We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tairua Shores Motel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paku Lodge(Tairua)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Spa
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Slipper Island Resort(North Island)
View Hotel
Breakers Motel(Whangamata)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Whangamata Motel(Whangamata)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (161)
Filter reviews
161 results
Traveler rating
119
39
2
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
119
39
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate deckthe ownerhot water beachone nightspacious studiowashing machine and dryergood sized bathroomdesigned roomsself caterminor issueminute strollfriendly ownersshops and restaurantsstayed nightsdefinitely recommend this placeguest laundrylabour weekend
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
110 - 115 of 161 reviews
Reviewed April 1, 2013

lovely motel, very clean and modern, recently updated. gorgeous private patio. good location to walk to the bay and 10 min walk to town. idealy situated to tour the coromandel peninsular. very friedly and helpful owner, plenty of spades for hot water beach!

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank jackie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We were originally only staying for one night but this motel was so good we booked for a further four. Glenn did everything to make our stay special. We cannot recommend highly enough. the location makes it easy to see the sights in the surrounding area. we had breakfast each day in our room and it was quite delicious

Room Tip: Studios are larger than standard rooms but I loved the shower in the standard room.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boss162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

This was our first visit to Tairua and as American travellers, I "booked blind" online...we were delighted! Glenn was the perfect host, our family unit (the end unit facing the harbor) was ideal...spotless, well-equipped and comfortable enough for 5 adults. Laundry and beautiful landscaping topped it off. Great location: not downtown and a nice walking trail to town. Stay here!

Room Tip: The end family unit is the best!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pats53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

My wife and I spent two nights at Tairua Shores and were very pleased with our garden view studio accomodation. The property is located within a short walking distance to the waterfront and town. We made easy day trips to Hot Water Beach and the Cathedral Cove area. Gary was very accomodating and allowed us a late checkout on our last day giving us a chance for a quick shower after our morning kayak trip. The free clothes washer was a nice perk.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adventure_Seeker09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

It's been years since I've stayed in a motel but Tairua Shores makes me wonder if I need to revisit them. We had come from a B&B in Cooks Beach which cost us $100 more a night and offered nothing that this place didn't. We had a superior chalet, a studio cabin that was modern and stylish with lovely local art on the walls and in the nicely landscaped courtyard garden which makes for a great outdoor space and outlook from inside your room. Most of the time you could barely hear your neighbours although some noise comes through the walls at times (nice to see the managers have posted notices asking residents to be considerate of others in this regard). The rooms are set back from the road too so road noise is not an issue despite the main road being out front. The carpet is deep, chairs comfy, bed good and the cooking equipment and crockery are spotless. Plus there was a heater and fan in the cupboard and cleverly, a squeegee for the bathroom floor so that you didn't have to suffer a wet floor all day after showering. Top all that off with free wifi, parking at your door and friendly attentive hosts plus a location right on the Harbour within a short stroll to town and this has to be one of the best motels I have stayed at. Hopefully it's not an isolated stroke of luck as I'd love to find other motel gems like this in other parts of the world. If not, Glenn and Alison, please export your style! (Only one tiny criticism, a blind for the east facing triangular window above the bed would be nice to let you sleep past 6am in the dark in Summer!!!).

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bckpckrau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TairuaShores, Owner at Tairua Shores Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Thankyou so much for a great reveiw, it makes Glenn and I really happy when we read our guests have had a great stay with us, that is what we want people to experience. We have been looking into trying to find a blind or window shade for that top window it is just an awkward shape and size but we are on to it. We wish you all the best for 2013 and enjoy all your travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews