We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Gem”
Review of Blue Water Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Blue Water Motel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Tairua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

Have just stayed here for two nights, with my wife, on our NZ tour. The room was clean and comfortable, although the smallest on the tour so far. Paul was most helpful with lots of information and suggestions of things to do. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveB636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Owner at Blue Water Motel, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Hi David & Janet,

Wow, thank for your kind and speedy review !
So pleased that you enjoyed your time with us on The Coromandel and hope that the rest of your holiday in NZ is great.
Thank you so much for staying with us.

cheers,

Paul & Natasha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (192)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 192 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2014

We recently spent a perfect week here. Paul and Natasha cannot be faulted for their kindness and helpfulness and Tairua must be one of the friendliest towns in NZ. It is an ideal location for exploring all that the Coromandel has to offer, and a pleasure to come back to our little, well equipped and comfortable studio room after a hard day's sightseeing!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Owner at Blue Water Motel, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Hi Wendy & Mark,

Thank you so much for your kind review ! Really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us on The Coromandel and we hope that your memories of New Zealand last a long time.

cheers,

Paul & Natasha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We had a Small but perfectly formed studio room - plenty adequate for one/two night stay. Helpful and attentive owners. Lovely situation in quiet town. Spades, towels free for hot beach and spa. Would recommend to all.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank Keralaphile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Owner at Blue Water Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Thank you so much for your kind review.
Really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us on The Coromandel and hope that the rest of your holiday was also memorable.

cheers,

Paul & Natasha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

These are extremely comfortale units decorated with great taste and thoughtfully super-well equipped. The view from the large deck is unforgettable and the rooms are spacious with comfortable beds. We have been received with a smile and kindness. The taown is 1 minute away, with all restaurants and shop at a ridiculous walking distance.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silvia p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Owner at Blue Water Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Hi Silvia,
Wow, that's a glowing reference ! Thank you so much for your kind comments and really pleased that you both enjoyed staying with us on The Coromandel.
Hope you enjoy the rest of your vacation and we hope to meet you again in the future.

cheers,

Paul & Natasha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Blue Water Motel had excellent service and very friendly, pleasant staff. I would definitely stay here again and recommend to anyone else wanting to stay in an affordable, comfortable place in Tairua.

Room Tip: Room at the top has excellent sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Owner at Blue Water Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Hi Monica,
Thank you so much for your kind review and we are really pleased that you both enjoyed your stay with us in Tairua. We would love to see you again soon !

cheers,

Paul & Natasha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Had pre booked a twin room and were given unit number 5 on arrival. Small, clean, but very basic and dated. Biggest problem was noise, not the fault of the other guests, but simply the nature of the accommodation, there wasn't much you didn't hear throughout the night !!
Couldn't wait to get away the next morning.

Room Tip: Avoid unit 5.
See more room tips
Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
Thank 24j26a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Owner at Blue Water Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Hi Peter & Pauline,
Gosh, so sorry that you had noisy neighbours that spoiled your 1 night stay with us. It's such a shame that you didn't say anything.
If I know that there is a problem I can try and sort it out and could have easily moved you to a quieter room !
You are quite correct with your description of our studio units - small, clean and basic !
They are our cheapest rooms and provide great value and wonderful sea views.
We also have detached chalets that are twice as big as well as a range of apartments.
Hope the rest of you holiday was OK.

cheers,

Paul & Natasha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Host was very welcoming and helpful with local attractions. He was also helped with equipment such a shovels etc for the kids. Close to town, walking distance. Great spot, very clean. Home away from home.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Familytrips1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Owner at Blue Water Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Thank you for your kind review.
Really pleased that you all enjoyed your stay with us on The Coromandel and we would love to see you again soon.

cheers,

Paul & Natasha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tairua
2.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
0.3 mi away
Tairua Shores Motel
Tairua Shores Motel
#1 of 6 in Tairua
154 reviews
14.5 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
348 reviews
15.3 mi away
Admiralty Lodge Motel
Admiralty Lodge Motel
#4 of 18 in Whitianga
278 reviews
0.8 mi away
Paku Lodge
Paku Lodge
#3 of 6 in Tairua
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Water Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Water Motel

Address: 213 Main Road, Tairua 3508, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Tairua
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Tairua
Price Range: $98 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Water Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Water Motel is one of the closest motels to Hot Water Beach and Cathedral Cove. Clean, comfortable and affordable motel accommodation in the seaside town of Tairua. A perfect base for exploring the beautiful Coromandel Peninsula. We have a range of self contained units, a hot indoor spa pool, free WiFi, BBQ, kayaks and fishing rods. Located opposite harbour beach and a flat 2 minute walk to shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Blue Water Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Water Motel Tairua, South Pacific - New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing