, with all the usual amenities such as fridge, kettle, toaster, microwave, hot plates, etc. Limited TV selection; no safe. Wi-fi was included in the room rate, although the connection cut out several times. I was offered a small carton of milk on check-in. The window above the bed had no curtains/blinds, so a lot of light flooded into the room at night from a neighbour who had left the outside light on.

Tauria Shores is well located in this pretty town/bay, with walks around the bay and to the top of the peak close by; also very close is the main street with a Four Square supermarket and some restaurants. Also, the units were all well back/sheltered from the road – so very quiet.

Hot water beach and Cathedral Cove Beach parking are about a 25 to 30 minute drive away.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Airlineconsultant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TairuaShores, Owner at Tairua Shores Motel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thankyou for your review, we were suprised to read you found our motel expensive as we were quite sure the reason you had booked with us,was because of price as you had made a previous enquiry prior to your booking regarding a discount for airline staff and as we pointed out we offer the cheapest rate in town and we are one of the best motels around. All our garden chalets are fully insulated and we were really suprised to read you found the chalet cold, we would of only been to happy to provide you with a larger heater from one of our family units if you had come up to the office and spoken to us, this concerned me as we have a couple who stay with us every six weeks and have always asked for the unit you stayed in, so on there return I asked them if they had ever had a problem with the cold and he said they actually turned of the fan heater after a short while as it did not take long for the room to warm up and your heater would off cut out once the required temperature had been reached. The light shining in your room was actually a security sensor light which just need reseting and we hadn't realised it was on until our cleaner pointed out it out the next day once again it is a shame you didn't come to office ( opened till 10:30pm )we would of soughted this problem straight away. We wish you well with your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villach, Karnten, Austria
1 review
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed for two nights at the Tairua Shores Motel on July 17, 2013. Since it was low season the restaurants in town closed early and we appreciated the opportunity to cook our own dinner in the small apartment. Being from Austria we did not know too much about the area and the motel owner gave us some very good suggestions which places to visit. We even got spades and beach towels for hot water beach. After 10 days on the road we wanted to do laundry and there was a washing machine and dryer for hotel guests. I can really recommend this motel and it offers a lot for the reasonable price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FranzH10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TairuaShores, Owner at Tairua Shores Motel, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thankyou for writing a review about our motel, we are always pleased to read when our guests have enjoyed there stay with us and we could help with making there time with us a memorable one. It was lovely meeting you and wish you well with your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 29, 2013

As a comercial traveller who has just completed 6 weeks in motels this is without doubt the best value motel in NZ. Beautiful spotlessly clean units they are far superior to some of the more expensive units I have stayed in. Loved the private courtyard and a welcoming host. A real find Les

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Les M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TairuaShores, Owner at Tairua Shores Motel, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Hi Les, it was great to read the fantastic review you gave our motel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully we can welcome you back to Tairua Shores Motel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed in this motel for the second time from the 4th to the 6th July. The motel units are extremely clean and are very comfortable. It is only a 10 minute walk around the foreshore into town. The ferry to Pauanui is two minutes down the road. Excellent accommodation and owners are very nice to deal with. You won't find anywhere better to stay in our opinion, in Tairua.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Douglas O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TairuaShores, Owner at Tairua Shores Motel, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thankyou for you for a great reponse, if was great to welcome you back to Tairua Shores for your second stay and hopefully we might be able to make it a third time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

My 12 year old son and I booked into a studio unit at this motel because the accommodation looked fresh and modern in the website pictures. And the motel certainly lived up to the pictures, including lovely little private patio. We were only staying one night, so while other motels in the same price range might offer more extras like access to Kayaks, or onsite restaurants, we really just wanted comfortable beds, cleanliness and a relaxing environment. The owner who booked us in kindly gave us an upgrade so that we could have twin beds rather than the double we had been allocated. From what I could make out, the upgrade was a bigger floor area, which wasn't really a bonus for us, but it was very nice of her to think about what might suit us better. The owner also gave us good advice about the best walking route into town (only a few minutes and very picturesque by the inlet) and that we might like to return by road if we were coming back after dark as that route is lit. Actually, on a cloudless night the inlet route was fine, and very atmospheric (romantic if I wasn't with a 12 year old!). I think the motel also offers family units with separate bedrooms which are in older buildings, and I did not see inside those, but with the standard of accommodation in the newer units I doubt they would not have kept the older units up to scratch as well. The only minor negative was a noisy fridge but it was beautifully frost free so no problem switching it off overnight. I think I might be oversensitive to fridge noise on otherwise beautifully quiet nights.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwithree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tairua
0.3 mi away
Blue Water Motel
Blue Water Motel
#2 of 6 in Tairua
186 reviews
1.8 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
13.3 mi away
Breakers Motel
Breakers Motel
#1 of 6 in Whangamata
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
#6 of 18 in Whitianga
76 reviews
14.7 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
490 reviews
0.9 mi away
Paku Lodge
Paku Lodge
#3 of 6 in Tairua
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tairua Shores Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tairua Shores Motel

Property: Tairua Shores Motel
Address: 156 Main Road, Tairua 3508, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Tairua
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Tairua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tairua Shores Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tairua Shores Motel has all been fully refurbished and consists of 4 family units, each unit has a separate bedroom with king size bed, separate full kitchen,separate bathroom, lounge and own deck with bbq. Two units have views over looking the harbour. 3 spacious garden chalets plus 2 superior garden chalets. All chalets have a king size bed, separate bathroom, kitchen and own private very sunny garden deck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Tairua Shores Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tairua Shores Motel South Pacific - New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing