We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tairua Shores Motel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Tairua
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We stayed for two nights and had a great stay. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. I was a bit skeptical when we saw that the heater was just a small space heater but we were quite comfortable and Glenn did offer us another heater or more blankets should we have needed them. They lent us shovels and towels to go to hot water beach which was lovely and gave us some other suggestions of what to do. Glenn recommended going to the top of a hill that I think was a extinct volcano there in Tairua. I had never heard of it but it was very close and probably a highlight of my trip. The views were spectacular and you could get there by driving most of the way up. On the day we left they gave us advice on where to stop on the way to Coromandel town which was really helpful. Just note that they have wifi but only the first hour is free.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    34
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
30
87
4
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Derby
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 21, 2012

This was our second stay at Tairua Shores Motel,we were previously here in April 2008. We stayed 3 nights this time,it was just as we remembered, the accommodation being excellent, very clean, comfortable and all the facilities you need for a perfect stay - even our own little private garden/patio with table and chairs. Glenn gave us a spade and towels for the hot water beach and helped us to plan other places to visit during our stay. If we come back to this area in the future we would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueJohnWDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Recently stayed at the Tairua Shores Motel for 2 nights with my mum. Stayed in one of the garden chalets, very clean and well appointed room, great location, lovely walk into town along the waterway. Our host Glenn was very friendly and also very helpful in planning out our day. Would stay here again for sure!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarkule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights at this excellent accommodation during our travels in NZ recently. The units were extremely comfortable, clean and contained everything you could need for your stay. Also, the hosts were very helpful and friendly and I would recommend this accommodation to anyone visiting the Coromandel Peninsula. It's just a short drive to the main tourist attractions which include the Hot Water Beach and Cathedral Cove.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Situated just seconds from the water (and 2 minutes from the local bakery!) This is as good a Motel as I have visited. Everything inside was clean and well maintained and the motel facilities were fantastic.

Room Tip: Ask for room 1 with the sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexwallaceNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arrowtown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2012

My Husband and I stayed at this Motel recently, the unit/chalet was clean and warm.The staff at reception were friendly, and helpful. Although we didnt have a view we went for a walk, only 2mins to waterside, and a short walk into the town centre.
Would recommend this to any future travellers.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annasorsld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TairuaShores, Owner at Tairua Shores Motel, responded to this review, March 10, 2012
Hi
Great to read you enjoyed your stay with us and thankyou for your review, hopefully we can welcome you back one day to Tairua Shores Motel. If next time you would like a unit with a view I would recommend Unit 1, straight across the road from the Harbour.

Kind regards
Allison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

If you're looking for good value accommodation in Tairua then this is hard to beat. It comprises a small complex of 10 units and each one is very thoughtfully furnished and equipped and each has an outside area with furniture for eating and relaxing. Wireless internet is available in the units and although in theory there is a charge for this, the owner said he doesn't bother charging for the odd hour's use. The units are not air conditioned but our unit had an effective fan, and we didn't have a view, but then it's only a 5 minute walk to the waterside so not a problem. Overall, highly recommended. Tairua itself is a lovely little place, very pretty in its own right and close to some glorious coastal scenery.

Room Tip: All rooms appear to be of the same standard and similar configuration. We stayed in a 2 berth and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve-G23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tairua
0.3 mi away
Blue Water Motel
Blue Water Motel
#2 of 6 in Tairua
185 reviews
1.8 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
14.7 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Breakers Motel
Breakers Motel
#1 of 6 in Whangamata
178 reviews
0.8 mi away
Paku Lodge
Paku Lodge
#3 of 6 in Tairua
80 reviews
1.2 mi away
Pauanui Pines Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tairua Shores Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tairua Shores Motel

Property: Tairua Shores Motel
Address: 156 Main Road, Tairua 3508, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Tairua
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Tairua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tairua Shores Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tairua Shores Motel has all been fully refurbished and consists of 4 family units, each unit has a separate bedroom with king size bed, separate full kitchen,separate bathroom, lounge and own deck with bbq. Two units have views over looking the harbour. 3 spacious garden chalets plus 2 superior garden chalets. All chalets have a king size bed, separate bathroom, kitchen and own private very sunny garden deck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Tairua Shores Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tairua Shores Motel South Pacific - New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing