We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (209)
Filter reviews
209 results
Traveler rating
154
41
9
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
154
41
9
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot water beach great location the main road one night local advice cathedral cove owners sue stainless steel sink fresh towels room fan bedroom unit fish and chip shop few minutes walk place to stay two night stay little gem low key
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 209 reviews
Reviewed July 21, 2018 via mobile

Great welcome. Excellent place to stay for an overnight visit when you are out doing things during the day. The room is amazing in that it is a very compact room, but they have creatively packed so much in. It is rare to have a kitchenette with all you need. The place is spotlessly clean, with fresh nice towels. Hubby enjoyed the spa too. Fish and Chip shop was like I remember from the 60s...milk shakes, scoop ice creams, lollies in jars. The fish and chips were really nice too and it was all clean.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank ElizabethP416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry R, Owner at Blue Water Motel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2018

Hi
Thank you for your review and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay in out little slice of paradise. We agree that the local chippie, Surf and Sand, does really good fish and chips.
Kind regards
Barry and Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2018

My wife and I could not recommend a place to stay more highly than we would here. We stayed in one of the Chalet's to the front of the property so benefited with a beautiful view. The units were extremely well kept and clean. (a real credit to Barry and Sue) They were also very kind, helpful hosts who gave us many tips on what to do in the area.
So we were able to enjoy many walks and sights from all over Tairua. Through their service they really do their bit to promote the area. They are also only minutes walking to any food store, restaurant or takeaway shop that you would possibly need.

Room tip: Front units have good views over the Estuary.
Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank NickWillemse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry R, Owner at Blue Water Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2018

Hi
Thank you for your nice review and we are pleased that you enjoyed our little slice of paradise. We do have some very nice walks arounf Tairua and we are pleased that you enjoyed them.
Kind regards
Barry and Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2018 via mobile

This was a last minute grab one deal.. the chalet was just the right size for 2 adults to laze and chill.. had everything you need tv fridge cooker microwave tea coffee kettle n toaster table n chairs and 2 deck chairs on deck

It poured with rain when we were there but the chalet was solid wind n waterproof

The shower was awesome and powerful

Bed very comfortable and everything was scrupulously clean even the stainless steel sink top was shining.this is one of the best small motels we have stayed in

Top marks to Barry and Sue our hosts very friendly and full of enthusiasm for their bit of paradise.

As the terminator says we will be back......

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Ewan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry R, Owner at Blue Water Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2018

Hi
Thank you for your nice review of our little slice of paradise, we would be very happy to welcome you back and hopefully the weather will play the game next time.
Kind regards
Barry and Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2018 via mobile

My hubby and I stayed here, sadly for only one night.
Paul was really friendly and very informative about the local area.
The room was bright, airy and very clean.
It was very well appointed, and very clean.
I would recommend this motel, it’s close to the town, easy short walk and did I mention how clean it was?

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Pippylong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry R, Owner at Blue Water Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2018

Hi
Thank you for your review and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our little slice of paradise.
Kind regards
Barry and Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2018

We were so happy with this accommodation! From the moment we arrived we were made so welcome by the manager Barry who couldn't have been more helpful - his knowledge of the area was extensive. Our room was very comfortable, generously furnished including a small kitchenette and from our verandah we had views over the bay. We enjoyed our walk to the summit of Mt Paku which was a bit of an effort for a couple of relatively unfit 60 year olds but well worth it for the outstanding 360° views of Tairua. This motel is in a great position just a short walk over the bridge to town. Thanks again for a delightful stay Barry and Sue.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank _gemini1758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry R, Owner at Blue Water Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2018

Hi
Thank you for your review. We know we are lucky to live in a beautiful part of the world and are very happy when guests can enjoy it too. Our little slice of paradise can be an absolute stunner, we are pleased that we were able to help make your stay enjoyable.
Kind regards
Barry and Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews