We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Blue Water Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blue Water Motel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Tairua
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Stay here!”
Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

We had a Small but perfectly formed studio room - plenty adequate for one/two night stay. Helpful and attentive owners. Lovely situation in quiet town. Spades, towels free for hot beach and spa. Would recommend to all.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Keralaphile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Owner at Blue Water Motel, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review.
Really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us on The Coromandel and hope that the rest of your holiday was also memorable.

cheers,

Paul & Natasha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    37
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
38
102
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Matapouri, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 26, 2014

These are extremely comfortale units decorated with great taste and thoughtfully super-well equipped. The view from the large deck is unforgettable and the rooms are spacious with comfortable beds. We have been received with a smile and kindness. The taown is 1 minute away, with all restaurants and shop at a ridiculous walking distance.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silvia p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Owner at Blue Water Motel, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Hi Silvia,
Wow, that's a glowing reference ! Thank you so much for your kind comments and really pleased that you both enjoyed staying with us on The Coromandel.
Hope you enjoy the rest of your vacation and we hope to meet you again in the future.

cheers,

Paul & Natasha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Blue Water Motel had excellent service and very friendly, pleasant staff. I would definitely stay here again and recommend to anyone else wanting to stay in an affordable, comfortable place in Tairua.

Room Tip: Room at the top has excellent sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Owner at Blue Water Motel, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Hi Monica,
Thank you so much for your kind review and we are really pleased that you both enjoyed your stay with us in Tairua. We would love to see you again soon !

cheers,

Paul & Natasha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Had pre booked a twin room and were given unit number 5 on arrival. Small, clean, but very basic and dated. Biggest problem was noise, not the fault of the other guests, but simply the nature of the accommodation, there wasn't much you didn't hear throughout the night !!
Couldn't wait to get away the next morning.

Room Tip: Avoid unit 5.
See more room tips
Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank 24j26a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Owner at Blue Water Motel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Hi Peter & Pauline,
Gosh, so sorry that you had noisy neighbours that spoiled your 1 night stay with us. It's such a shame that you didn't say anything.
If I know that there is a problem I can try and sort it out and could have easily moved you to a quieter room !
You are quite correct with your description of our studio units - small, clean and basic !
They are our cheapest rooms and provide great value and wonderful sea views.
We also have detached chalets that are twice as big as well as a range of apartments.
Hope the rest of you holiday was OK.

cheers,

Paul & Natasha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Host was very welcoming and helpful with local attractions. He was also helped with equipment such a shovels etc for the kids. Close to town, walking distance. Great spot, very clean. Home away from home.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Familytrips1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Owner at Blue Water Motel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for your kind review.
Really pleased that you all enjoyed your stay with us on The Coromandel and we would love to see you again soon.

cheers,

Paul & Natasha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
115 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

My hubby and I desperately needed a weekend away after the chaos of Christmas. Blue Water Motel never dissapoints. We had Chalet number 1 again and it was great.
The motel is so close to the main town areas, a very easy stroll to the beach, shops and cafes.
The kitchen facilities are enough for us to make our own meals and it is lovely to sit out on the balcony and see the water.
While close the road, there was no traffic noise in the evenings so we both had a great nights sleep.
The owners are super friendly, always helpful and readily available to provide advice when needed.
The chalet was spotless as usual, we can't wait for our next visit.

Room Tip: Chalet 1 and 2 are great and are dog friendly
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natsnaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Owner at Blue Water Motel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Hi Nathalie,

Great to see you again and thanks for the lovely comments !
Glad you enjoyed your stay.

cheers,

Paul & Natasha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

My husband and I wanted to end our three week New Zealand trip in a beach town for three days in Coromandel. I had not prebooked accomodations and over the christmas holiday I was was able to pick up a cancellation for this motel. When we arrived, tired from our long drive, we were so happy to find our lucky booking. We had a little porch with a view, super nice room with frig and microwave, a short walk to town, and a host with accurate information regarding hikes, sights, restaurants and shops. Paul was also helpful with allowing us use of garage and spa room after checkout time as our flight to the states was at night. This little town is not crawling with tour buses and we picked up a lot of local flavor including a craft sale at the town center right across the road from Blue Water. Definitely recommend this accomodation.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mcclenct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Owner at Blue Water Motel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Hi Carol,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. Really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us on The Coromandel. It was great that you got out an experienced some of our walking tracks as well as the beaches.

cheers,

Paul & Natasha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tairua
0.3 mi away
Tairua Shores Motel
Tairua Shores Motel
#1 of 6 in Tairua
148 reviews
2.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
14.5 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#2 of 17 in Whitianga
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Breakers Motel
Breakers Motel
#1 of 6 in Whangamata
177 reviews
14.8 mi away
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
#5 of 17 in Whitianga
75 reviews
0.8 mi away
Paku Lodge
Paku Lodge
#3 of 6 in Tairua
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Water Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Water Motel

Property: Blue Water Motel
Address: 213 Main Road, Tairua 3508, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Tairua
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Tairua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Water Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Water Motel is one of the closest motels to Hot Water Beach and Cathedral Cove. Clean, comfortable and affordable motel accommodation in the seaside town of Tairua. A perfect base for exploring the beautiful Coromandel Peninsula. We have a range of self contained units, a hot indoor spa pool, free WiFi, BBQ, kayaks and fishing rods. Located opposite harbour beach and a flat 2 minute walk to shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blue Water Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Water Motel Tairua, South Pacific - New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing