We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (209)
Filter reviews
209 results
Traveler rating
154
41
9
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
154
41
9
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot water beach great location the main road one night local advice cathedral cove owners sue stainless steel sink fresh towels room fan bedroom unit fish and chip shop few minutes walk place to stay two night stay little gem low key
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 209 reviews
Reviewed March 12, 2019 via mobile

Easy access to all the local sites.
Clean well equipped room with comfortable bed.
Very friendly owner with lots of good local advice. Including for hot water beach.
Good value, would be perfect with a/c. Room fan was noisy.
The town is quite low key but has all you need, including fuel, a small supermarket and restaraunts.
A great base from which to explore.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank ParcyWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry R, Owner at Blue Water Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2019

Hi
Thank you for your review and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay here.
Kind regards
Barry and Sue
#ourlittlesliceofparadise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2019 via mobile

This is our second stay here and we weren’t disappointed. Owners Sue and Barry are so friendly and helpful and are doing a great job making sure everything is just right.

Our detached King Chalet was very spacious, spotlessly clean and well equipped.

The bed was very comfortable; wonderful shower with frequent change of big fluffy towels; gorgeous hot tub with more fresh towels; plenty of windows and a room fan to keep you cool.

Separate towels and a spade are even provided for a visit to Hot Water Beach which is a must.

The motel is very well placed for all the restaurants and other amenities in Tairua. There’s a lovely beach just across the footbridge and it’s a very pleasant walk to the main Ocean Beach and marina.

It’s next to the main road so expect some road noise during the day but it all quietens down at night so it’s not a problem.

We had a great stay here and would love to return.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank phil100652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry R, Owner at Blue Water Motel, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2019

Hi
Thank you for your review and we are pleased that your stay was enjoyable. Thanks for taking the time to do a comprehensive review too. We are lucky to live in such a great part of the world and enjoy sharing it with our guests.
Kind regards
Barry and Sue
#ourlittlesliceofparadise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2018 via mobile

I have just spent a wonderful couple of nights away for some RnR. I have been to this motel before and they provide a high level of service, gorgeous setting and clean rooms with all amenities included. Barry and Sue are lovely and made me feel very welcome. Just a hop skip and a jump from the beach (over the road literally) you really dont have to travel far to enjoy the sights of Tairua. I especially appreciate they allowed me to bring my 14yr old dog with me on her final road trip, it meant the world to me and even though next time she wont be there I will definitely be returning!

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank BettyUK137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry R, Owner at Blue Water Motel, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2018

Hi
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that we could make your little break relaxing. While we don't normally allow dogs in your case we were happy to make an exception for a special companion.
Kind regards
Barry and Sue
Blue Water Motel
#ourlittlesliceofparadise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2018 via mobile

We have stayed about 10 different nights now and love the place close to town great service and easy to deal with the owners and locals would definitely recommend staying here if you didn't know where to stay.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank JaromH5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry R, Owner at Blue Water Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2018

Hi
Thank you for your nice review and we have been very happy to have you as guests at our Motel. We are pleased that it has been a good series of stays.
Kind regards
Barry and Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2018

We had a lovely two night stay at the Blue Water Motel in Tairua. The area is magnificent and not overcrowded. Although situated next to the main road crossing the village, the place is very quiet and next to the village centre. We were welcomed by our very helpful and friendly host(s). He explained us what and when to do in the area and gave a lot of recommendations. He invited us to the local fishery festival and contest and we appreciated the local ambiance very much. The little chalet was clean and with all comfort, a typical decent motel to stay. Thank you for the hospitality.

Room tip: Ask for one of the chalets !
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happyfourGent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry R, Owner at Blue Water Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2018

Hi
Thank you for your review and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our little slice of paradise.
Kind regards
Barry and Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews